PDA

View Full Version : Somewhat of a Newbie Question

RevlinXevlin
06-09-2003, 08:11 AM
My question is I'm sure something that has been asked but I didn't find a link so post one as a reply if you know of it.

What would it take, programming wise, to get EQEMU up to where EQLive is right now, with respect to expansions and zone access, and player races ?

If my question is a little confusing as I wasn't sure what exactly to say let me know and I'll try to say it differently.

06-09-2003, 01:30 PM
Ok, it is still version 0.4.3-4, so, it still has a long way to go, but, has come a long way as well... I understand programming and know that creating an exact copy of a program that you have only seen a side of and no source has to be hard..

RevlinXevlin
06-10-2003, 03:02 AM
Agreed that it still has a ways to go, but what is needed programming wise (as I have a couple years C++ experience) to be done in order to bring it on par with EQlive servers ?

Merth
06-10-2003, 03:49 AM
I recently started dinking around with EQEMu, so I'm not sure. However, this has been my guess:

Late last year, SOE implemented a packet security scheme for communicating between client and server. You can read plenty about it on the ShowEQ forums, but here's a generic overview, as I understand it:

Packets are now encrypted using a key that can't be reasonably brute forced. This key is generated on SOE servers using whatever algorithm they chose. Their algorithm is obviously not publicized, may even change every few patches. The client needs the key to decrypt the packets, but the key is transmitted using some compression mechanism that i believe has not yet been determined - and again, may even change from patch to patch.