PDA

View Full Version : Login Server Not Recognizing World Server?


mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:04 AM
Hey,

So I'm having an issue. My mini login server recognizes my client, but when I log using the client no servers are listed? (Using SoF client, pretty much followed the wiki walkthrough for starting a server BUT I used a newer version of perl, still in the 8's though.

Would this mean that the issue is that I incorrectly linked mini login and the worldtogether, and could someone link me to a few threads that explain how to fix this?

Thanks!

trevius
05-28-2010, 04:24 AM
Make sure you left this part of your config commented out:

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->

Akyra
05-28-2010, 08:42 AM
Hi,

Ensure that you also have set the Worldname and Worldaddress in your loginserver.ini file. I had the exact same problem as this and found that I had to do the below to get it working.

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.1.5
#loginserver2=
loginport=5999
#loginport2=
worldname=<ServerName - I made it match the server name I set in my eqemu_config.xml file>
worldaddress=192.168.1.5
#locked=
#account=
#password=

Hope this helps.

Akyra

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 12:32 PM
So now I've got it recognizing both server and client, but still a blank server list? What could be the possible causes of that?

Akyra
05-28-2010, 12:44 PM
Ensure that you have set the variable of LoginServer in your database to be minilogin, also check that your account's IP is set in the accounts table to your client's IP.

Oh, and in your ini file, ensure you have the server's IP address where I have 192.168.1.5 before, if you haven't done that already, though I am assuming you have :p

Akyra

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 01:26 PM
I feel lame asking this, but how do I check that through command prompt?

Akyra
05-28-2010, 01:38 PM
Go into command prompt and type in ipconfig and look for IPv4 Address for your network adapter. I'm sure there are easier ways but this is what I do :p

Akyra

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 02:22 PM
No, I meant how do I check what's in the tables for the database?

Akyra
05-28-2010, 02:39 PM
I use HeidiSQL on my Win2k8 box just to browse, as it was recommended in one of the tutorials here. I then connect to the db and look through the variables table for LoginServer. But here is some code for you to run against your eq database that will update it for you:

UPDATE variables SET value = 'MiniLogin' WHERE varname = 'LoginType';

Then you can do this to check to see what the variable is set to:

select * from variables WHERE varname = 'LoginType';

Hope this helps.

Akyra

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:08 PM
Hmmm, now the world server isn't connecting anymore, or staying connected at least

Anyone have skype?

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:14 PM
Hey maybe it would help if I showed my LoginServer.ini and eqemu_config.xml files.

LoginServer.ini

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.1.103
loginport=5999
worldname=Cedarwood
worldaddress=192.168.1.103
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=StandAlone
ServerPort=5999

eqemu_config.xml

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
<world>
<shortname>Cedarwood</shortname>
<longname>Cedarwood</longname>

<!-- address has to be specified for minilogin to work -->
<address>192.168.1.103</address>
<localaddress>192.168.1.103</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>192.168.1.103</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>make up some random string of characters here</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service -->
<http port="9080" enable="true" mimefile="mime.types"/>
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>letmein</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>

My world keeps saying the login server is now responding with a fatal error, but earlier I had it set to public not minilogin...

(Then it showed 1 server, now it shows zero, but I tweaked this files above and possible messed something else up>

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:23 PM
<!-- address has to be specified for minilogin to work -->
<address>192.168.1.103</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>

I'm really confused about these lines because some say to comment them off, others are saying to use my own IP for local address, others are saying to use 127.0.0.1 I'm using this guide.

http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=ws1129r222

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:26 PM
Like I only do the 127.0.0.1 if I want to do LOCAL no one else on only right?

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:28 PM
Looked into it more, took my username and pass out of the account and password fields. haha Still not quite right.

Think I'll stop trying to trial and error this and just be patient, having those in obviously wouldn't have worked.

mrkcmty3
05-28-2010, 03:50 PM
Got It, thank You Soooooo Much!

Akyra
05-28-2010, 04:26 PM
Sorry, I have been AFK :p

I would say you're welcome, though I don't think I did a lot judging by the past few messages from yourself :) lol

Pleased it's all sorted. Good luck making the server :)

Akyra

wwazman
07-20-2010, 04:02 PM
I am having the same problem after a fresh reinstall of both Windows XP and EQ Titanium, then SoF, and having copied my old working directory straight over it. I hadn't played in quite a while, I don't have a server set up yet,again, at the moment, I simply want to PLAY.. ... I had to update the eqhost.txt file to the new/old address listed on the front page of www.eqemulator.org .. when I go to log in (do I need to re-register?) it lets me in just fine with my old username and password, but then I don't see any servers and it says I have 0 of 0 expansions.

Someone please help?