Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 05:03 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default Questions on some source code

I am looking at

http://projecteqemu.googlecode.com/s...one/maxskill.h

Take a look for example at this:

Code:
 // Hybrids
        case RANGER: case RANGERGM:{
              r_value = 5 + (level*5);
              if ( level > 50 ){
                if ( r_value > 250 )
                  r_value = 250;
                switch (skillid) {
                  case PIERCING:{
                    if ( r_value > 240 )
                      r_value = 240;
                    break;
                  }
                  default: break;
                }
              }
If I am reading this right, if ranger ever gets skill in piercing above 240, its forcefully treated as 240 MAX.
Same thing happens to say priests hand to hand skill, which is force caped at 75 etc.

Now I am confused, if that is so, then Skill table in Db is rather useless. If go in and set custom skill caps per level for various classes (like giving priests same hand to hand skill per level as monks have), they would be irrelevant, as this little part of source code above will effectively ignore them, and cap my skills anyway.

Shouldn't server just read the proper values from the Db skill table, cause that what its for? In other words, this forceful capping contradicts supposed freedom of customization granted by the skills table.

Would any devs care to comment?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 05:15 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Looks like an old header file that isn't used any more. The one that is used is

zone/client.cpp
Code:
int16 Client::MaxSkill(SkillType skillid, int16 class_, int16 level) const {
        return(database.GetSkillCap(class_, skillid, level));
}
Delete zone/maxskill.h and everything still compiles, ergo it isn't used anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:05 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

ah cool, false alarm then =)
Thanks Derision! =)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3