PDA

View Full Version : LUA vs PERL


provocating
07-12-2013, 02:52 PM
Since LUA is now functional, I have a few questions. Are all of the original functions for PERL active in LUA now? If I am creating a custom quest would there be a compelling reason to use LUA vs PERL? Is LUA faster, or is it just aesthetical? I know people complain about PERL readability.

Vexyl
07-12-2013, 03:11 PM
It's Lua and Perl; all caps aren't necessary.

http://www.lua.org/about.html under "What's in a name?"
and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perl under "Name".

It might be petty to point this out, but it's simply annoying to see.

As to the title of the thread, I prefer Perl for some tasks and Lua others.
In my opinion, Perl is better for general administrative tasks and Lua for embedded scripting languages.

provocating
07-12-2013, 03:13 PM
Sorry for the caps. I have seen people upper case them, and sometimes lower case.

KLS
07-13-2013, 12:45 AM
Lua is faster and has some advantages for more advanced users: such as direct manipulation of spawns and inventories (and soon packets) that aren't easy to do with Perl and encounter quest types which aren't supported at all in Perl. Also as of this moment you can only interact with the npc special ability system just added using legacy API functions on Perl; the new ones are only exported to Lua.

For most quests you can basically use whatever you would like though as they'll both do the job.

rencro
08-04-2013, 02:28 AM
For me the functions being different from perl slowed me down a bit, for example this quest in perl:


sub EVENT_WAYPOINT_ARRIVE {
if ($wp==1) {
quest::say("Im at the waypoint on perl.");
quest::creategroundobject(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
}
}

When converted to lua I had to use the underscores, which I didnt figure out until looking in the source, so a slight learning curve for me..
Correct Lua Version:

function event_waypoint_arrive(e)
if(e.wp == 1) then
e.self:Say("Im at the waypoint on lua.");
eq.create_ground_object(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
end
end

sorvani
08-04-2013, 11:46 AM
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API

wolfwalkereci
08-04-2013, 06:05 PM
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API

Explain that statement please.

NatedogEZ
08-04-2013, 07:22 PM
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API



Can the SpecialAbility stuff be used in perl? (guessing no)
Don't have time to test it right now.



Integer GetSpecialAbility(Integer ability);
Integer GetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param);
Void SetSpecialAbility(Integer ability, Integer level);
Void SetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param, Integer value);
Void ClearSpecialAbilities();
Void ProcessSpecialAbilities(String str);

Robregen
08-04-2013, 07:28 PM
as noted in changelog:


The old API functions that worked with letters still exist for backwards compatibility reasons but wont be updated further.

sorvani
08-04-2013, 07:55 PM
Explain that statement please.

go try and log in to the wikia.

KLS
08-04-2013, 08:07 PM
I didn't add the functions for the new special attack stuff to Perl so it's limited to the old API atm. Someone could if they want I just didn't take the time to do it.

wolfwalkereci
08-04-2013, 08:31 PM
go try and log in to the wikia.

I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?

sorvani
08-04-2013, 11:15 PM
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?

New accounts are borked yes. Additionally, when I attempt to log in, I a presented with a blank white screen. Not a login dialog. This is the result of clicking on your link, then on login.
http://i.imgur.com/qAp92VL.png

wolfwalkereci
08-05-2013, 02:19 AM
I noticed that as well. Is this not something that can be addressed by the admin staff?