View Full Version : Having Problems with Lan Server
MagicalRage
04-02-2003, 10:37 AM
The only problem I can really tell is my server is locked... but there could be many more...
When I run MiniLogin it reads
LoginServer.ini read.
MiniLoginAccounts.ini read.
Server mode: Standalone
Login server listening on port:5999
When I run World.exe it reads
Using database 'eq' at localhost
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.4.4-DR1
[Error] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.4.4-DR1
Loading Variables, zone names & items...
Error in LoadVariables query 'SELECT varname, value, unix_timestamp() FROM variables where unix_timesptamp(ts) >=0' DBcore::RunQuery: No Result
EMuShareMem.dll loaded.
Loading items from database...
Error in LoadItemStatus query: 'Select id, minstatus from items where minstatus > 0'
...done.
LoginServer.ini read.
Loading guild ranks...done.
Loading EQ time of day..."./eqtime.cfg" is NOT a vaild EQTime file. File version is 0; EQTime version is 1000 - failed.
Deleted 0 stale player corpses from database.
Deleted -1 stale player backups from database.
Abort/retry/cancel?
TCP listening on: localhost:9000
World server listening on: localhost:9000
Connect to LoginServer: localhost:5999
Error: DBAsyncCB_LoadVariables failed: !GetAnswer: 'DBcore::RunQuery: No Result'
(it repeats the " Error: DBAsyncCB_LoadVariables failed: !GetAnswer: 'DBcore::RunQuery: No Result' " every few minutes)
When I run Boot5zones.bat it reads
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM: ****Read this first!!!****
C:\Games\EQEmu>
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM: This file requires your real IP in the place of "hosthere" when you are connecting
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM: To the EQEMu Loginserver.
C:\Games\EQEmu>
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM: When you are using minilogin, Replace all IP addresses to say 127.0.0.1
C:\Games\EQEmu>
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM: If ya still get errors try using localhost instead of 127.0.0.1
C:\Games\EQEmu>
C:\Games\EQEmu>REM:-------------Start!-------------------
The zone files reads
Using database 'eq' at localhost
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.4.4-DR1
[Error] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.4.4-DR1
[Status] Loading Variables
Error in LoadVariables query 'SELECT varname, value, unix_timestamp() FROM variables where unix_timesptamp(ts) >=0' DBcore::RunQuery: No Result
[Status] Loading zone names
[Status] Loading Items
EMuShareMem.dll loaded.
Error in LoadItemStatus query: 'Select id, minstatus from items where minstatus > 0'
[Status] Loading npcs
[Status] Loading npc faction lists
[Status] Loading loot tables
if there is anyother information ya need let me know please
thanks for anyhelp
MagicalRage
devlor
04-02-2003, 12:37 PM
From the surface, this appears to be a problem with your database (DB) loading. First, some questions:
What operating system are you using? Has it been updated recently?
What version of MySQL are you using?
Did you install it with all default opitions?
Have you done any of your own custom configurations to MySQL?
Have you made any changes to your DB other than the ones advised here?
Are you using Telmet's EQEMu Server v0.4.4-DR1 (http://www.darkangel.net/eqemunews/EQEmu-0.4.4-DR1+Telmet-Win32.zip) executables?
What DB file(s) did you source in to build your DB?
Next, I'd suggest posting the entire contents of the following files:
db.ini
LoginServer.ini
Boot5zones.bat
MiniLoginAccounts.ini
eqhost.txt
datarate.txt
Hopefully after you've posted back with this info., I or someone else can get a better idea of what's going on here (unless someone can already tell based on the info. you've already given?).
MagicalRage
04-02-2003, 12:58 PM
What operating system are you using? Windows 98
Has it been updated recently? not by me
What version of MySQL are you using? 3.23.56
when ya look at the enviroment tab in the MyODBC it had driver 3.51 missing so i downloaded it now it says
Not Found
Driver Version 03.51
Driver C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
API Level 2
Setup C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
SQL Level 1
On the Err File tab it reads
C:/MYSQL/bin/mysqld-opt.exe: ready for connections
C:/MYSQL/bin/mysqld-opt.exe: ready for connections
030328 19:49:14 C:/MYSQL/bin/mysqld-opt.exe: Shutdown Complete
030328 19:49:14 C:/MYSQL/bin/mysqld-opt.exe: Normal shutdown
http://www.innodb.com/ibman.html
the InnoDB startup options listed in section 2 at
But to get good performance you should adjust for your hardware
innodb_data_file_path = ibdata1:10M:autoextend
section, for example,
or my.ini. If you want to use InnoDB tables, add to the [mysqld]
to the [mysqld] section of init parameters in your my.cnf
skip-innodb
If you do not want to use transactional InnoDB tables, add a line
(I have no clue what it means)
Did you install it with all default opitions? i believe so
Have you done any of your own custom configurations to MySQL? none
Have you made any changes to your DB other than the ones advised here? none
Are you using Telmet's EQEMu Server v0.4.4-DR1 executables? yes
What DB file(s) did you source in to build your DB?
