PDA

View Full Version : Kudos, and a question

Dhrystone
02-18-2013, 10:57 AM
Hi everyone...

First a salute to everyone involved in this project. I just discovered it a few days ago and it's awesome. I'm a commercial developer and I know how much work, time, effort and tedium goes into the development process and I'm awed by the passion that leads you to do this for free.

I'm also an EQ player from way back in 1999 although I haven't touched the game since about 2003. Someone pointed me to EQEMU and damn I'm impressed.

My own contribution is to build a server with something I always wanted to be able to try: permanent death. So I'm working on the 'Survivor' server, right now testing it to be sure the game functions as well as possible with the PEQ database.

So, to implement permadeath I'm thinking I'd like to cast a permanent root on a player (that's selected the option it will be optional) if they die past level 10. That way they still exist but can't move so can't play.

My question: is there any way outside of a code change to rig the database to cast a spell on anyone who dies, maybe based on a qglobal? I'd rather do this without code changes if possible but I'll make them if necessary.

Any comments ideas and suggestions are welcome...

Thanks again all of you,
Dhry

Drajor
02-18-2013, 11:13 AM
Hello and welcome Dhry :)

I saw your server in the list today and wondered who the dev was. To answer your question: Yes it would be possible to set a qglobal when a character dies. I would probably use EVENT_SLAY on NPCs and set the qglobal when that is triggered. Then use EVENT_ENTERZONE for clients and check the qglobal in that.

That is a little off the cuff though. There are some extremely talented guys who know the scripting system much better than me. Maybe one of them will share a better way!

Dhrystone
02-18-2013, 11:36 AM
Thank you, thank you !