View Full Version : Need Windows 7 Help
I'm interested in making a server for EQEMU, but sadly have already come to some roadblocks, so I'm hoping that someone can help me out!
First roadblock:
I'm using Windows 7. Is it even possible to make a server using Windows 7? Has anyone here done it? I'm using this sites core guide, the PDF one. Should I be using a different one?
Second roadblock:
When I try to make the target file for the EQ desktop icon (the "C:\Program Files\Sony\Emulator\Eqgame.exe" patchme part) it tells me that it isn't valid.
I'm sorry if this question was answered elsewhere, but I can't find it!
Thank you to whoever put their time and effort into answering these questions.
blackdragonsdg
02-17-2010, 03:09 AM
First road block has a simple answer yes it will work. As for guides, this link should help you out. http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=29043
Your second road block is fairly simple, change the Eqgame.exe to eqgame.exe and it should work.
For other commonly encountered issues refer to this: http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=EQEmuFAQ
jkennedy
02-17-2010, 08:50 AM
also on second roadblock make sure you dont have the part part in there just patchme
harddisk
02-17-2010, 10:23 AM
I had an eqemu server on windows 7 and it was working perfectly as long as I played alone ...... There was too much quirkiness and network /lan/wan connections was not stable ....So I decided to rebuild with a VM xp sp3 and now it works flawlessly :smile:
I don't know if you will play alone or with web friends.... and it's my personnal experience and point of view ..... Maybe the next answer from the eqemu community will be to tell you that eqemu server with 7 is perfect...
OscarGrouch05
02-17-2010, 09:37 PM
Windows 7 runs fine make a starteq.bat file place in eq should look like this eqgame.exe patchme file and save then goto icon on desktop change it to say "C:\Program Files\Sony\Emulator\starteq.bat" works great for me.
Thank you for such quick replies! Sadly, I still have problems a plenty.
First off, I can't find any way to download mysql without waiting the 7 day period for it. Is there any way to get it without waiting?
Thank you.
Also, what version of Perl do I need? It says on the guide that I need the 32 bit version, but there isnt one on the website linked.
joligario
02-19-2010, 01:46 AM
I use XAMPP on my windows 7 laptop. Comes with all I need.
Wow, thats convenient. Thanks! I'm sure I'll be posting soon with another problem...Because I suck.
Thanks again!
pfyon
02-19-2010, 10:34 AM
http://www.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/
Or, you can use WAMP, XAMPP, or LAMP (depending on your operating system). Those are bundles including apache/mysql/php(and/or perl).
OscarGrouch05
02-19-2010, 05:54 PM
what i have done is installed every perl and pulled out the exe and dll files for everyone and installed 5.10.1.exe as main perl no more messages here about missing perl now don't matter what version i use now.
Okay, next roadblock: When I did the checkout directory for the database, I didn't end up seeing a peqdb_Rev781.sql.gz file in the folder.
Also, where it says "Download revision 744 with bots here" the link is dead. Is there an updated version?
pfyon
02-25-2010, 11:21 PM
Okay, next roadblock: When I did the checkout directory for the database, I didn't end up seeing a peqdb_Rev781.sql.gz file in the folder.
Also, where it says "Download revision 744 with bots here" the link is dead. Is there an updated version?
Not sure where you're referring to, but you can get the most recent project EQ database from http://code.google.com/p/projecteqdb/ and server code from http://code.google.com/p/projecteqemu/ .
In step 3 of the guide at http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=29043 it says that you should see a file called peqdb_Rev781.sql.gz and I don't see it anywhere. I tried searching for it using the search command, and it's not anywhere on my computer.
Thank you for the EQ databases!
Okay, so I just redid the steps to that part, and I found a file called:
peqdb_rev1052.sql
I'm guessing that this is the file I should find, even though it's a different revision?
This step also tells me to unzip it, but it's not a recognizable file, nor is it extractable. What should I do?
Also, should I move this thread somewhere else? Maybe to the link that I'm using to build my server? I figured I'd just put it here for a couple problems, but I seem to be having a ton now.
Once again, thank you to anyone who puts the time and thought to answer me.
blackdragonsdg
02-26-2010, 01:09 AM
Well that file is usually compressed but if you can't tell if it is or not then look at the file size. If the file is around 14-15megs then it is compressed but if it is around 100megs give or take then it is not compressed.
If the file is compressed then you should use winzip or winrar to uncompress it. Then resume following the steps in the guide.
pfyon
02-26-2010, 12:08 PM
.gz is a type of zip file (gnu zip maybe?), winrar might be able to unzip it, or 7-zip. I am pretty sure winzip cannot.
OscarGrouch05
02-27-2010, 02:58 AM
Bopt winzip 14 works great, i can tell pfyon is not the sharpest tool in the shed. right click on the file *.gz you should see winzip icon goto extract to folder.
Secrets
02-27-2010, 04:48 AM
Bopt winzip 14 works great, i can tell pfyon is not the sharpest tool in the shed. right click on the file *.gz you should see winzip icon goto extract to folder.
Oscar, considering you type complete nonsense on the boards constantly, calling Pfyon not the sharpest tool in the shed is not the best idea when the most important thing you've posted on the forums is love advice in off-topic.
Keep your insults away, please.
pfyon
02-27-2010, 08:59 AM
I run a linux server, and I don't use winzip so I don't know what it can or can't do ;)
OscarGrouch05
02-27-2010, 02:40 PM
copy the file to C:\programfiles\mysql\5.0\peq\ type Load peqdb_rev1052.sql
This is under windows not linux! i think he missed that part
I'll quit commenting and trying to help others and make them read more to get the correct answer's or try and help anyone else.
Keep your insults away please! then could you please do the same i was just sharing the love you and Kobaz been shoveling out i'm good at returning the xxxx right back. comment from kobaz but I don't think english is his 1st language.
Kobaz
02-27-2010, 03:50 PM
Pyfon, the command you want is gzip. Use it like this:
gzip -d filename.gz
Compress files like this:
gzip -9 filename
Oscar, if you can't tell when someone is covering your back then you are the one with the problem. Do not expect me to suggest people treat your creative and original writings with respect again. By the way, there is no C: on a linux system. Files ending in .exe only run under emulation or virtualisation. There is no folder named "Program Files".
OscarGrouch05
02-27-2010, 06:23 PM
Thank you i have enough protection watching my back. you was wrong to tell a computer tech there is no program files in linux
there is a directory under linux called Program Files so what you just told me you don't understand linux
command /root/.cxoffice/
under that dir you'll see
Win98,Windows 2003,Windows Xp,
you'll see Drive_C when you click on that folder you'll see a Program Files Dir 80)
get a better understanding of linux be for you comment on something Oh i'm sorry i just tought you something new.
Kobaz
02-27-2010, 08:10 PM
You run crossover under root?
I won't discuss your elite skills, as you obviously understand the posix model really well. BTW, I've been using Linux since 1995, UNIX since 1980. I've also worked in MACRO on TOPS-20. I've written super-parallel models on SP-2, and distributed Artificial Life models across Solaris clusters. So I bow before you, mr "computer tech".
Kobaz
02-27-2010, 08:19 PM
Sorry, I'm letting the utter bastard in me come out. I'll endeavour to just ignore things, and keep the asbestos underwear in the cupboard.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.