Log in

View Full Version : Bug reports for 0.4.3


Trumpcard
03-12-2003, 09:03 AM
Please post any bugs you find with the 0.4.3 release in this thread. Also, please let us know how stable this release seems in contrast to earlier versions. The networking code was HEAVILY modified in this version, so let us know how you're doing with it.

Thanks!

Kalizkhan
03-12-2003, 05:02 PM
Okay then, here we go, a list of bugs ive come accross with 0.4.2/0.4.3. Sorry if i put any DB specific bugs in here, it can be hard to know whats in the DB and whats hardcoded. Just for reference i found all these bugs when playing as a low level druid on the Darogar.net server and im on a realy bad connection.

1. People on bad connections STILL get booted at char select screen.

2. spell skills dont gain from use.

3. It dosnt remember your heading (way your facing) when you zone.

4. Doors have problems, often you have to open them twice before they open (maybe because the packet collector program has collected thier data when they are open and when they are closed so there are 2 doors there?) and sometimes all doors in a zone will just stop working.

5. loading message on zoning is always displayed AFTER it zones.

6. con messages are still often messed up, they display wrong messages or just display jibberish.

7. Insufficient mana when trying to cast a spell causes interface lockup.

8. Sometimes you will turn auto-attack on and it wont attack till you turn it off and back on again.

9. spells arn't forgotten on death (maybe purposely for now?)

10. The killing blow from a monster does WAY! more hp than normal, for example a rat that normaly hits for 2-3 hp will hit me for like 27hp (a whole health buble at the time) on the killing blow.

11. negative spell effects on mobs wear off WAY too fast and thus are useless (im low lvls with low spell skills, havnt tried it when i have good spell skills).

12. there are two different target out of range messages when you cast spells, theres the normal one and one which displays if you are within range according to the normal check, but not within range on the other check, when it displays the second one it will also lock up the interface.

13. Sometimes it wont delete a spell scoll when you add it to your spell book.

14. If your inventory is full and you purchase an item off a vendor it will still give vendor money but of course the item cant be added to your inventory.

15. You can never be interupted by mobs hitting you while you are casting, you always regain your concentration and continue casting.

16. You can cast while moving.

17. Sometimes when zoning it will drop you back to desktop with no error messages, ect.

Okay thats the bugs im pretty sure about, below is a list of bugs that im either unsure about, might be database bugs or are probably already known about.


1. The tome of order and discord displays the normal message, then at the end of the message has 2 squares (invalid characters?) then says the last thing that was said in your chat window.

2. i once created a character... but it didnt actualy create it, it did everything normal, but the char never showed up.

3. I would have thought this one would be client side, when you go linkdead it will give you the "you have been disconnected" message as soon as your laggometer reaches yellow, on live it has to get into the red before you get DC'ed.

4. items dissapear when dropped.

5. spells cost less than the price the vendor quotes.

6. sometimes (rarely) i will freeze on zoning, it dosnt give me a connection lost message or boot me back to server select or anything, just sits there forever till i close EQ.

7. Vendor items are sometimes listed downwards instead of across.

8. #showstats command dosnt work.


Okay thats all i know of for now, hope they help, and also please note that these are also bugs from 0.4.2, i left out any i think have been fixed, but there still may be some there that have been fixed in 0.4.3

killspree
03-12-2003, 05:14 PM
I don't think the code is in for spell skills to raise, so that's not really a "bug" unless it's in and just not working(only casting skill I've been able to raise is channeling, and that was once).

Trumpcard
03-12-2003, 10:10 PM
skill raises for spells arent in, we can definitely work on that.

The high damage on last hit is probably the mob getting a finishing blow. (Im guessing). I'll see about that, prolly just need an isClient() check.

Doors taking 2 clicks... I've noticed that, but I dont have a clue..lol...

Con messages are a known problem, think theres something wrong on the packet size is my guess so it's getting binary gibberish on the end.. (Another guess)

Need a check for full inventory on purchases, got it...

Casting while moving? Is that in 0.4.2 also, or just 0.4.3? I know there was a fix put in to allow bards to cast while moving.

Items disappearing, dont think we've implemented items on the ground yet, or we did and it got lost somewhere.

Spells not forgotten on death. Dont think we put that one in, that one should be an on/off switch in the variables table like LeaveCorpses...

Interrupts - Sounds like interupt probability needs to be up'ed.

Thanks for the observations!

TheOne
03-12-2003, 10:28 PM
A few players had been complaining about the LD problem ( mainly dialup users ) so I checked it out with Mytopie. We raised the client timeout time a bit and it seems like they drop less since then. Maybe you should check it out ?

killspree
03-12-2003, 10:57 PM
Two bugs I've found so far, one of which has been around for a few releases I think - maybe I'm just thinking back to a 4.3 DR version though.

