PDA

View Full Version : spells_new table error


jshows1
07-13-2013, 10:13 PM
Ok so like a dummy, I inadvertently blitzed this table in my database. Fortunately, I have backups of my database from earlier. Unfortunately I have made extensive changes to mobs and items in game, so if I were to resource a backup, it would lose hours and hours of work.

Is there a way to just export the spells_new table entry from a backup database and import it into my current database? I've attempted to do this via the export/import wizard through Navicat. However, I either can' get it to work right or I'm using the wrong formats.

Kingly_Krab
07-13-2013, 10:18 PM
If you exported to a .sql you should be able to search for a line containing 'spells_new' that would create the table if it doesn't exist, and add all the entries, hope that helps some.

jshows1
07-13-2013, 10:23 PM
Kingly I appreciate the response. I apologize, I am not quite sure what you mean. Are you saying I should search through the backup database that I created previously and somehow export the spells_new file into the new database?

Drajor
07-13-2013, 10:41 PM
I would never do this with a wizard normally but I decided to check it out. I was able to export and and import a table with a bit of messing around, below was my method.

(PHEW). So I messed around a bit longer, XML is much easier than TXT.

- Right click table X -> Export Wizard
- Step 1: Choose 'XML file'.
- Step 2: Choose a filename.
- Step 3: Leave as default.
- Step 4: Uncheck 'Continue on error'.... Check 'Include column titles'.
- Step 5: Start!

- Right click table X -> Import Wizard
- Step 1: Choose 'XML file'.
- Step 2: Select your export file.
- Step 3: Select 'RECORD'
- Step 4: Leave as default.
- Step 5: Leave as default.
- Step 6: Leave as default.
- Step 7: Select 'Copy: delete all records in destination..'
- Step 8: Start!

Assuming there are no schema changes this should work for you. If not, we will try something else :)

jshows1
07-13-2013, 11:11 PM
I would never do this with a wizard normally but I decided to check it out. I was able to export and and import a table with a bit of messing around, below was my method.

(PHEW). So I messed around a bit longer, XML is much easier than TXT.

- Right click table X -> Export Wizard
- Step 1: Choose 'XML file'.
- Step 2: Choose a filename.
- Step 3: Leave as default.
- Step 4: Uncheck 'Continue on error'.... Check 'Include column titles'.
- Step 5: Start!

- Right click table X -> Import Wizard
- Step 1: Choose 'XML file'.
- Step 2: Select your export file.
- Step 3: Select 'RECORD'
- Step 4: Leave as default.
- Step 5: Leave as default.
- Step 6: Leave as default.
- Step 7: Select 'Copy: delete all records in destination..'
- Step 8: Start!

Assuming there are no schema changes this should work for you. If not, we will try something else :)

Thanks so much for the response guys. I really appreciate the help.

Drajor that worked perfectly! Thanks for bailing me out! lol

Drajor
07-13-2013, 11:26 PM
Glad I could help out. Another way still using the GUI is using the 'Dump SQL File' (Table right click context menu). Then you run that SQL .. but I noticed time stamp data was lost when I did this.

jsr
07-14-2013, 10:12 AM
Maybe I missed something, but wouldn't copy/paste work?

Drajor
07-14-2013, 12:54 PM
Maybe I missed something, but wouldn't copy/paste work?

^^ This works too hahah. /does it the hardest way possible for funsies