Log in

View Full Version : Multiple World Servers on Same OS Instance


Xevious
05-22-2011, 10:18 AM
It is possible to run multiple world servers in the same OS instance? I'd like to configure a "test" server in addition to my "production" server on the same box (for now - I have new hardware coming in to split them soon).

I've setup a new world server on new a port. First server is port 9000, using zone servers on 7000-7100. Second server is port 9001, using zone servers on 7200-7300.

If I launch one server, the other one launches and ends. They both can independently read the database, but the second server will not fetch the item count. The server dies in the log at loading the EMuShareMem.dll.

World Debug Log:
---------------------------------------------
[05.20. - 10:58:30] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_world_3540.log
[05.20. - 10:58:30] Using database 'chaos' at localhost:3306
[05.20. - 10:58:30] EMuShareMem loaded


World Log:
---------------------------------------------
[05.20. - 10:58:30] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_world_3540.log
[05.20. - 10:58:30] Using database 'chaos' at localhost:3306
[05.20. - 10:58:30] EMuShareMem loaded


Does anyone have this working succesfully under Windows?

Here's the config of the second server. It's identical to the first server with the exception of the port changes mentioned above, and different mySQL ID and Pwd (tested and working), and a different shared key for the zone servers.

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>Chaos</shortname>
<longname>Chaos Vortex</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. (read: You don't) -->
<address>valorofmarr.game-host.org</address>
<localaddress>valorofmarr.game-host.org</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. Defaults shown -->
<loginserver>
<host>valorofmarr.game-host.org</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account>********</account>
<password>********</password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<!-- <unlocked/> -->

<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections. Both zones and console (if enabled). Defaults are shown -->
<tcp ip="localhost" port="9001" telnet="disable"/>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>********</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. Defaults are shown -->
<http port="9081" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Chatserver (channels) information. Defaults shown -->
<chatserver>
<host>valorofmarr.game-host.org</host>
<port>7779</port>
</chatserver>

<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information. Defaults shown -->
<mailserver>
<host>valorofmarr.game-host.org</host>
<port>7779</port>
</mailserver>

<zones>
<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7200" high="7300"/>
</zones>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. Defaults shown -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>********</username>
<password>********</password>
<db>chaos</db>
</database>

<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
<launcher>
<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
</launcher>

<!-- File locations. Defaults shown -->
<files>
<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
</files>
<!-- Directory locations. Defaults shown -->
<directories>
<!-- <maps>Maps</maps> -->
<!-- <quests>quests</quests> -->
<!-- <plugins>plugins</plugins> -->
</directories>
</server>

Derision
05-22-2011, 01:44 PM
The client is hardcoded to talk to World on port UDP/9000.

The port that you changed in eqemu_config.xml from 9000 to 9001 is the TCP port that the zone servers, eqlaunch and UCS use to talk to World.

So the answer to your question is no, you need two machines or VMs. Even then, if you want people to be able to connect to both servers from the Internet, then you really need two public IP addresses.