View Full Version : Ground target AoE spells
Maze_EQ
07-28-2015, 12:56 PM
Can anyone shed some light on how to make these work? Casting type: Targeted ring AE.
Custom made spell will not work whatsoever
kimura
07-28-2015, 06:59 PM
i'm not 100% what you mean, but maybe do a proximity and have the player have the AE casted on themselves within the player.pl when they enter the coordinates? I may be misinterpreting what you're asking...if so, sorry lol
Bandor
07-29-2015, 08:38 AM
He is talking about the target ring for ground spells, such as shammy totems and such. We spent a entire day testing this and from the information I got from all this testing makes zero sense lol. Basically I have a spell (hypnotic Stare) When going to cast said spell it puts a target ring on your cursor which should cast the spell wherever you click. I changed 1 line in the spell, first I added a summon pet to it, which it broke the target ring. So then I changed the spell that Hypnotic Stare triggers, to my custom pet spell,still broke the target ring. So im not really sure what gives the ring as I kept breaking it over and over with just the addition of 1 line lol.
kimura
07-29-2015, 08:43 AM
Samsonite....I was way off...lol
rhyotte
07-29-2015, 11:16 AM
Interesting to say the least.
Leetsauce
07-30-2015, 08:04 AM
+1 to this. I have yet to determine a workable pattern with these though my testing is limited. I would like to figure them out so as to create some custom variations of these. The base spells with the ground-target ring work just fine. Creating a new one is where I ran into issues.
NatedogEZ
07-30-2015, 01:57 PM
Only the aoe type spells are implemented for this targettype, spawning things at the X Y Z location is not handled currently.
If you want to do custom stuff with it though... try using... "GetTargetRingX , GetTargetRingY, GetTargetRingZ" and spawn the specific pet or totem with perl :p
sub EVENT_CAST {
if($spell_id == 16938) {
quest::spawn2(26044, 0, 0, $client->GetTargetRingX(), $client->GetTargetRingY(), $client->GetTargetRingZ(), 0);
}
}
Can use this to "place" NPCs with a spell.. for something like a "totem" or whatever, and then have the totem pulse a spell to all nearby players to heal or buff them.. ect ect
Maze_EQ
07-30-2015, 06:39 PM
That's what we're doing nate.
Leetsauce
08-05-2015, 09:47 PM
I also ended up using a perl workaround until I figured out how they were processed, so as a sidenote this is definitely a viable option.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.