Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Database/World Building

Archive::Database/World Building Archive area for General Discussion's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2003, 06:27 AM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default how to make it for multiple user logins (lan server)??

My server is working to the point that I can log into it myself. The only problem is that no matter what user/pass is used it'll log into the same account (which means all characters would be usable by anyone). I've added two different accounts to MySQL and flagged them both but that doesn't help. I've also tried with and without a miniloginaccounts.ini but that doesn't seem to make a difference either.

Anyone help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2003, 06:37 AM
Arley McFarley
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 46
Default

I had similar problems.
Make sure you change the account id field in the database, using the Admin tool... I used v3.9 to fix my problem.

Some posts I read said to make sure your primary login account is value of 0.
I added six other computers on the LAN and had to give each computer ONLY one login account... which means 8 characters. I gave each computer a different value in the account id field (far right of the Admin tool screen).

I used 0 for the primary account and 1 for the next PC, 2 for the next PC, etc., through 5 for the others.

AND, I noticed that the account names cannot be 10 characters long. I went up to 8 characters for the account name and it worked.

ALSO, make sure you have each computer listed in your miniloginaccounts file.

Arley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2003, 08:01 AM
brainleacher
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I've also noticed that it's accepts 8 char max for account name. Also, make sure that the password listed in the minilogin config file matches the password in your sql table.

I created the accounts by hand in the sql table. Just make sure you increment the IDs manually, since I'm using table def for 4.2, the world -adduser command doesn't work.

Also, it doesn't matter what password you type in, it just picks the first IP match out of the config file and uses the username and password in there to log into the db. This kinds blows, cuz I would like to have multiple accounts per IP, but that doesn't seem to be supported yet..

- Brainleacher
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2003, 10:25 AM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

thanks for the help guys (or girls)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2003, 11:37 AM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

didn't work. But I have more understanding so I hope I can bring a few things to light to help you understand my problem.

I can get multiple accounts to work by changing the user/pass that my IP is associated with in miniloginaccounts.ini. But I still have the problem of getting a user on another computer logged in (host can log in fine, clients can't). I've added the accounts into the ini file, looks like:
141.109.80.100 Loganil loganil

If I use the host IP instead of the clients it logs in fine, otherwise it'll kick the client out with a 1017 error.

NOTE: The most important thing I noticed (IMO) was the in the minilogin.exe file is did the standard trying to connect and then disconnecting the user BUT it didn't get past that, ie. it never reached the world.exe to log in the client. Does this mean there's a problem with the miniloginaccounts.ini or what?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2003, 11:41 AM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

just thought i'd add that I've done what you both said so no need to repeat yourself. Have 3 accounts so far, all matched within miniloginaccounts.ini and all 3 with ls_accountid being 0, 1, and 2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2003, 01:40 PM
brainleacher
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default

copy and paste your ini file.
Sounds like you're doing the correct thing, but just in case.
Also, do a mysqldump of your account table and paste it here too:

in a command prompt, type:

mysqldump eq account > foo.sql

copy and paste foo.sql here...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2003, 01:56 PM
farce
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 126
Default

one thing you need to be sure of is that your accounts actually have passwords in your accounts table.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2003, 02:03 PM
Mandulum
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Here's everything that's concerned with running a server: (i'll only paste the things that had to be changed from default)

Boot5zones.bat

start zone . localhost 7995 localhost
start zone . localhost 7996 localhost
start zone . localhost 7997 localhost
start zone . localhost 7998 localhost
start zone . localhost 7999 localhost
exit
cls

db.ini

[Database]
host=localhost
user=Mandulum
password=michael
database=eq
compression=off

loginserver.ini

[LoginServer]
loginserver=localhost
loginserver2=localhost
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=Everquest
worldaddress=localhost
locked=false
account=
password=

miniloginaccounts.ini

141.109.80.145 Mandulum michael
141.109.80.145 eqemu eqemu
141.109.80.100 Loganil ryan
141.109.80.108 Grastyx sean

foo.sql

-- MySQL dump 8.22
--
-- Host: localhost Database: eq
---------------------------------------------------------
-- Server version 3.23.55-nt

--
-- Table structure for table 'account'
--

CREATE TABLE account (
id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
name varchar(30) NOT NULL default '',
charname varchar(64) NOT NULL default '',
packencrypt blob NOT NULL,
password varchar(50) NOT NULL default '',
status int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
lsaccount_id int(11) unsigned default NULL,
gmspeed tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
PRIMARY KEY (id),
UNIQUE KEY name (name),
UNIQUE KEY lsaccount_id (lsaccount_id)
) TYPE=MyISAM;

--
-- Dumping data for table 'account'
--


INSERT INTO account VALUES (1,'Mandulum','','','michael',10,0,0);
INSERT INTO account VALUES (2,'Loganil','','',ryan',10,1,0);
INSERT INTO account VALUES (3,'eqemu','','','eqemu',200,2,0);
INSERT INTO account VALUES (4,'Grastyx','','','sean',10,3,0);

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That should be all the releveant stuff, it's at least everything that i've modified (except for eqhosts file)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2003, 05:37 PM
brainleacher
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Okay, this is what's wierd about your db..
Your first user/pass is the same as your mysql admin's user/pass. I believe that the login server will use that to login to mysql, not sure what user it'll think is trying to log in. Secondly, you have one of your machines listed twice with the same IP, I believe that the login server will never ever look at the second one, the first IP match it finds, it'll just use whatever user/pass it finds with that. So your eqemu account will never be used.
Another point is this, in my db, the user eqemu is ID 1, maybe there're places in the code where that assumptions is made, I don't know, but just to be safe, that's what I would do.
Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-17-2003, 07:02 PM
New2EQEmu
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I had the exact same problem. I could log on with my main computer (Where EQEmu was running) but I got the 1017 error from my secondary computer. I fixed it by changing 'localhost' in my ini files to the IP of my main computer (instead of localhost I put 192.168.1.122). I was still able to log in with my main computer but I was also able to log in with my secondary computer using a different account.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2003, 03:17 AM
brainleacher
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Oh yeah, I remember having to do that too. Otherwise all other machines on the lan gave a 1017 error. I think it's because the localhost IP is 127...... and you might have to be on the same subnet... anyhow, that's the fix for sure..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3