1. Kick damage is horribly broken, it's WAY too powerful. My level 65 warrior kicks for 60+ damage. I haven't tested various levels, but it may be scaling as a level multiplier.

2. Monk hand to hand is underpowered. At level 1, a monk is hitting for 1 damage every time. If you compare to EQlive, monks hit for upwards of 8 damage at level 1 with hand to hand skill and bare fists.

EDIT: After further testing at various levels, kick is broken at all levels. Even at level 2 I was able to kick for very high damage amounts...much, much more than normal.

Trumpcard
03-12-2003, 11:27 PM
Heres the current formula for kick..

For warriors:

float dmg=(((GetSkill(KICK) + GetSTR())/25) *4 +level)*(((float)rand()/RAND_MAX));^M


So, at level 60 with say a 200 str/200 skill, you get

((200+200)/25 * 4 + 60) * (0-1 rand)

16*4 + 60 * RAND

= 124 * RAND, so you have a max kick of around 124


For non-warriors

float dmg=(((GetSkill(KICK) + GetSTR())/25) *3 +level)*(((float)rand()/RAND_MAX));^M


So, you have a max of

48+60 * RAND = 108



As I have no idea what live values should be, let me know and well see if we can tone it down...

Trumpcard
03-13-2003, 12:09 AM
Someone go to

http://nielsen-woodwinds.com/eqwatcher/main.html


and download and play on live for awhile and get some average/max information for us on kicks/bashes/standard attacking/etc, and we might be able to tweak the combat formulas.
(Different level characters would help also). Do it with a lvl 1 also.. By changing the high end marks, we dont want to mess up the low end calculations.

Note str, level and skill levels for each trial...

Kalizkhan
03-13-2003, 01:49 AM
hmmm, seems i cant cast while moving, i just tried and it kept interupting spell, but i know i could for a while, i killed a mob by constantly running away and casting a direcrt damage spell on it, didnt once interupt, that was on 0.4.2, but i just tried it on a 0.4.2 server and it wouldnt let me.

Also i was wrong about the item costing money when your inventory is full, i forgot but actualy at the time i had a bag in my inventory with room in it, but i was also buying a bag, whitch couldnt fit inside the bag i already had. Im guessing that was the problem.

Kolo
03-13-2003, 02:04 AM
Wierd Bug here...I created a level 1 Dwarf Warrior. Summoned a high-end sword, (suggested level 61) and the character went berserk and died. I thought it might have been the sword adding huge amounts of health and STA ...(hmm, now that I say that, it might take STA, didnt get a chance to look close at it). I figured it was the item, so I changed level to 50, then tried to summon another item, and it didnt show up on my cursor. I figure I typed something wrong or the item was incorrect, so I summoned it about 5 more times. I went berserk again, but did notice my health did not drop. Shortly after, I died, health still full. I respawned, died again...and thus begins the evil cycle that required I Alt-F4 EqWin to get out of because it wasnt letting me type anything before death.

Is the Emu coded so you lose life when berserk and/or when you repop does the berserk flag still stay? I not sure if it was the weapon, but I'll try it with another character tonight.

killspree
03-13-2003, 02:20 AM
It's coded that way, yes. Any item you try to equip that has a recommended level on a character below that level will slowly kill you. Or kill you fast if you don't have many hp. :p

Kolo
03-13-2003, 02:23 AM
Oh, gotcha :) thanks

OverKills
03-13-2003, 04:13 AM
New characters at low levels, after death are reverting to hitting for 1 point of damage. I'm still tracking this down. This wasn't happening on 4.2 on my server. I'm still trying to pin point it, will post more when I've got it nailed down.

Drawde
03-14-2003, 06:20 AM
There seems to be a bug with NPCs equipping items, if they have both a weapon and a shield (or two weapons to dual-wield) they will randomly equip one of the items, never both. This didn't happen with the earlier pre-release code.

Drawde
03-14-2003, 08:49 AM
A couple of other things:
Weapon skills don't seem to increase through use any more (offence and defence still do)
Quantity value doesn't work when using #summonitem to summon stackable items (you only get 1 item)

DeletedUser
03-14-2003, 10:47 AM
*WE* did NOT program the server to kill you with the required level. It is the client. It is doing weird things.

Kolo
03-14-2003, 11:00 AM
Thanks for clarification...Keep up the good work, still testing a few things :)

Trumpcard
03-14-2003, 01:25 PM
We screwed up on skillincreases... offense and defense are the only ones that will work at the moment.... A new skill function was created, and the old one was modified (and alot lost), but we never hooked in the new function.

