Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Windows Servers

Archive::Windows Servers Archive area for Windows Servers's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2004, 05:56 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default any kind souls?

any kind soul have a copy of dr3 with perl compiled with the zone_id=0 bug fixed? really would like to be able to work on my server without crashing every time i zone.
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2004, 06:05 AM
mattmeck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If someone has this and needs hosting for it I will host it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:14 AM
toolh3
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Default

Here's my compiled version which uses a variation of screamingogre's fix for the zone_id=0 problem. You can get the world.exe file here. The only difference I made is that it waits up to 20 seconds to get a zone_id that's not equal to zero rather than running through a counter. Here is the code incase anyone is interested.

In client.cpp in the World project replace the line
Code:
charid = database.GetCharacterInfo(char_name, &tmpaccid, &zoneID);
with this:

Code:
__time64_t curtime1,curtime2;
_time64(&curtime1);		
do
{				
   charid = database.GetCharacterInfo(char_name, &tmpaccid, &zoneID);				
   _time64(&curtime2);
}while(curtime2 - curtime1 <= 20 && zoneID == 0);
Nothing fancy, just a quick fix for now so we can zone without locking up.

Edit: Removed link as the file has been removed. Look my post later in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:29 AM
toolh3
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Default

By the way, I would only suggest using this world.exe if you are just running locally. If I understand the code correctly, that do while loop will be executed every time someone zones. So if you've got 2 people zoning and the first one ends up timing out (20 secs later and the zone_id still equals 0), then the second person has to wait 20 seconds to zone. Am I thinking correctly about this? I've just starting looking at the code today so I'm not exactly sure how it is working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:32 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

it works for moveing arround and getting a few things setup till a official fix is avil..thanks much.. if ya got a compile done with the perl questing included post it up..
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:41 AM
toolh3
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Default

I just took the dr3 cvs source and that's what I used. I don't know anything about the perl stuff. Is that in DR3?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:43 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

it the new questing system.. shawn had a version with dr2, not sure if it got scraped already or not
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:47 AM
toolh3
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Default

I'm looking into it right now. It seems I need to get perl and then change some build settings. It looks like it just deals with zone.exe.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2004, 08:53 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

cools cant wait
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2004, 10:05 AM
toolh3
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Default

Ok wize and I tested a few things to make sure quests are working before I posted the link to the binaries. The file is here.
This has a world.exe that has a temp fix for the zone_id bug and a zone.exe with perl quest support. I included EMuShareMem.dll just incase. It may not be needed. No support for these by the way! Just trying to help the few of those out there with some problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3