PDA

View Full Version : How to setup a server?

Mirkle
11-26-2009, 04:37 PM
This post is not to ask for help, i've been running a server for a few years already.

I am posting because i think that it's too hard for new users to setup a server. For those of us who already have one running, we might forget how hard it was the first time to set it up. We are losing a lot of potential community members that just give up because, after a few attempts, they are unable to setup a server. The same people that would learn over the years and probably end up helping us with code and database later on.

I'm not saying things are wrong the way they are, but i think the setup process could be improved.

1. Users don't know what server setup guide to use:
Guide 1: In the wiki (2007 pdf guide), that most users will find first. (Main page/Server guides)
Guide 2: 0.7.0-992 setup guide in the same section, further down the page (Main page/Server guides)
Guide 3: Windows server support sticky section, but the author (Vales) can't update his post.
Guide 4: In Vales signature (the most up-to-date guide), but new users probably won't see it.

2. More info is necessary for new users:
Missing perl58.dll, error 1017, enabled strict mode. What should they do? The "server admin" wiki is confusing, there is a lot of quality content but too much outdated info. Finding answers in older forum posts takes time and the same questions are asked in the forum, over and over again.

What (i think) should be done:
1. Clean up the wiki "Server guides" page.
2. Older guides should be removed from where they are, to make sure the most up to date guide is used first.
3. A server setup FAQ that can be linked when a question is asked on the forum. Could be updated as new problems appear or old ones are solved.
4. The wiki "Server guides" top of the page could look like this:
How to setup a server: Click here
Most common installation problems: Click here
Older setup guides: Click here