Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Development

Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2002, 09:58 AM
TheDreamX
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Default C/C++ Compile Issues

Ok, finally got down to one measly little error. Cannot find input file zlib.lib. I copied zlib.lib to the common, world, and zone folders, but didn't work. I looked throughout the source code and couldn't even find where the file is called. What's the problem?

BTW, I posted in the sticky thread for help, but was never replied to. Sorry to add more useless jibber-jabber to the board.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2002, 04:20 PM
Trumpcard
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
Default

You need to add the directory for zlib to the lib path..

Think in VC6 you do it in project->settings...


Do a google search on including a lib in vc6, you should find something.. Been awhile since I played with the code on win32, so cant exactly remember...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2002, 04:40 PM
strychn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
Default

or put zlib in the libs dir.
that would be the easiest way.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2002, 10:17 AM
Boogahed
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
Default

In MSVC++ the folder where it resides needs to be referenced under Library Files - Tools->Options then Directories tab.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2002, 08:46 AM
TheDreamX
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Default

Ok, last problem (I hope). Server compiles fine, but when it runs, it says that it cannot find DB.ini and to see the readme. Well, there was no readme (in C++ project there was, but when I clicked it, it said there is no file called readme.txt) and I tried putting DB.ini from the executables in every single source code folder with no luck. Does anyone know how to implement DB.ini?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2002, 09:43 AM
Boogahed
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
Default

db.ini is used when you actually run the server, not during compiling.
Are you replacing the World.exe and ZoneNT.exe files in the binary distribution folder or are you trying to run them on their own?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2002, 10:30 AM
devn00b's Avatar
devn00b
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
Default

My Current issue is while compiling of World.exe i get the following error

LIBCMTD.lib(dbgheap.obj) : error LNK2005: _malloc already defined in

and heaps others following that (1

and

LINK : warning LNK4098: defaultlib "LIBCMTD" conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB:library
../Build/WorldGF.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found

anyone able to tell me how to fix this? been way tooo long since ive done any C coding (Borland C++ was still dos only, and uh whats windows? )
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.

Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2002, 11:13 AM
TheDreamX
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Default

Boogahed - I know that db.ini is not used during complie. Thr program compiles, but when I run that program it gives me the error. I'm trying to run in a seperate folder (the projects "build" folder). You know when you compile and run at the same time in MSVC6? Anyway, I only copied over the db.ini file from the downloaded binary files. Plus, after I compile, C does not make a world.exe (is it supposed to), only a zonent.exe
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2002, 12:06 PM
Boogahed
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 28
Default

You have to set the active configuration for the exe you want to Build. It can be found under Build->Set Active Configuration.
Ive been setting mine for "World - Win32 Release" for World.exe and "Zone - Win32 Release" for ZoneNT.exe

Did you try backing up your original World.exe and ZoneNT.exe files and then overwriting them in the binary folder with the new compiled ones?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-2002, 02:03 PM
strychn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
Default

if you use vc 6...
goto projecyt/settings click the link tab, pull down category to input.
under ignore libraries put: LIBCMT
i got this first time i ever downloaded the source.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-03-2002, 02:05 PM
strychn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDreamX
You know when you compile and run at the same time in MSVC6? Anyway, I only copied over the db.ini file from the downloaded binary files. Plus, after I compile, C does not make a world.exe (is it supposed to), only a zonent.exe
if you right click in the explorer window on the left build all you should get all the projects built in the workspace(world.exe + zone??.exe).
and when you run them(from the build dir), you will probably need your loginserver.ini too.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-03-2002, 04:52 PM
devn00b's Avatar
devn00b
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
Default

Thanks Stry
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.

Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-03-2002, 05:23 PM
strychn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 129
Default


np
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-04-2002, 06:20 AM
TheDreamX
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Default

Arggg. Someone really needs to write a readme for the code or something. Finally got zonent.exe compiled, but now when I go to compile world.exe, I get the following errors...

--------------------Configuration: World - Win32 Release--------------------
Compiling...
client.cpp
C:\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\World\client.cpp(499) : error C2601: 'EnterWorld' : local function definitions are illegal
C:\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\World\client.cpp(499) : fatal error C1903: unable to recover from previous error(s); stopping compilation
Error executing cl.exe.
Creating browse info file...
BSCMAKE: error BK1506 : cannot open file '\My Stuff\Projects\Visual C++\eqemu-0.3.1.1-source\Build\World\client.sbr': No such file or directory
Error executing bscmake.exe.

World.exe - 3 error(s), 0 warning(s)

BTW, I haven't even started to change code yet, so all these errors I've been fixing have been from the orignal download. How did anyone else compile these w/o problems? hehe
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-2002, 07:27 AM
devn00b's Avatar
devn00b
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 15,658
Default

Compiled perfect for me (zone.exe) world was only that one error listed above and the fix worked perfect.
__________________
(Former)Senior EQEMu Developer
GuildWars Co-Founder / World Builder.
World Builder and Co-Founder Zek [PVP/Guild Wars/City Takeovers]
Member of the "I hate devn00b" Club
Most Senior EQEMu Member.

Current Work: EverQuest 2 Emulator. Zeklabs Server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3