View Full Version : New server Question
ionhsmith
06-15-2014, 09:58 PM
I have a UO dedicated server so I thought I would try and EQ one but I am running into errors following the guide on this website. I am on the step
Open a command prompt and type in:-
mysql -uroot
then type in:-
SET PASSWORD FOR 'root'@'localhost' = PASSWORD('your_pasword');
but it tells me cant connect to MySQL server on local host... any suggestions?
so far everything else is going good ... compiled with 0 errors
Scorpious2k
06-15-2014, 10:11 PM
It sounds to me like mysql isn't running. You might want to check in the windows task manager and see if mysqld.exe is running in the processes.
I don't know a lot about xampp and I am using MariaDB instead of MySQL...
ionhsmith
06-15-2014, 11:20 PM
I don't know much about any of it ... first time using it ... MySQL is now running but now I get Error 1045 (28000): Access denied for user "nroot'@'localhost' (using password:yes)
anyone with xampp /MySQL experience feel free to throw out some pointers lol and thanks
Scorpious2k
06-15-2014, 11:47 PM
Try just typing
mysql -u root
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 12:03 AM
I did that and the above error is what I get
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 12:26 AM
Then it has a password already. Find the my.ini file for mysql and it will have the password among the configuration settings in it.
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 12:30 AM
None that I see in it ... I have even changed the password
in that filw
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 12:35 AM
You should see something like...
# The following options will be passed to all MySQL clients
[client]
password = your_password
port = 3306
socket = /tmp/mysql.sock
so when you start mysql use
mysql -u root -pyour_password
thats a -p followed by whatever is in the place of your_password in the my.ini file
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 11:11 AM
I did this and it told me
Warning: Using a password on the command line interface can be insecure
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@localhost' (using password: yes)
joligario
06-16-2014, 12:23 PM
I did this and it told me
Warning: Using a password on the command line interface can be insecure
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@localhost' (using password: yes)
That is just a warning (although correct). You should use: mysql -uroot -p
It will ask you for the password on a separate line.
Do you have the right password for root? Does root have all privileges?
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 12:28 PM
I am just now trying to set it up ... I have followed the server install guide from the forums here but when I go to set up the password like in step 3 (using xampp)
MySQL -uroot it gives me the access denied for user 'root'@'localhost'
Im not sure how to set root privileges that you asked
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 12:29 PM
I would first shut down mysqld - the mysql service(probably a way with xampp to do this)
Then check the my.ini file and make sure you know EXACTLY what it says the password is - case matters. Also changing the ini file while it is running doen't change it until it restarts.
Restart the mysql service (with xampp)/
Try the mysql -u root -p[password]
if you still have a problem you have a choice of uninstalling and reinstalling it.. or resetting it which is a bit of hacking.
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 01:59 PM
ok seems I got the server working thanks for the help ... but as a server running with 127.0.0.1 how do I make the client work on that address? I tried to do the shortcut but I get a problem with shortcut c:\users\Gamble\Desktop\Everquest\eqgame.exe"patchme' specified in the target box is not valid .... I also tried to download the eqemu launcher but have no idea how to make it point to my server ... any ideas?
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 02:30 PM
You are actually asking a lot of questions here whether you know it or not... or at least seeking a lot of different answers.
Where is EQ (client) installed? Do you have a shortcut on your desktop?
Are you running your own logon server or using the public one? What exactly is running when you say the server is running? (what windows have what programs running?)
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 02:41 PM
sorry just new to this EMU. Just trying to learn how to connect to my own server instead of one of the ones on here... Right now the world.exe , queryserv.exe, ucs.exe, and 0:sleeping windows are running, I have the patchme thing figured out but all I can connect to are the servers that are from this website. I cannot connect to 127.0.0.1
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 03:07 PM
There, you answered all the questions and got us to where we need to be. Remember when you edited the config and named your server? If you did everything right, you should find that name in the server list- that's you. Select it and you are on it.
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 04:04 PM
I must be missing something cause I do not see my server in the list ... all the ports are forwarded so I not sure whats missing ... that guild for editing the eqEmu config is a bit confusing to me.
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 04:30 PM
Did you use the short config file or the full one?
If you aren't showing up in the list, it is probably port 9000 (not that the rest are right, but 9000 would be the problem for that)... make sure that 9000 UDP is being forwarded.
Are you also running windows firewall?
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 04:42 PM
that was it thanks ... that you for the help and being very patient with me
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 04:54 PM
You're very welcome.
Have fun!
ionhsmith
06-16-2014, 05:26 PM
well crud thought I was done ... one more question... I went to log on with my other computer and it will not connect I see the server but does not connect to it ... only the computer that runs the server will connect... where do I go to correct this? As far as I know all the ports or forwarded
Scorpious2k
06-16-2014, 06:17 PM
1017 error?
Double check your zone ports being forwarded... the full range and they are UDP
lerxst2112
06-16-2014, 07:23 PM
If you plan to have other computers on your network connect to the server you should use the server's actual ip address in your config. So, instead of 127.0.0.1 use 192.168.0.whatever. You can see what the address is by running ipconfig on the command line.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.