PDA

View Full Version : Server List empty, World List blank, please help


Quinas
07-15-2010, 11:00 AM
Hi all,

I've been having a few problems getting my server to work. The server itself seems to be kicking along fine, but its the login side of things thats giving me grief.

I used this tutorial; http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=Windows

Here's my files;

eqemu_config.xml


<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>Test</shortname>
<longname>Test Ream 101</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. (read: You don't) -->
<!-- <address>some.server.com</address> -->
<!-- <localaddress>192.168.0.5</localaddress> -->

<!-- Loginserver information. Defaults shown -->
<loginserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<unlocked/>

<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections. Both zones and console (if enabled). Defaults are shown -->
<tcp ip="localhost" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>195765074180391272332136575</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. Defaults are shown -->
<http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Chatserver (channels) information. Defaults shown -->
<chatserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>7778</port>
</chatserver>

<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information. Defaults shown -->
<mailserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>7779</port>
</mailserver>

<zones>
<defaultstatus>20</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
</zones>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. Defaults shown -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>tyrant</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>

<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
<launcher>
<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000" initial="20000" interval="2000"> -->
</launcher>

<!-- File locations. Defaults shown -->
<files>
<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
</files>
<!-- Directory locations. Defaults shown -->
<directories>
<!-- <maps>Maps</maps> -->
<!-- <quests>quests</quests> -->
<!-- <plugins>plugins</plugins> -->
</directories>
</server>

LoginServer.xml

[LoginServer]
loginserver=127.0.0.1
loginport=5999
worldname=Test
worldaddress=127.0.0.1
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Minilogin
ServerPort=5999

What I see when I hit L in minilogin;

World List:
======================
ID: 1, Unknown Type, Name: , IP: 127.0.0.1:50871, AccID: 0

All the zoneservers come up, no errors at all from world.exe or eqlaunch.exe.

When I try to log in with client the server list is empty.

I'm running the latest EQEmu binary, mySQL 5.0.82, and Perl 5.8.9 Build 827.

Any assistance in this matter would be much appreciated.

Q

ps. I've scoured the board for all the old responses to this matter, and have tried a lot of fixes, but nothing has helped.

blindaviator
07-15-2010, 02:00 PM
When I started setting up my server I used that tutorial also and was never able to make it work... Mainly what I found was the configuration XML and INI info provided caused the minilogin problems...

I ended up following another I found and was able to get it going.. One thing that was the problem was the minilogin... Dunno what it was about it but I was never able to make it work for me... Your mileage may vary...

After I compiled my own source I used the full login server from:
http://code.google.com/p/projecteqemu/downloads/detail?name=EQEmuLoginServer.zip&can=2&q=
and I created a eqemulogin.ini with the following code to make it all work:


Port=5998
DumpPacketsIn=true
DumpPacketsOut=true
Trace=true
DatabaseServerName=localhost
DatabaseCatalogName=login_database
DatabaseUserName=username
DatabaseUserPassword=password
OPCodePathAndFileName=login_opcodes.conf

And I changed the eqemu_config.xml to:


<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>shortname</shortname>
<longname>Longname Here</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. (read: You don't) -->
<address>127.0.0.1</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. Defaults shown -->
<loginserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<!-- <unlocked/> -->

<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections. Both zones and console (if enabled). Defaults are shown -->
<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long key</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. Defaults are shown -->
<http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Chatserver (channels) information. Defaults shown -->
<chatserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>7778</port>
</chatserver>

<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information. Defaults shown -->
<mailserver>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>7779</port>
</mailserver>

<zones>
<defaultstatus>20</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
</zones>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. Defaults shown -->
<database>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>username</username>
<password>password</password>
<db>databasename</db>
</database>

<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
<launcher>
<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
</launcher>

<!-- File locations. Defaults shown -->
<files>
<spells>spells_us.txt</spells>
<opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes>
<logsettings>log.ini</logsettings>
<eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime>
</files>
<!-- Directory locations. Defaults shown -->
<directories>
<maps>Maps</maps>
<quests>quests</quests>
<plugins>plugins</plugins>
</directories>
</server>


Also make sure you changed your eqhosts.txt file in your game folder (not server folder) to point to your local login server... 127.0.0.1:5999 or 5998

I finally ended up just following the guides and suggestion of compiling my own source code... It really is not difficult and is the only way (currently) to make bots work with the latest release...

If you wanna compile just follow this guide and it will walk you through it:
http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=VS2008

The guide you followed had you install a different version of Perl than is required by the compiling process... You will need to make sure your current version is at least 5.10.x or you will need to uninstall the current version and reinstall the version listed in the guide... Whatever version you have installed will be used to compile the executables... Once I did this everything worked great...

Quinas
07-15-2010, 05:53 PM
Thanks for your help. Will try starting fresh.

Is there some reason why I cant SVN the source code? Says I need to be a member?

pfyon
07-15-2010, 07:56 PM
You can't commit but you should be able to check it out.


svn co http://projecteqemu.googlecode.com/svn/trunk


Or tortoise svn for windows (or your other favourite gui svn browser).

Quinas
07-16-2010, 07:58 AM
Got it working. Looked through my mySQL tables and turns out my command line entry hadnt changed the LoginType variable properly. Now its working!