Should have it fixed in CVS before to long.

Dolenz
03-19-2003, 11:44 AM
It's coded that way, yes. Any item you try to equip that has a recommended level on a character below that level will slowly kill you. Or kill you fast if you don't have many hp. :p

I have to wonder if that is what happened to my character on Foreverhacking. If it is what has happened then there is a problem in that as soon as I pop back into the world after death pain and suffering strike me again and I die before I even have a chance to correct the problem so I am stuck in a deathloop.

Also, if you want to prevent people from using these weapons could it not be coded to either just not equip the weapon or flash a text warning in the text box warning the player of the consequences? The deathloop I am in on foreverhacking is so quick I could not even petition it without logging another character on (which in my place means creating a new character)

Since this is my first post I do feel the need to at least end with a "GREAT WORK GUYS". Despite my first posts being in the bugs forum I do really appreciate the effort!

Dolenz
03-19-2003, 11:47 AM
I have my own private server going using the minilogin and Telmets databases (waiting for Drawde's newest) and have been playing arond with the Monk character.

When I hit level 5 I trained a point or 2 in round kick and tried to add it to a hotkey and it would not show up as an option. I ignored it and at level 10 I trained a point in Eagle Strike but once again I could not get the option to add it to a hotkey.

Is this something to do with training? Or maybe a problem with the hotkeys?

DeletedUser
03-21-2003, 02:41 AM
The doors having two clicks has to do with it retrieving in the database the current status of the door (open or closed), the problem is:
1) The door closes after 5 seconds and the db isnt updated
2) The zone shuts down or crashes and the door closes when it was opened.

It will be fixed soon, but its not a really serious bug...

Monrezz
03-21-2003, 09:31 AM
I am having the same problem as Dolenz.

If you #setallskill 252 or train in one point you still don't get the option in the hotkey window.

Fixit :o
Hehe.

Btw guys - combat is great in emu. Feels almost like EQlive - well done :P

Monrezz
03-21-2003, 09:32 AM
**SORRY double post**

Yoeman
04-16-2003, 01:59 PM
I have my own private server going using the minilogin and Telmets databases (waiting for Drawde's newest) and have been playing arond with the Monk character.

When I hit level 5 I trained a point or 2 in round kick and tried to add it to a hotkey and it would not show up as an option. I ignored it and at level 10 I trained a point in Eagle Strike but once again I could not get the option to add it to a hotkey.

Is this something to do with training? Or maybe a problem with the hotkeys?

I have the same issue. What we did on our server is a GM has to set your skill to the same as what the level would be. After that you will be able to hotkey it, and it will raise. This was with a 4.4 world btw. We are working on seeing if we can get a "quest" guy to set skills instead of having to have a GM on all the time.

The only problem we have now is it looks like it caps out at 50.

Trumpcard
04-16-2003, 07:08 PM
I'm looking at max_skill.h (where skill levels are now defined), ROUND_KICK , EAGLE, TIGER should all only have a max of 200 until 51, then a max of 230.

Those are the skills you're having the problem with , correct?

Yoeman
04-17-2003, 04:14 AM
Yea, they are the ones we are having problems with. Minor problems, but just things I noticed. I only got my Monk to level 23 so far as I spend a good portion of my time with him testing things that Lordrac and I make on our server. I used Round kick for a long time to test to see if it would rise, but after 2 levels it didn't budge. I just got Tail Rake <Dragon Punch> and will be playing with that to see if it gets higher than 51.

Trumpcard
04-17-2003, 05:50 AM
I'm guessing theres a flaw in the loop, and it's never making it to the right case for the monk skills...

I'll make a monk tonight and do a little testing and see if I can find it, should be pretty easy to track down... That maxskill condition is a MONSTER though...lol...

Trumpcard
04-17-2003, 03:04 PM
I just leveled a monk from 49 skill to 55 or more in round kick and tiger claw, so im not sure if its just an older version you guys are having problems with...

castamist
05-16-2003, 09:39 AM
EQwindows has a serious problem I see after trying to download a newest version....

It somehow erases sooooooo many files needed to even log on.
I've dealt with this problem for over 24 hours and it's created a EQ_missing_file.log because it viewed the files missing to be too many to download....

It's also downloaded files in patches for about 3 hours at a time twice.... honest.. i suggest NOT using this file... not until it's promised that the data is fixed!

Email me at castamist@hotmail.com if you have any insight to this terrible bug.

a_Guest03
05-16-2003, 10:07 AM
eqwindows? When it patches?? Your shortcut is wrong, then. It probably has a "start in" or something that is incorrect.

If you post more info, maybe I can help.