View Full Version : can't figure out this bot thing
mjolnir001
04-26-2010, 10:55 PM
Can't imagine I'm the first to run across this problem and I have tried searching for it (having difficulties there as well). but I finally got a server up and running on my own and it's been working great for the last couple weeks. (thanks to all who helped in creating this!).
I finally decided to try this bot thing after successfully updating to rev1410. I found a thread that mentioned that the bots sql files needed to be run in a different order and I did that. still got one error about not being able to remove 'PRIMARY' and a few 'unable to find rule' errors.
When I log in and I try typing "#bot help" I get "bot command not recognized". I wasn't really able to find much on how to setup bots. all i really saw was to source in the bot.sql files.
sorry if this is in the wrong place. any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Frosef
04-27-2010, 02:10 AM
I wasn't really able to find much on how to setup bots. all i really saw was to source in the bot.sql files.
Did you compile the server source code yourself? If you just snagged revision 1410 off the download section of the Google Code page, I don't think that supports bots. I can walk you through that if you're on a Windows machine and need help there, it's pretty easy.
Also, exact error messages and the SQL file you were trying to source in when they occured would yield the best results in terms of figuring out where the problem lies!
mjolnir001
04-27-2010, 11:02 AM
sorry bout that, it was late and i was getting frustrated.
i did not compile the server source myself. i just downloaded the 1410 from the google code page. i sourced in all 7 bot sql files in the 'player_tables' directory of the peqdatabase rev 1410 in this order:
source player_tables/botguildmembers.sql;
source player_tables/bots.sql;
source player_tables/botinventory.sql;
source player_tables/botgroups.sql;
source player_tables/botbuffs.sql;
source player_tables/botpetstatepersists.sql;
source player_tables/botadventuring.sql;
the only error i recieved on sourcing is: "error 1091 (42000): can't DROP 'PRIMARY'; check that column/key exists."
this shows up between the 5th and 4th from the bottom when sourcing in the bots.sql file.
*Edit. I think i figured this part out. it looks like it's dropping the primary key on the 'guild_members' table, however, since i've tried sourcing this a few times that key does not exist already. as long as the 'guild_members' table is not supposed to have a primary key, i imagine this error is irrelevant.
when starting the server i recieve:
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:BotGroupBuffing'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:BotGroupBuffing
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:SpawnBotCount'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:SpawnBotCount
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:BotQuest'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:BotQuest
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:BotManaRegen'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:BotManaRegen
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:BotFinishBuffing'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:BotFinishBuffing
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:CreateBotCount'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:CreateBotCount
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to find rule 'Bots:BotSpellQuest'
[Debug] [RULES__ERROR] Unable to interpret rule record for Bots:BotSpellQuest
everything else seems to start normally.
Capheus
04-27-2010, 01:16 PM
I don't think 1410 supports bots. Try getting 1316 and do it again.
Frosef
04-27-2010, 01:37 PM
I don't think 1410 supports bots. Try getting 1316 and do it again.
My thoughts as well, although I couldn't get 1316 with bots to work either (Perl errors) which is what led me to compile the source myself.
Also, as far as I can tell, bots.sql is the only one you need to source in, although I could be mistaken and it can't hurt to source in the others. But it looks like bots.sql create all those same tables, the other files may simply be if you need to re-create an individual table.
Frosef
04-27-2010, 02:42 PM
Also, as far as I can tell, bots.sql is the only one you need to source in, although I could be mistaken and it can't hurt to source in the others. But it looks like bots.sql create all those same tables, the other files may simply be if you need to re-create an individual table.
Ignore that bit, I was looking at the bots.sql that comes with the server source code under the utils\sql folder, not the one that comes with the PEQ Database!
mjolnir001
04-28-2010, 08:34 PM
Woot! so, it works.
turns out I did have to compile my own server. which wasn't too bad as long as I followed the guide and I remembered that we are dealing in a 32 bit world that doesn't like spaces. (had 64-bit mysql installed in program files directory).
Once that was done it compiled no problems. I was able to use the pre-packaged database that I downloaded previously (I compiled revision 1410 so I wouldn't run into issues) and everything worked! logged in and created/spawned my first bot.
Thanks all for your help. now, to figure out how to use them ;).
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.