PDA

View Full Version : Cluster?

Hydrow
03-14-2010, 12:55 PM
I'm new to the project and there is all kinds of information that i will read up on but i wanted to get to the meat of it.

I don't care if its windows or Linux but I just bought a Dell 1655MC Blade server with 6 blades. Id like to cluster this server together if possible to run EQemu.

Can someone point me to the info I need to get this started.

PS, what server seams faster/more stable Linux or windows?

Thanks

Rogean
03-14-2010, 06:34 PM
Windows has less issues. EQEmu used to be able to be clustered, would take a few fixes to get it to work again

Kobaz
03-14-2010, 06:53 PM
With the Dell Blade servers, if you have the Perc raid controller you might have severe issues with disk performance under linux. It varies by the version of the controller. Try googling "perc linux raid performance".

Hydrow
03-14-2010, 07:54 PM
Windows has less issues. EQEmu used to be able to be clustered, would take a few fixes to get it to work again

Windows sounds good, ill have to look into this. Thanks!

(can't wait for the server to show up at my door)

trevius
03-15-2010, 04:16 AM
Windows has less issues? That is news to me! :P How often do you have to reboot a Windows server completely? Were player ghosts fixed on Windows at some point that I didn't see a changelog entry for?

The only issue I am aware of that Linux has is that it doesn't like it when the Login Server is down for an extended amount of time. Linux will eventually stop trying to connect to the LS if it is down a while and the server (or at least the world server) will have to be restarted for it to reconnect to it. To me, that seems more like an issue with the Login Server, not with Linux. It shouldn't be down more often than my server is :P