PDA

View Full Version : Complete noob

trixykix310
07-11-2009, 12:48 PM
Hello, I have a real minor issue and i was wondering if you guys could help fix it. When I take the necessary steps to play EQemu I do all of the following steps correctly except the eqhost.txt. I'm not sure if the explanation was too vague for me but this is what i have written down.
[LoginServer]
Host=eqemulator.net:5998

The error i'm receiving is "Error EQHOST.TXT could not be found. Please help

trevius
07-11-2009, 04:29 PM
Make sure you aren't accidentally saving the file as eqhost.txt.txt since it might do that if you do a "save as" instead of a normal "save" after editing the file. If you are still having a problem, you can just delete the one you have in your eq folder and make a new text file with that in it and save it as eqhost.txt.

trixykix310
07-11-2009, 04:48 PM
Yep, I'm still having the same error. Should i try reinstalling the game? I did all of the steps correctly but this step is the only issue

trevius
07-11-2009, 05:04 PM
Are you running Windows Vista? Or, maybe you have your folder options set to not display known file types? Make sure that when you save the file, you save it as eqhost.txt using notepad and when you do, make sure that you set the "Save as type:" field to "All Files" so it doesn't add an extra .txt to the end of it. Also, make 100% sure that you don't have any extra spaces or carriage returns in your eqhost.txt file. Even if there is an extra space at the end of either line or if there is a return after the last line, it will cause it to break.

Rynet
07-13-2009, 11:08 AM
Vista is the devil.

Yeormom
07-13-2009, 01:58 PM
Vista can be difficult for those not computer savvy or those still using a 486 processor. Only thing Vista could impact on this setting is if you have UAC enabled. In which case, you need to run notepad.exe as administrator and you can then save and overwrite the file. Hidden file extension applies even as far back as Windows 2000.