Log in

View Full Version : More than 5 zones?


TrinityGuy
01-25-2011, 03:27 PM
I came across a problem with my server yesterday and that was I couldn't have more than five different zones up at once. That worked out fine and didn't show up as a problem until the players began to spread apart in level a bit.

I went into the database with Navicat and changed the the launcher table to name: zone dynamics: 20 (up from 5). A few hours later I did a server reboot to apply some changes to items added as quest rewards and nobody was able to get on except for me.

I played for a few hours last night with nobody logging on, which was a little odd but not unusual since it's only a week old. I checked the forums today when I woke up and saw this:

"Ever since re boot every time i try to get on it goes to char screen, i click enter world, it freezes up and says "server not respond" then "you have been disconnected" none of the other servers are doing it. Sucks cause i like this server."

I immediately changed the dynamics back to 5 and not even 5 minutes later I have six players online and I need to find a fix.

I searched the updated wiki install guide and found what "MAY" have been a problem.

eqemu_config.ini :

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. (read: You don't) -->
<!--<address>trinityeqemu.dyndns.org</address>
<!--<localaddress>192.168.1.100</localaddress>

I noticed the comment marker in red was missing.

For some reason I also recal reading a while back something about max 5 zones being allowed. I found this http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?p=113753 in the archives via Google but I assumed it's outdated.

loginserver.ini:
# READ README.TXT

[LoginServer]
loginserver=eqemulator.net
#loginserver2=
loginport=5998
#loginport2=
#worldname=
#worldaddress=
#locked=false
#account=
#password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Minilogin
ServerPort=5998

Everything has been going fine. I've been able to find the answer to any questions regarding quests, items, etc.. here on the boards and have a good bit of npc's added to the world and a handful of quests. I just hit this problem yesterday and I didnt' want to do a trial and error things because of the people that are playing on the server lol. I wanted to get some input first then lock it down if need be when I go to apply the changes.

Thanks for any help in advance.

joligario
01-25-2011, 03:55 PM
In your eqemu_config.xml, you should match your database settings:

<zones>
<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7000" high="7005"/>
</zones>

TrinityGuy
01-25-2011, 04:34 PM
I went ahead and made that change like you suggested and after the reboot I am able to accept players on the server again.

I'm not sure if it was adding the comment tags to the .xml file I mentioned in the OP or if it was your suggestion. Either way, thank you for the quick reply! my <defaultstatus> didn't match what was in my db.

joligario
01-25-2011, 04:52 PM
FYI:
Open tag = <!--
Close tag = -->

You probably didn't need to specify the address, so your open tag breaks that line which probably wouldn't let people connect properly. My suggestion was for the ports/zones.