Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:11 PM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default Do these really work??

Sub EVENT_SPAWN{
Crashes the zones , they will not load with this event , anyone able to get it to work??

sub EVENT_ENTER{
tried to use it serveral different ways and it seems to do nothing , anyone get that one to work?
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:43 AM
Richardo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mattmecks Basement
Posts: 546
Default

sub EVENT_SPAWN
{

This works very well and I use it a lot in my server, basically to explain it..
Whenever a mob spawns, you can make him do something, for example, set off a timer or signal another NPC, I will show you below.

Code:
sub EVENT_SPAWN
{
quest::shout("I have spawned!");
quest::signal(152);
quest::settimer("a", 200);
quest::settimer("b", 400);
quest::settimer("c", 600);
}

sub EVENT_TIMER
{
if($timer == a)
        {
         quest::stoptimer("a");
         quest::shout("Timer A Complete!");
}
if($timer == b)
         {
         quest::stoptimer("b");
         quest::shout("Timer B Complete!");
}
if($timer == c)
         {
          quest::stoptimer("c");
          quest::shout("Timer C Complete!");
}
}
That is just a random example with what you can do with spawn... Hope my information helped, also..

sub EVENT_ENTER, I have no idea what this does if it even does work...
Edit:

I did some research for you and found that Fathernitwit had added these, shown in the change log below.

Quote:
FatherNitwit: Proximity quests: added events: EVENT_ENTER, EVENT_EXIT
FatherNitWit wrote a tutorial on Proximity quests, here is the link



FatherNitWits Proximity Tutorial

Note: All I did was type EVENT_ENTER in the search window and it took me to this, just a little insight in the future, try using search first Ofcourse there is never any harm in asking though

Last edited by Lexen1; 05-04-2005 at 11:55 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:03 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Thanks alot for the info , I didnt search because I knew there was posts about sub EVENT_SPAWN but not about weither it works or not .

No matter how I use it it just crashes my zone.exe I am using 6.0DR3

here is the code I used and the zone just kept crashing

I will try it the wat Fathernitwit said and sees what happens , thanks
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:13 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Ok , i just tried it exactly like the one you wrote and copied and pasted fathernitwits , Zone still crashes

thanks for trying though
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2005, 08:53 PM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Does anyone have any idea why my zone crashes when I use sub EVENT_SPAWN ???or if there is ANYWHERE I can get 6.0 DR3 source files???
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3