Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Development

Archive::Development Archive area for Development's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2002, 03:42 AM
Wiz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 583
Default Some thoughts on HP packets

If you've ever played EQlive, you'll know how much of a bitch the HP bars are. They move slowly, update slowly, and in some cases don't update at all.

I was thinking of how much faster EQemu HP bars are, which obviously is related to HP packet sending. Then I thought of why VI would make it so.

The only reasonable conclusion would really be to reduce the lag induced by 30 people meleeing something. If 30 people meleed with 20 delay weapons and 100% haste, the amount of hp packets sent to each one of them would be enormous, and a very probable lag-inducing cause.

So, I'm wondering - is this one of the reasons uberend fights wouldn't work on EQemu? Is there any way to work around it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2002, 04:01 AM
DeletedUser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 0
Default

Could always put hp updates on a timer....

The packet isnt that big:

/*
** Spawn HP Update
** Length: 12 Bytes
** OpCode: b220
*/
struct SpawnHPUpdate_Struct
{
/*00*/ int16 spawn_id; // Id of spawn to update
/*02*/ int16 shu_unknown1; // ***Placeholder
/*04*/ sint32 cur_hp; // Current hp of spawn
/*08*/ sint32 max_hp; // Maximum hp of spawn
};


12 bytes... your connection (if you were 56k) is 56000 bytes/second.

I highly doubt this is the problem
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2002, 09:06 AM
Wiz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 583
Default

It's that tiny? Won't be a lag problem at all then, even in the above situation.

Speaking of that, with mob roaming, what exactly is causing the server strain? The amount of NPC's "in movement"?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2002, 09:19 AM
DeletedUser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 0
Default

I think it has to do with them having nice OC3's and we are running off of DSL's, I believe that they may not send all attack packets, they obviousely have smoother npc pathing ( I would believe that would mean they send more packet updates ).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2002, 03:42 PM
Wiz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 583
Default

Yeah... but position updates aren't that much bigger, are they? And animations can't be that bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2002, 05:24 AM
mByte
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 206
Default

The all add up eventually
__________________
mByte
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3