Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bug Reports

Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2006, 09:36 PM
Tigatupa
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Magician pet heals

Magican pet heal remove buffs, such as - Burnout and DS .. Was wondering if that what it's supposed to do ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2006, 10:45 PM
Zengez
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

I have the same problem on my server with all buffs, and no, it's not suppose to do that
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2006, 10:28 AM
Magoth78
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 345
Default

This post should be moved to Bug reports.

There is a code fix:

spells_effects.cpp, line 1326

change:
Code:
if (effect_value >= buffs[j].poisoncounters){
to:
Code:
if (buffs[j].poisoncounters>0 && effect_value >= buffs[j].poisoncounters) {
Mag
__________________
User's projects:
-- Original EMPIRE I/II and Factions! servers
-- Web GM Portal
-- EQoffline/bots
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:20 PM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

are you suggesting that the buffs which are being stripped off have negative poison counters?

as the previous line:
if (buffs[j].poisoncounters == 0)
skips anything with 0 poison counters...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:41 PM
Magoth78
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 345
Default

Hello fathernitwit,

Doodman helped me on this one and, since, it seems to work, atleast for me.

As this bug was totally random, I think that sometimes the poisoncounter on a buff is updated even it doesn't have any poisoncounter base.

Like you said:
if (buffs[j].poisoncounters == 0) // skips anything with 0 poison counters. I've made some tests and didn't see the pet heal spells dispelling a buff the first time the heal is casted.

When the bug occurs.. it matches with the next statement:
if (effect_value >= buffs[j].poisoncounters) {

The effect_value is -10 for the pet's heal spell, so if the statement isn't matched the first time I cast the spell but after (and still randomly), that means the poisoncounters on the buff has been updated, signed. Am I right?

Now, why is the buff.poisoncounters is updated whereas the buff hasn't any poisoncounter base ? I don't know but I'm actually trying to find this out.

Mag
__________________
User's projects:
-- Original EMPIRE I/II and Factions! servers
-- Web GM Portal
-- EQoffline/bots

Last edited by Magoth78; 08-17-2006 at 05:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2006, 04:28 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

hmm... you might be on to something.. I just made a quick change to zero out the counter fields in a buff slot when we put a new spell into it, please test it and report back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3