create database eq;
use eq;
source drdb2_2.sql;
INSERT INTO account SET name='eqemu', password='eqemu', status=200;
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO '%'@127.0.0.1 IDENTIFIED BY '%' WITH GRANT OPTION;
I did that just like you had posted
db.ini
# READ README.TXT!
[Database]
host=localhost
user=MagicalRage
password=******
database=eq
compression=off
### --- This file tells world.exe what computer mySQL is on. Host should
### --- be left "localhost" unless mysql is on a differant computer than world.exe.
LoginServer.ini
### --- This file tells world.exe what loginserver to connect to.
### --- Leave the account and password field BLANK.
### --- Public Login is un-supported as is LAN playing. We reccomend using the EQEmu.net Loginserver ALWAYS.
### --- NOTE: Starting 6-1-2002, you can no longer use the word "Server" in worldname.
### --- NOTE2: the word "Server" is added to each server automaticly.
# READ README.TXT
[LoginServer]
loginserver=localhost
loginserver2=localhost
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=Pwnage Zek
worldaddress=localhost
locked=false
account=
password=
[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=
[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=
Boot5zones.bat
REM: ****Read this first!!!****
REM: This file requires your real IP in the place of "hosthere" when you are connecting
REM: To the EQEmu Loginserver.
REM: When you are using minilogin, Replace all IP Addresses to say 127.0.0.1
REM: If you still get errors try using localhost instead of 127.0.0.1
REM:--------------Start-----------------------
@echo off
if NOT exist spells_en.txt goto NOSPELL
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7995 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7996 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7997 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7998 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7999 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8000 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8001 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8002 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8003 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8004 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8005 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8006 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8007 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8008 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 8009 127.0.0.1
exit
cls
:NOSPELL
echo You did not copy the spells_en.txt from your everquest directory to this one. Please do so or zones will crash on startup.
PAUSE
REM:---------------END------------------------
MiniLoginAccounts.ini
localhost eqemu eqemu
eqhost.txt
[Registration Servers]
{
"localhost:5999"
}
[Login Servers]
{
"localhost:5999"
}
datarate.txt
10.0
devlor
04-02-2003, 01:50 PM
Well, based on what you said about the missing driver, I'm fairly convinced this is a DB issue. However, I suspect it has to do with your MySQL setup rather than the DB itself. First off, let's try the easiest possible solution: did you reboot after installing MySQL & the drivers? I had to do this upon installing to get it working right.
If that doesn't help, then I'd say it is related to MySQL itself. In which case, uninstall MySQL & re-install it again, now that you have the proper drivers installed. Now before uninstalling MySQL, you should first drop your database through mysql.exe, then stop the service from running. Do that by right-clicking the winmysqladmin.exe icon in the taskbar (if it's not there, start up winmysqladmin.exe, let it minimize, then right-click), & telling it to stop the service. Now it's safe to uninstall MySQL. Once done, go to your C:\Windows\ directory & delete the my.ini file. Also check if there's a my.cnf file in your C:\ (root) directory; if so, delete that too. Reboot.
Re-install MySQL & reboot again. Once done staring at the Windows bootup logo again, start up winmysqladmin.exe if it hasn't already & enter in the same user name & password you used in your db.ini file.
Just to eliminate the possibility that there's something wrong with your DB itself, I've posted my complete initial DB to my FTP (I'll be taking this down in a few days, so get it while it's there). You can download it (1.46 MB) from this link (http://home.earthlink.net/~devlor/files/eqbackup00.exe). To use this, drop your old database, create a new one, & source this in. Afterwards, you can source in your character data backup if you have one. Now, this is precisely what I'm running on my setup, so I know for a fact it works very well.
If all of this doesn't solve your problems, then I'm afraid someone else with more technical expertise in this department is going to have to help you, because that's the best I can think of at the moment. :?
MagicalRage
04-02-2003, 03:45 PM
Could you please elaborate on "drop your database through mysql.exe" and "stop the service from running"
when i right-click on the icon in the taskbar i get
show me
Win 9x
Win 9x has Shutdow Tool, Server, or Both (no stop service)
"check if there's a my.cnf file in your C:\ (root) directory"
don't really understand that either...
Could you also elaborate on how i would create a new database and source in your's
is a character data backup something i need .. i dont think i have one as of yet
highly appreciating all the help
Thanks
MagicalRage
04-02-2003, 03:56 PM
I can get all the way to the screen where i can see my server is locked. I tried to log in anyway and it says something about my luclin files being in the wrong place .. or unable to be located .. im not sure what to do about that ... i uninstalled all of EQ and reinstalled just to the EQEMu\EQGame file that you have mentioned but i still get that message. It tried to load me into the server anyway and i get a 1017 error and from there im clueless still.
devlor
04-03-2003, 06:36 AM
OK, since I'm running Windows XP, what I see when right-clicking the winmysqladmin.exe icon in the taskbar seems to be slightly different than what you're seeing in Windows 98 (for instance, "Show Me" & "WinNT"). Thus, just use your best judgement here & translate what I'm telling you here with what you see on your screen (it shouldn't be terribly different; even if so, you're not going to break anything; you'll be uninstalling MySQL & re-installing it anyway).
