PDA

View Full Version : Having trouble with Mobs


kameko
05-03-2010, 09:33 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm working on making my own server with all custom content and am having some trouble with mobs. I am using
Oceangreenvillage as the starting zone. I can place mobs, and setup a grib and they move arouind somewhat fine. They do
"hop" every game tick, or 3 seconds. I can target them but when I try to attack I get the message cannot see target... Spells
are always interupted as well.

I tried to do some research here and saw mention of map files. There was no map for this zone, so I just used Azone2 and
generated one.. still, that didn't solve the problem.

I put the generated map in the server/maps folder. Should I put it in the client/maps folder as well?

If not, can anyone help me out here ? I'd really like to continue my work on this custom server, but am stuck with mobs..

Thanks,

Kameko

EDIT: I just put up tutorialb on ym servre and put a mob in there.... it does work there.. so this problem must be related to
missing certain files for oceangreenvillage. I have the Linker Address Map file for oceangreen, but not a PATH or WTR file. Is
there a program that can generater those files ?

Derision
05-03-2010, 10:02 AM
Try renaming your oceangreenvillage.map file to oceangreenvillag.map (without the trailing 'e' in village).

The shortname in the database is limited to 16 characters (at least on the version I am using).

If you have already done this, is it loading the .map ? There should be messages in your zone .log file like so:

[Status] Booting oceangreenvillag (467:0)
Map header: 837582 faces, 3531 nodes, 972006 facelists
Loaded map: 2512746 vertices, 837582 faces
Map BB: (-2112.00 -> 3456.00, -4800.00 -> 2330.89, -396.29 -> 598.15)
Map ./Maps/oceangreenvillag.map loaded.


There is no way to generate .wtr files for .eqg zones currently, and the .path files need to be hand made, so it is unlikely anyone has done that.

Once the .map has loaded, the 'hopping' and inability to attack should be fixed.

kameko
05-03-2010, 10:39 AM
Thank you very much... I removed the e and it now works. When I made the map file the original file has the e at the end of village, but the in game short name drops that.

As for the wtr file, I think there is a tool now that will make them, it's in the util folder of the code svn. it's source, and needs to be compiled. It's called awater. I haven't tried it yet.

Is there a reason I would need the wtr file ? I'm guessing it's needed for fish and other underwater mobs, is this correct ?

Kameko

Derision
05-03-2010, 10:50 AM
Yes, I wrote awater :) It currently only works for the zone files that have an .S3D file extension, not the newer .EQG zones.

The .wtr file allows the server to 'know' where the water is in a zone, for things like fishing and swimming skillups. It is also used in the mob movement code to determine the correct 'Z' coordinate for mobs (i.e. mobs in water are not made to walk along the ground).

For zones with no .wtr file, you will probably find that any mobs moving in water move along the sea-bed rather than moving freely in three dimensions within the water. Also I think people can fish anywhere in a zone that has no .wtr map, even on dry land!