Log in

View Full Version : Alakamin still lives i swear


Davood
07-27-2014, 09:58 PM
sortof....

i havent touched it since february of 2013. it is now august 2014. server has been rebooting itself and trying (sloppily) to keep the codebase updated. that said.. i had to step in an fix something today but i failed to do so.

I was informed via email of a serious bug that was keeping items from being summoned..

I have found the bug and i have no idea how to resolve it. I even updated my server to the latest code and i am perplexed.

Anytime a quest tries to summon an item the player sees
(0) (Aug1) is not an actual augment.

same thing with #gi and #si

I am working to resolve this and I will post in this thread when I do. if anyone has some advice (like hey dav check your item table structure) i'd be happy to take the advice.

for reference.
items seem to work ok
items appear on npcs
items appear in shops
buy sell works
only quested items and gm commands to make items seem to fail.


in other news:

I am nearing the end of the initial work on a RL project im involved in then I will have some time to work on alakamin again. Tiers 1-30 are more or less done, and are acccessible to players.. tiers 31-70 are ready but are missing some of the boss npcs and require new hubs and quests and such to access them. yes that means i have the regular npcs and loots and spell abilities figured out (did that in march of last year).

I am going to re-envision how the multi class / race changing will work as well when i have the time.

and yes i will finish the monster abilities and implement project "m" in the way i told people last year.

for anyone that uses clients after UF , you WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PLAY AS A MONSTER FOR NOW. UF or earlier clients CAN play as monsters.

Davood
07-27-2014, 10:05 PM
im stumped

db seems "ok" im going to do more analysis on it later
i have been up to date on all the required and optional SQL

i never edited the quests but #gi and #si should be working right? its gotta be some sort of DB issue.

Uleat
07-27-2014, 11:32 PM
Anytime a quest tries to summon an item the player sees
(0) (Aug1) is not an actual augment.


I'm pretty sure I added the code to show that..or, at least modded it in some way.

Obviously, an actual Item ID number is not being passed to the procedure.

I don't know if this is something that I did in the code or something on your side..but, this is the first time I've heard of an issue with augments
since I added that code.

check to see if you have these 3 rules in your rules table:
Inventory:EnforceAugmentRestriction
Inventory:EnforceAugmentUsability
Inventory:EnforceAugmentWear

If so, ensure that 'EnforceAugmentWear' is set to true and the other two to false..that will set the original conditions before the code.

Also, you may need to copy the rules and set the 'ruleset_id' for the rule set that you're using. (I generally make them for 1, 2, 4 and 10..just
to be sure.)

Beyond that, any additional information that you can post would be helpful.

Davood
07-27-2014, 11:33 PM
ok so my quests were fine.

my db had some inconsistencies with npc_types which im looking at and scratching my head (apparently i have like 20 extra fields).

i tried turning on logging with INVENTORY_ERROR=on



[07.27. - 21:56:22] Unknown slot being used by Feshexx, slot being used is: -1501
[07.27. - 22:05:08] Unknown slot being used by Feshexx, slot being used is: -1501
[07.27. - 22:13:54] Unknown slot being used by Feshexx, slot being used is: -1501

Davood
07-27-2014, 11:37 PM
trying your suggestion now ULEAT

Davood
07-28-2014, 12:00 AM
ahh those 3 rules were false.

now the one you mentioned is set to true. testing..

test results:
same problem as before

tried rebooting server in case somethign weird was happening with shared mem
same problem. (and yes i deleted the contents of the dir to regenerate them)

tried deleting all the slot 0 items in the inventory table from all users (sorry guys if oyu had something on cursor its gone).
same problem

after each of the above i reset the server of course.

once this is resolved i can restore all of the missing slot 0 items from the chars. i did make a backup :)

Davood
07-28-2014, 12:01 AM
ah well. i will test more tommorrow. this is annoying.

just the "settings" info you might want to know:

i have latest updates to DB and i have compiled the latest code from repo using vs2012 64 bit and im using perl for my quests, runnings win 7x64 for the server (server is a strong word for that - sorry heh.)

using perl 5.14 64 bit
not sure mysql version

Davood
07-28-2014, 01:50 PM
still not sure

testing with underfoot client. the opcode files are up to date.

i tried using peq latest item table just to prove to myself teh item table is ok or not ok

table is not ok

when i used peq item DB, i was able to summon items.

sigh. i will figure out what i broke in my item table then ill post in here for all to see my foolishness. and hopefullly help someone else.

thing is, i more or less have only run the updates from the git repo since feb 2013 so i dunno what might be broken as i haven't been tinkering hopefulily just a structural thing

Davood
07-28-2014, 02:02 PM
ok structurally "items" is perfectly identical to the PEQ DB.

something is up with my items, and consequently the entire data set.

found some weird records in the items table. table wasn't corrupted per se (per the navicat commands to check for it) but there was a row that had 0 for every field.

deleted that , deleted sharedmem folder rebooted server
and

and...

drum roll

success!

items are summonable again.

The question still remains

how did that dummy row get added to items table????????

Uleat
07-28-2014, 08:40 PM
Nice catch and congrats :)