First off, start by dropping your current eq database. Do that by going to your ...\MySQL\bin directory from a command prompt window & typing in: drop database eq; (this is assuming you named your database eq). For more explicit instructions on backing up & restoring your databases, click here (http://forums.eqemu.net/viewtopic.php?p=29631&highlight=#29631).
When you right-click on the winmysqladmin.exe icon in the taskbar, you want to shutdown the server before uninstalling MySQL. The reason for this is because when I uninstalled MySQL in the past without doing this, upon rebooting I was getting an error message stating a certain file/setting could not be found (since the service thought it should still be running). After you shut down the server, right-click the taskbar icon again & see if it gives you an option to shut anything else down. Do that until the only option left to shut anything down is the tool itself. Do so. Now uninstall MySQL.
Next use the Windows Find tool (in your Start Menu or just hit the F3 key) & do a search for files named: my.ini. Once done, delete all instances of this file (should be only one). Repeat by searching for files named my.cnf. Delete if any are present. Reboot.
After rebooting, re-install MySQL. Reboot again. The winmysqladmin.exe should start up automatcally prompting you for a user name & password (if it doesn't, go to your ...\MySQL\bin\ folder & double-click winmysqladmin.exe. Enter in the exact same password (matching case) as you did in your db.ini file (in your EQEmu folder).
Once you've done all this, go back to my instructions (http://forums.eqemu.net/viewtopic.php?p=35144#35144) for setting up a local server, starting at step # 13. Everything else you'll need to do will be covered there.
Just one more thing, what you're saying here:
I can get all the way to the screen where i can see my server is locked. I tried to log in anyway and it says something about my luclin files being in the wrong place .. or unable to be located .. im not sure what to do about that ... i uninstalled all of EQ and reinstalled just to the EQEMu\EQGame file that you have mentioned but i still get that message. It tried to load me into the server anyway and i get a 1017 error and from there im clueless still.
... looks like you may be using files that are incompatible with EQEmu. Did you run the EQEmu patcher I have listed in steps 8 & 9 of my setup walkthrough (http://forums.eqemu.net/viewtopic.php?p=35144#35144)? If, after doing the above, you still get this error, run the (EQEmu) patcher again to be sure. Make sure to double-check all of your EQEmu config files (db.ini, LoginServer.ini, Boot5zones.bat, MiniLoginAccounts.ini, eqhost.txt, & datarate.txt) first! I know that the EQEmu patcher will change your eqhost.txt file, so if you don't double-check these, you won't be able to connect to your own local server.
Also, since you said you re-installed EQ (not really necessary, by the way, if you'd followed my instructions in steps 1-4, you already had an updated backup to copy from), you did make sure to patch it again using the EQLive patcher first, right? You should probably review all the steps I have listed in my setup guide (http://forums.eqemu.net/viewtopic.php?p=35144#35144) to be sure you haven't skipped over something. All of these steps need to be done in precisely the order I have them listed. If not, there will be... problems. ;)
MagicalRage
04-03-2003, 08:51 AM
ok .. having more problems now
i uninstalled mysql and reinstalled it as you said
when i look at the enviroment tab in the MyODBC box I still see
Not Found
Driver Version 03.51
Driver C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
API Level 2
Setup C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
SQL Level 1
I downloaded your database and it installed into mysql folder so I sourced it in using
create database eq;
use eq;
source eqbackup00.sql;
then when i tried the insert into account line ... it got an error
Error1062: Duplicate entry 'eqemu' for key 2
anyway i continued onto the grant all privileges line and it seemed like it worked ... but when i ran world.exe it immediatly closed which it wasnt doing before .. and has the access denied for user Magicalrage@localhost
dont know what to do about it ...?
devlor
04-03-2003, 10:01 AM
Concerning this:
I downloaded your database and it installed into mysql folder so I sourced it in using
create database eq;
use eq;
source eqbackup00.sql;
then when i tried the insert into account line ... it got an error
Error1062: Duplicate entry 'eqemu' for key 2
anyway i continued onto the grant all privileges line and it seemed like it worked ... but when i ran world.exe it immediatly closed which it wasnt doing before .. and has the access denied for user Magicalrage@localhost
dont know what to do about it ...?
The duplicate entry is expected, & harmless. If you'll refer back to my setup instructions, step # 14 says:
(if the last step, the GRANT... command, gives you an access denied error, exit out of mysql.exe & open it again via the command prompt with mysql.exe --user=root eq)
... so try that & then the GRANT... command again. I had to do this when I upgraded to MySQL version 4.
As far as this goes:
i uninstalled mysql and reinstalled it as you said
when i look at the enviroment tab in the MyODBC box I still see
Not Found
Driver Version 03.51
Driver C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
API Level 2
Setup C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\myodbc3.dll
SQL Level 1
This appears to be a problem with some missing driver files, or improper versions that's causing a conflict with the proper functioning of MySQL. You're probably going to have to seek MySQL-specific help on this (I'm not expert, myself), if no one else here can help you with that. Consult the MySQL documentation or one of the MySQL help/support forums online (I found one by doing a quick search here (http://forums.phpfreaks.com/viewforum.php?f=3)). I'm afraid I can't offer much help on this.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.