Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:52 PM
rainwalkerx
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 5
Default Recurring Problem

Hey Everyone,

I've been trying to get a public server up and running over the course of about 100 hours over the past year and half. Still no luck. Actually, I think I may have had it working the other day, briefly, but I decided to delete the day's work so that I could repeat the "working" process. Now it doesn't work anymore. Here's the error that I've struggled with for the past 15 months:

Code:
main@userv:~/eqserver$ ./start
+ LNAME=zone
+ [  = test ]
+ pwd
+ P=/home/main/eqserver
+ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=:/home/main/eqserver
+ mkdir -p logs
+ [ ! -e .lock-zones -a ! -e .lock-world ]
+ [ logs/eqemu_*.log = logs/eqemu_commands_zone.log ]
+ rm -f logs/eqemu_*.log
+ [ ! -e .lock-world ]
+ touch .lock-world
+ + sleep 15
./persist_world
./persist_world: 14: ./world: Permission denied
./persist_world: 14: ./world: Permission denied
The "Permission denied" message just keeps looping. I've used a great blend of guides in trying to set this up and since they haven't been much updated (and since I'm inexperienced with linux) I have no idea where potential errors may be.

If I had to guess, I'd guess it was an issue with MySQL, because the day that I *thought* I had it finally working, I think I may have had it hooked up to an old PEQ database (I've been experimenting with ax_classic for the last few months). My eqemu source, including all files, are from ax_classic but, since I've been getting this error with every single package I've ever tried (including stock eqemulator.net), I don't think it's specific to ax_classic.

Huge thanks, in advance.

rainwalker
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2009, 02:30 PM
Kobaz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gold Coast, Oz
Posts: 119
Default

Does the problem go away if you run the server as root? If so the problem is that you've got file permissions or ownership messed up. Check that the targets of symlinks belong to the user you are running as, and that directories have execute permission for the user you are running as.

Since you say you don't know much about linux, you may have to do some reading on the unix permissions system, and the chown and chmod commands.

If running as root does make the problem go away, try to avoid the temptation to simply run as root all the time - this is the easiest way to have your box owned.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2009, 03:18 PM
gaeorn
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 478
Default

One more thing to check is if world has the executable bit set. If not, it could give that error even if you run as root.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2009, 03:53 PM
pfyon's Avatar
pfyon
Discordant
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 495
Default

Try:
chmod +x world

If that doesn't work, try running as root. If that does work, you have to create a user and give it permissions to run that file.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2009, 04:34 PM
rainwalkerx
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Kobaz, gaeorn, and pfyon. Still getting the same error.

I tried the following two ways to run it as root:
Code:
main@userv:~/eqserver$ sudo ./start
main@userv:~/eqserver$ su root
main@userv:~/eqserver$ ./start
Also, a couple times throughout the installation, when permissions seemed incorrect, I ran this:
Code:
main@userv:~/eqserver$ sudo chown -R main:root /home/main/eqserver
main@userv:~/eqserver$ sudo chmod -R 775 /home/main/eqserver
...per one of the guide's instructions. Shouldn't that have made sure that my user had correct permissions? After this, I also selected all of the items in the folder, right-clicked, and check that executable option.

I also tried your suggestion, pfyon, in both the main eqserver directory and eqserver/world directory.

That's why all of this leads me to suspect that it's something to do with MySQL. I might receive some kind of permission denied error if "db.ini" file had incorrect settings, right? But if that were true, I should be able to just put my root account settings in and it ought to work, right? That hasn't worked, either. So I think that that file is ok but I'm wondering if there's a problem with my MySQL user or database. Or maybe I just have no idea what I'm talking about

Anyway, would it be useful for me to post my entire setup procedure? I can download/use whatever files you all recommend or I can just tell you which ones I've been using.

Thanks again,
rainwalker

P.S. - Kobaz - how do I check the targets of the sym links?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2009, 04:47 PM
rainwalkerx
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, maybe some progress. I tried running an ancient "bootserver" file leftover from a previous attempt and this time a world.log file was generated. I check it out and this is what it said:

Code:
[Debug] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_debug_world.log
[Debug] [COMMON__THREADS] Starting TCPServerLoop with thread ID -1215403120
[Debug] [COMMON__THREADS] Starting TCPServerLoop with thread ID -1223795824
[Debug] [RULES__CHANGE] Resetting running rules to default values
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT] Loading server configuration..
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT] Log settings loaded from log.ini
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.7.0
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT] Connecting to MySQL...
[Error] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_error_world.log
[Error] Failed to connect to database: Error: #1045: Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT_ERR] Cannot continue without a database connection.
[Debug] [COMMON__THREADS] Ending TCPServerLoop with thread ID -1223795824
[Debug] [COMMON__THREADS] Ending TCPServerLoop with thread ID -1215403120
The interesting part is that I don't have a user named 'eq' in MySQL. Perhaps I created one a long time ago but not via Webmin nor MySQL do I see a user called 'eq' anywhere. Is there (hopefully) a really easy way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2009, 04:54 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Quote:
[Error] Failed to connect to database: Error: #1045: Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
That means that your config file for the server has eq set as the username to get into the database, which is the default username in that file. This probably means that you did not edit your config file, which you definitely need to do before the server will work.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2009, 05:04 PM
rainwalkerx
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks trevius. Well, I think I edited the eqemu_config.xml files correctly. When I run that old bootserver file, though, it still shows me as trying to connect with user 'eq'. Which other files was I supposed to edit?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3