PDA

View Full Version : Start @ Level 50?


rhyotte
08-24-2012, 03:09 AM
I was looking for a setting that would allow me to set newly created characters to level 50, instead of level 1. I know I can use an NPC to Level them up once in game. I just thought it would be nice to have them Land in game @ level 50.

Hmm...failing an elegant DB setting, perhaps an invis. man set to proximity. When the newly created character lands in game they are insta-leveled, and skills for level. Perhaps then ported to the Normal "zone in / bind". I was hoping to avoid this type of "trickery" if possible. I suppose a bit of OCD...

Any input? Am I missing something simple in the DB settings?

Thanks for any help,
Rhyotte

trevius
08-24-2012, 03:41 AM
Your best bet would be to add a player.pl file to your starter zones or use the new global player.pl file. You would just use the enter zone sub event and check if they are level 1 (or anything less than 50) and then set them to level 50 using a quest command. It would be something like this:

sub EVENT_ENTERZONE {

if ($ulevel < 50)
{
quest::level(50);
}

}

There is no real DB setting for doing what you are wanting.

rhyotte
08-24-2012, 04:15 AM
Thanks Trev! I was just not really looking in the right place. Keep it simple appeals to me.

So just go to Eqemu - Quests - Thurgadina - and drop in a player.pl with a script like that..add in skills and spells and gtg? Am I on the right track? Sorry for the newbishness here. I am trying real hard to learn the ropes!

Thank you!
Gary
P.S. You Da' MAN Trev!!!

trevius
08-24-2012, 06:11 AM
Well, you can use the following commands to train spells and disciplines:

quest::scribespells(50);
quest::traindiscs(50);

But, setting all skills to max for level 50 is a bit more complicated. There is a GM command to do it (#maxskills), but there isn't a perl function for setting all skills to max.

You would need to do a bit more scripting to set all skills to max. First, you would need to do a loop through each skill ID, which is 0 to 73 I think. Then for each iteration of the loop, you would use the $client->MaxSkill(skillid, class, level) command to find the max skill for that level of each skill. Then, you would need to set the skill to the value you got from that command using the $client->SetSkill(skill_num, value) command. It would be something like this:


sub EVENT_ENTERZONE {

if ($ulevel < 50)
{
quest::level(50);
quest::scribespells(50);
quest::traindiscs(50);
my $CharClass = $client->GetClass();
for ($skillid = 0; $skillid < 74; $skillid++)
{
my $SkillValue = $client->MaxSkill($skillid, $CharClass, 50);
$client->SetSkill($skillid, $SkillValue);
}
}

}

I haven't tested that, but I think it should be close to what you are wanting.

rhyotte
08-24-2012, 02:11 PM
Thank you very much for the help. Perl is my next step. I have used the in game #maxskills and spells etc. I have even had some fun learning to manipulate the DB settings, making items in the DB rather than a tool etc. I did finally get GeorgeS tools up and running and decided to use his loot tool to actually place loot, as it gets tedious doing that the pure DB way. So much easier with the tool.

One question, will the above script do that every time a player enters that zone?

Thanks again for the help, truly appreciated.
Gary
P.S. I should have looked closer, And Tried it before asking this. Thank you so much!