PDA

View Full Version : Quest implementation help needed

jshows1
06-13-2013, 04:17 PM
Once I have made a quest and am ready to implement it, how do I get it into the game?

I've made a quest and placed it into the appropriate quests/zonename folder and named it as npcname.pl.

I notice it doesn't have a check mark on it. I'm assuming it needs to be integrated into the database?

I apologize for this elementary question, but I have not worked with quests at all. So for a complete newb, is there a step by step starting guide for quest creation and implementation?

I found this page here http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=QuestTutorial but while it's great for giving all sorts of commands and syntax needed, it doesn't help me much in the way of actually getting started.

I would greatly appreciate any help that can be given. :)

I do promise at some point, when I am able to give some of this information back to others, I will! lol

NatedogEZ
06-13-2013, 04:19 PM
#reloadpl while in that zone ... or #reloadworld if you are not in that zone

(this is if your server is up while you are writing the quests)

jshows1
06-13-2013, 04:32 PM
great!! Thanks so much, Nate. I'm currently making a notes file with all the info I learn from you guys lol. Hopefully I can pass this info along later if other newbs have questions.

EDIT: Hmm I did #reloadworld and it gives me the message that it's reloading quest cache and repopping zones worldwide. But the quest in the folder isn't being "checked" like the others. Am I doing something wrong?

Burningsoul
06-13-2013, 05:25 PM
That check mark is just TortoiseSVN telling you the file isn't what is currently in the repo, nothing to worry about there.

jshows1
06-13-2013, 05:51 PM