Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2015, 11:20 PM
Coenxai's Avatar
Coenxai
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 151
Default Synchronizing packet updates

Has anyone successfully synchronized character vitals? I'm sick of the server and the client fighting. When does the client begin to tic? Is it when the character successfully connects to the zone? Would it be possible to start our timers then?
__________________
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2015, 09:03 AM
image
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,290
Default

This seems to be two problems
1) the timing of client/server with the HP
2) the server having the correct amount of HP

item #1 I still see fluctuation in my hp up and down, #2 I don't have, but originally there was a bug around this (Don't know if eqemu main source is fixed either).

To add in regards to when the timer starts I would assume it would be around either the end of client loading or when the screen begins rendering (client does send an opcode, but eqemu doesnt track it). This would probably require disassembling the client to be sure.


Pretty easy to test #2 just buff yourself, add equipment and watch #showstats, make sure you arent off by a few hp here and there (ignore the fluctuations of the HP just make sure the #'s are right).
__________________
www.eq2emu.com
EQ2Emu Developer
Former EQEMu Developer / GuildWars / Zek Seasons Servers
Member of the "I hate devn00b" club.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2015, 12:52 PM
Coenxai's Avatar
Coenxai
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 151
Default

Problem #2 isn't really an issue because we can easily modify the client's BaseData to match the server. Unfortunately, they seemingly hard-coded the assumed regeneration. I have it updating virtually seamless now (RoF2). It's still pushing values onto the client, but it's a lot more logical now. I'd still be interested in a more efficient approach if anyone has any information.
__________________
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2015, 01:58 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

I think it's spamming too many HP updates (If I remove the sending HP to self in SendHPUpdate my HP stays correct)

Last edited by demonstar55; 06-06-2015 at 03:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2015, 05:58 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

I pushed some stuff to try to cut down on spam of useless HP updates and also prevent sending it to the client when it will use the OP_Damage packet to update it's own HP.

Still need to get HP regen right though :/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2015, 06:48 PM
Coenxai's Avatar
Coenxai
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 151
Default

Code:
			SendHPUpdate(!iBuffTic); // the OP_Damage actually updates the client in these cases, so we skill them
	}	//end `if damage was done`

	//send damage packet...
	if(!iBuffTic) { //buff ticks do not send damage, instead they just call SendHPUpdate(), which is done below
?
__________________
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2015, 07:05 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

The comment on line 3700 isn't really true, the SendHPUpdate is done above, the message is done below. I also didn't proof read my comments added to 3696, oh well. Should read skip not skill.

But other than that, what are you confused about?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2015, 07:20 PM
Coenxai's Avatar
Coenxai
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 151
Default

The commenting was confusing. Also, how would damage over time spells update? Are they not sent through CommonDamage?
__________________
"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2015, 07:47 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

That's what the comments say. I haven't checked live.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3