Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:18 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Thanks, KLS. The items are one of the last major remaining items to get working before players may be able to start testing it and reporting bugs. I think I should hopefully have the AA and /who issues worked out really soon. Once items are done, I think combat just needs to get worked out and basic play should be functioning. For all other stuff, it will mostly just be opcode finding I think, which shouldn't be too bad at all.

I am actually surprised how close to being ready this is already. As long as there are no more major bumps, I don't think it is far off at all. Maybe Azone can be updated sometime in the future to work with the new EQG files. Other than that, I think a couple minor code adjustments to handle the new player race and maybe a couple other things, and then a couple minor database adjustments to handle some of the new stuff as well. Then it should be fully functional. At least as well as Titanium is for us now.

And yeah, for Titanium players, they will just have to see Drakkin as a human model or something. The Drakkin race is model 522, which is well beyond what Titanium can use. By default, they would see the frozen arms and legs out human model. But, we can probably force them to be any race in the Titanium/6.2 client cpp files in the spawn encodes. I think it would work doing a race check when the spawn packet is sent, and then just convert any race that is > 473 to be race 1 instead. Really, it isn't a huge issue, because they won't be able to see the new weapon models and stuff that the SoF users will be able to use anyway.

Eventually, I imagine most people will just move onto using SoF instead of Titanium. Especially once it is just as functional as Titanium currently is.

I must say that after going through each of the 81 new zones in SoF that have been added since Titanium, I am really amazed. SoE has done an excellent job with their zone design. I didn't care much for the Buried Sea zones, but other than those, all of the other expansions really wow'd me. And with 103 new races to use, I think this will open up alot of doors for custom servers. I haven't even got to seeing the new weapon models yet, but I imagine they are great as well.

After SoF is done, I will most likely look into seeing if I can possibly fix EQExtractor and EQBuilder2 to work with EQLive again. Then, we can use them to populate many of the new zones. I think that combined with SoF will help keep the emulator thriving for a long time to come. And since it is pretty likely that it will be the final client version for the emulator, it should make it worthwhile to work towards a 100% functional emulator
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!

Last edited by trevius; 05-27-2009 at 03:22 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2009, 04:31 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Thumbs up

Now that I'm SoF enabled, I'll pick up Character Creation if no-one else is working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:26 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Thanks Derision! I am glad to start seeing some dev interest in this project. It has been a pretty huge one so far lol. The amount of hours I have put in over the past couple of months is pretty insane. I was hoping once I got it to a somewhat playable point that others might start realizing that it wasn't just a pipe dream anymore and that it was going to actually get done!

If you need any help or suggestions for character creation let me know. I can easily get ShowEQ logs of the character creation process from EQLive to share with you. Those will be much easier to read than packet sniffs from WireShark or something. That is assuming that EQLive and SoF handle it the same way, but I am pretty sure it would be the same, or at least much closer than how Titanium handles it.

I have been focusing on AAs mostly over the past couple nights. I am pretty sure that the structure is just wrong. I was basing it off of the EQLive AA structure, but I bet SoF was slightly different. The good thing is that there is minimal difference between EQLive and Titanium, so it shouldn't be hard to figure out what to change/remove from the current struct I have that is based off of EQLive.

I have also filled in a few more Opcodes, but haven't updated the SVN with them yet. Probably 70% of the Opcodes we need to fill them all out will come directly from the client in a tail log (as an OP_Unknown), so those will be very easy to get. For the rest of them, they may be a bit trickier, but those can be handled when the time comes.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2009, 04:08 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

I got Character Creation working, mostly.

There is a new OpCode the client sends when you click on 'Create New Character'. I got a trace from live and the server responds with a 22KB packet, with what I assume must have valid starting stats, starting zones, deities etc, for each race/class.

I didn't bother trying to interpret what is in the packet just yet, I just have a hardcoded response with the same 22KB of data that live sends which is good enough to get into the character creation screen on SoF.

I can currently only select races from the original game ... the Expansions data must have moved within whatever packet it gets sent in, also the Enter Tutorial button seemed to be missing. Both will hopefully be easy to sort out.

The way the initial start zone is requested also seems to have changed, so everyone starts in South Qeynos for now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:27 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

FYI, in case no one noticed yet, Newegg is now selling Secrets of Faydwer for $4.99 with free shipping! That is down a dollar from the recent price of $5.99 with free shipping. If you don't have a copy of it already, you almost certainly won't find a better deal than this and should get it while they are still in stock. There is a link in the first post of this thread to the page on newegg of where to get it.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2009, 03:10 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

I've been working on tasks today. Most of the problems were missing/incorrect opcodes, although the task selector struct has also changed slightly.

I have everything functional, although I think one of the structs is still slightly off, leading to the reward item/link sometimes not displaying correctly.

I still need to write the encode so it works with all clients, but should probably be done this weekend.

I'll probably work on the pet buff window after that.

Last edited by Derision; 03-27-2009 at 11:14 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2009, 03:30 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

If you are making a hash for the item links, I wanted to note that I confirmed that there are now 5 more 0s in the hash used for Titanium to show up properly in SoF. If you do a #itemsearch in SoF right now, it cuts off the first 5 letters of the name. I added the 0s to it to test and then it worked fine, but then Titanium was showing the 5 0s in the name output. So, I imagine we will have to do something tricky to get it working properly for both. Not sure what the best solution is yet, but I wish there was a way to check if a client was SoF or not. Then, we could just do an if before making the output.

Dunno if that is related to the reward links in tasks, but figured it was worth mentioning.

Thanks for helping, Derision and KLS! It has been a ton of work to get to the point things are at now, but the help you 2 have given has definitely made a big difference. There isn't that much left to iron out now, but, all help is much appreciated!
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:39 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3