|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days. |

04-29-2002, 09:58 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
|
|
C/C++ Compile Issues
Ok, finally got down to one measly little error. Cannot find input file zlib.lib. I copied zlib.lib to the common, world, and zone folders, but didn't work. I looked throughout the source code and couldn't even find where the file is called. What's the problem?
BTW, I posted in the sticky thread for help, but was never replied to. Sorry to add more useless jibber-jabber to the board.
|

04-29-2002, 04:20 PM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
|
|
You need to add the directory for zlib to the lib path..
Think in VC6 you do it in project->settings...
Do a google search on including a lib in vc6, you should find something.. Been awhile since I played with the code on win32, so cant exactly remember...
|

04-29-2002, 04:40 PM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
|
|
or put zlib in the libs dir.
that would be the easiest way.
|

05-02-2002, 10:17 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
|
|
In MSVC++ the folder where it resides needs to be referenced under Library Files - Tools->Options then Directories tab.
|

05-03-2002, 08:46 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
|
|
Ok, last problem (I hope). Server compiles fine, but when it runs, it says that it cannot find DB.ini and to see the readme. Well, there was no readme (in C++ project there was, but when I clicked it, it said there is no file called readme.txt) and I tried putting DB.ini from the executables in every single source code folder with no luck. Does anyone know how to implement DB.ini?
|

05-03-2002, 09:43 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
|
|
db.ini is used when you actually run the server, not during compiling.
Are you replacing the World.exe and ZoneNT.exe files in the binary distribution folder or are you trying to run them on their own?
|

05-03-2002, 10:30 AM
|
 |
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
|
|
My Current issue is while compiling of World.exe i get the following error
LIBCMTD.lib(dbgheap.obj) : error LNK2005: _malloc already defined in
and heaps others following that (1
and
LINK : warning LNK4098: defaultlib "LIBCMTD" conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB:library
../Build/WorldGF.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found
anyone able to tell me how to fix this? been way tooo long since ive done any C coding (Borland C++ was still dos only, and uh whats windows? )
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.
Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
|

05-03-2002, 11:13 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
|
|
Boogahed - I know that db.ini is not used during complie. Thr program compiles, but when I run that program it gives me the error. I'm trying to run in a seperate folder (the projects "build" folder). You know when you compile and run at the same time in MSVC6? Anyway, I only copied over the db.ini file from the downloaded binary files. Plus, after I compile, C does not make a world.exe (is it supposed to), only a zonent.exe
|

05-03-2002, 12:06 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
|
|
You have to set the active configuration for the exe you want to Build. It can be found under Build->Set Active Configuration.
Ive been setting mine for "World - Win32 Release" for World.exe and "Zone - Win32 Release" for ZoneNT.exe
Did you try backing up your original World.exe and ZoneNT.exe files and then overwriting them in the binary folder with the new compiled ones?
|

05-03-2002, 02:03 PM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
|
|
if you use vc 6...
goto projecyt/settings click the link tab, pull down category to input.
under ignore libraries put: LIBCMT
i got this first time i ever downloaded the source.
|

05-03-2002, 02:05 PM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDreamX
You know when you compile and run at the same time in MSVC6? Anyway, I only copied over the db.ini file from the downloaded binary files. Plus, after I compile, C does not make a world.exe (is it supposed to), only a zonent.exe
|
if you right click in the explorer window on the left build all you should get all the projects built in the workspace(world.exe + zone??.exe).
and when you run them(from the build dir), you will probably need your loginserver.ini too.
|

05-03-2002, 04:52 PM
|
 |
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
|
|
Thanks Stry
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.
Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
|

05-03-2002, 05:23 PM
|
Hill Giant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
|
|

np
|
 |
|
 |

05-04-2002, 06:20 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
|
|
Arggg. Someone really needs to write a readme for the code or something. Finally got zonent.exe compiled, but now when I go to compile world.exe, I get the following errors...
--------------------Configuration: World - Win32 Release--------------------
Compiling...
client.cpp
C:\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\World\client.cpp(499) : error C2601: 'EnterWorld' : local function definitions are illegal
C:\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\World\client.cpp(499) : fatal error C1903: unable to recover from previous error(s); stopping compilation
Error executing cl.exe.
Creating browse info file...
BSCMAKE: error BK1506 : cannot open file '\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\Build\World\client.sbr': No such file or directory
Error executing bscmake.exe.
World.exe - 3 error(s), 0 warning(s)
BTW, I haven't even started to change code yet, so all these errors I've been fixing have been from the orignal download. How did anyone else compile these w/o problems? hehe
|
 |
|
 |

05-04-2002, 07:27 AM
|
 |
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
|
|
Compiled perfect for me (zone.exe) world was only that one error listed above and the fix worked perfect.
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.
Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |