Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:40 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

1029d is just some content changes (mostly potimeb) I'll be committing it today after I get more of the bosses done. You can use 1029c with Rev 52 just fine. Make sure you update your Titanium conf file!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:50 PM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

I always use the latest server files from the source by sym-linking the changing files from the server directory to my build directory:

I have one script for each build type. ie install_bots , install_nobots, install_svn:

here is my svn script:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

#Create server symlinks

ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/utils/defaults/* .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/utils/patch_* .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/utils/cleanipc .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/world/world .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/EMuShareMem/libEMuShareMem.so .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/eqlaunch/eqlaunch .
ln -s /usr/src/game-servers/eqemu/build/eqemu/EQEmu-0.7.0-SVN-r52/zone/zone .
I have these scripts located in my server directroy. Oh yah, and the delete script that I run before I run the install script:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

#Cleanup old symlinks

rm cleanipc commands.pl eqemu_config.xml.full eqlaunch libEMuShareMem.so log.ini logs mime.types patch_* plugin.pl templates world worldui worldui.pl zone
The only things that stay static in my server directory are the quests, maps, xml files, spell files and the start - stop - persist world scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-06-2008, 07:36 PM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Hmm, seems I am unable to get past character select. I have tried now on rev's 52 and 57 with peq_1029c.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:01 PM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

I belive my issue is DB related. Seems there are a few extra tables when upgrading from 1029 to 1029c, and these tables are not added when you load the peq-db.sql file. Looks like they are load_player.sql tables. One of these in particular is group_id.

What is the cleanest way to update an old db with characters and accounts to the new 1029c? Just add the missing tables, and append the new variables, rule_values and commands?

I take it new variables, rule_values, and commands are always located at the end of the .sql files? This way I can just look at the end of the file and add everything that comes after the last entry I have in my db?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:20 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

I was meaning to add an updates folder to the PEQ CVS for instances like this when the user tables change. If you do a full install, then you're set, but obviously those who don't wish to lose their toons need to manually update their DB.

For the new tables, all you need to do is look at the tables on the PEQ CVS, and compare them to your current db. Any that you are missing, source (that's why the user tables are split up on CVS - so you can source in individual ones if you wish) Yes, new additions to commands, variables, and rule_values are tacked on the end of those files.

For the changed tables (character_ for example was changed) check out the utils/sql/09252008.sql file on the source SVN first and look for the ALTER table queries. If it effects a table that has a file on PEQ CVS, then you need to source it. (As an example, the character_ alters need to be done, but the spawngroup one does not as that is included in the system part of the DB already) Once that is done, go through the changelog and look for alter queries that aren't in that big change file that you might have missed along the way.

I'm going to add an updates folder to PEQ CVS to help ease this in the future now.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:30 PM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Thanks for the update Cavedude, I figured that was my issue. I did look at those files you mentioned last night and thought that they may already have been added to the db. I ended up reverting back to my 1029 stable with bots and just updated to the newest stable bot source. So I will run with that until you release 1029d then I will attempt svn again. Do you think you will be merging your "updates" folder in the 1029d cvs?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:43 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

Well, you could run the 1129d system DB with the 1129 binaries. Any extra tables/columns will be ignored by the code. Nothing was removed or changed in the DB that will break the code, nor will be to maintain full compatibility with stock EQEmu. (The SVN should be considered experimental) That way, you'll still be able to use the content additions/fixes.

Yeah, I'll put all of the updates to get a DB current from as far back as the group change in one sql in the updates folder. I'll also make sure the file can be sourced even if some of the tables/columns exist without destroying anything. Look for that later today.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:48 PM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

I figured that the db was backwards compatable thank you for confirming it, and thanks for the all the hard work you put into this project!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-07-2008, 03:43 PM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

I just made a core update with my PEQ database here, which is about a week old. You should be able to run it and keep your account/character info, although you will loose your bot data (you can back that up with GeorgeS tool).
Here's the Link (always back up first!)
You still need to run these sqls if you want to use todays SVN;
Code:
ALTER TABLE `zone` ADD column `shutdowndelay` bigint (16) unsigned NOT NULL default '5000';
INSERT INTO rule_values VALUES (1,'Zone:AutoShutdownDelay', 5000);
This update should give you all the new tables that are out except the keyring table, since people already are using it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-07-2008, 06:42 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

Bots won't be lost provided they run the .bat file on CVS before dropping and sourcing the DB But, not to offend why post a link to the PEQ db? PEQ's CVS is up to date with SVN.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-19-2008, 10:24 AM
KrackAdams
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: US
Posts: 14
Default

Is there going to be more w/ Bots Revision to download or is the Revision 166 Win32 binaries w/ Bots Featured Server Bots the last one or do you need to update SVN w/ Revision201-bots or higher or does the Revisions come with the bot code already sorry for the question I'm a noob when it comes to the SVN system
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:47 PM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

^-- not me, btw... though I have been known to toke the pipe more often than I should...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-13-2009, 12:14 PM
ChaosSlayer
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,032
Default

I have noticed that Attuneable Items fix is not even on the list of the issues to be implemented.

<<<very concerned
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-22-2009, 01:52 AM
ChaosSlayer
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,032
Default

Just noticed this one:

r352
Removed Combat:ChanceToHitDivideBy rule. Set value to Live Like 1000.


LOL Cavedude why remove rule allready coded in? Why not simply set it to default 1000? And then some of us perhaps would have a a chance to make it less or more?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-22-2009, 01:58 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Because it should never of been in in the first place.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3