PDA

View Full Version : Azone2 / Line of Sight


Relyt
02-11-2012, 03:08 PM
I've included all possible objects and Azone2 isn't picking up various walls in Bloodmoon and other various zones. Is there any way to fix this issue? Or is there another tool I can possibly use?

Derision
02-11-2012, 03:16 PM
I would really need a screenshot of one of the walls in question, along with the /loc you are standing at when you took the screenshot so I can find the wall and see why it isn't being included.

Relyt
02-11-2012, 03:23 PM
Such a fast response <3 doing it now.

Relyt
02-11-2012, 03:28 PM
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2cylf6g&s=5

Derision
02-12-2012, 08:02 AM
I created a bloodmoon.map with all objects included, i.e. this line in my azone.ini:

bloodmoon.eqg,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, etc. up to 230

and all the walls are present.

You can confirm if your map is good, by issuing the GM command #bestz at the location you are standing, then move to where the mob is and issuing #bestz again.

If you get a response that says 'Z is n1 or n2 at (x, y)' for both locations, then your map is OK. If you get a message saying 'unable to find node' or 'Found no Z', your map is bad.

Assuming your map is good, then you may be running into a long standing flaw with the LoS code that only checks for obstructions in the node you and the target are in, but not in any intervening nodes.

The newer pathing code checks all intervening nodes, but the older code used for aggro and the #los command calls this method in zone/aggro.cpp:

bool Mob::CheckLosFN(float posX, float posY, float posZ, float mobSize)

which has the flaw I mentioned.

Relyt
02-12-2012, 12:15 PM
I included every object too, but our .maps are building differently? :confused:

"Found no Z.
Water Region Map not loaded for this zone."

I'm assuming the Water Region Map is irrelevant because it doesn't have a water map. I downloaded my tools here: http://code.google.com/p/projecteqemu/downloads/detail?name=azone_utils.zip&can=2&q=.
I wonder if that's the culprit. It's seemingly a better release than the source though, oddly enough.

Derision
02-12-2012, 12:43 PM
I used the latest source, but azone2 hasn't changed for a couple of years, certainly not since the Windows executables you linked where posted.

Your output should be exactly the same as mine:

http://www.rama.demon.co.uk/bloodmoon.txt

in particular, the bit at the bottom:



After processing placeable objects, there are 2022930 vertices and 674310 faces.
Bounding box: -1276.30 < x < 1648.32, -572.67 < y < 1168.28
Building quadtree.
Done building quad tree...
Match counters: 3435858 easy in, 10165604 easy out, 3770 hard in, 0 hard out.
Writing map file.
Map header: Version: 0x01000000. 674310 faces, 788 nodes, 711249 facelists
Done writing map (36.17MB).


Dumb question, but I have to ask :) You are copying the newly generated bloodmoon.map file into your server Maps directory ?

You can verify this, because in the zone log, you will see:

Map header: 674310 faces, 788 nodes, 711249 facelists
Loaded map: 2022930 vertices, 674310 faces
Map BB: (-1276.30 -> 1648.32, -572.67 -> 1168.28, -146.18 -> 459.89)
Map ./Maps/bloodmoon.map loaded.

which matches up with the output of azone2 when the .map was generated.

Relyt
02-12-2012, 12:51 PM
Wow, I found what's wrong and I feel stupid. There's already an entry for Bloodmoon in the file, and it's obviously reading that entry. I'm so sorry I wasted your valuable time.

Relyt
04-04-2012, 07:31 AM
Toskirakk
Frostcrypt
Stonehive

Cause azone to have a critical error.

Derision
04-04-2012, 04:22 PM
I can't reproduce that:

D:\EQClients\Underfoot>azone2 toskirakk
AZONE2: EQEmu .MAP file generator with placeable object support.
.ZON file not found inside EQG. Looking for toskirakk.zon in filesystem. Found.
There are 149946 vertices and 49982 faces.
Processing azone.ini for placeable models.
No azone.ini entry found for zone toskirakk.eqg
After processing placeable objects, there are 149946 vertices and 49982 faces.
Bounding box: -1871.16 < x < 3141.72, -2210.09 < y < 731.77
Building quadtree.
Done building quad tree...
Match counters: 271556 easy in, 766385 easy out, 1927 hard in, 0 hard out.
Writing map file.
Map header: Version: 0x01000000. 49982 faces, 621 nodes, 62650 facelists
Done writing map (2.73MB).

D:\EQClients\Underfoot>azone2 frostcrypt
AZONE2: EQEmu .MAP file generator with placeable object support.
.ZON file not found inside EQG. Looking for frostcrypt.zon in filesystem. Found.

There are 272136 vertices and 90712 faces.
Processing azone.ini for placeable models.
No azone.ini entry found for zone frostcrypt.eqg
After processing placeable objects, there are 272136 vertices and 90712 faces.
Bounding box: -659.14 < x < 1167.79, -457.96 < y < 2550.00
Building quadtree.
Done building quad tree...
Match counters: 494850 easy in, 1397452 easy out, 1718 hard in, 0 hard out.
Writing map file.
Map header: Version: 0x01000000. 90712 faces, 630 nodes, 113028 facelists
Done writing map (4.94MB).

D:\EQClients\Underfoot>azone2 stonehive
AZONE2: EQEmu .MAP file generator with placeable object support.
.ZON file not found inside EQG. Looking for stonehive.zon in filesystem. Found.
There are 54360 vertices and 18120 faces.
Processing azone.ini for placeable models.
No azone.ini entry found for zone stonehive.eqg
After processing placeable objects, there are 54360 vertices and 18120 faces.
Bounding box: -2451.69 < x < 1259.80, -2296.13 < y < 1231.68
Building quadtree.
Done building quad tree...
Match counters: 130085 easy in, 339003 easy out, 8160 hard in, 0 hard out.
Writing map file.
Map header: Version: 0x01000000. 18120 faces, 1119 nodes, 33956 facelists
Done writing map (1.05MB).

D:\EQClients\Underfoot>


This is with default models, i.e. no entry in azone.ini

If they work for you with no azone.ini entry but crash with one, post your azone.ini (I can crash it if I specify a model number in azone.ini which > the number of models in the zone, which I will fix).