Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-13-2012, 07:53 PM
lerxst2112
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
The only thing I can think of would be a possible difference in the way that MS uses conversions over Linux..assuming the servers that you logged into were
different than yours. (I'll try tonight on my win server and see what happens.)

When forcing a conversion from float to int, doesn't the rounding function automatically ignore and drop the fractional amount regardless? I know 'Excel' does and
you have to use special functions to roundup..but even that implementation changed between versions.
Floating point to integer conversion is defined by the C++ standard and not open to interpretation by different compiler vendors. The whole number is kept and the fraction discarded. 1.01 and 1.99 both become 1.

Looking at the database log it exactly matches what the vendor said he'd give you in all cases, and that is the amount sent to the AddMoneyToPP function.

Look in the debug zone log and see if you see the money being logged. The line would start with "Client::AddMoneyToPP()" and the values would show what the server believes your character has which should agree with the client unless there's something wrong when sending it.

I didn't see a # command that would list your money so it would seem like that log is the only way you'll easily be able to tell if what you actually have on the server is the same as what the client is showing you.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-13-2012, 08:00 PM
Traul
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerxst2112 View Post
Floating point to integer conversion is defined by the C++ standard and not open to interpretation by different compiler vendors. The whole number is kept and the fraction discarded. 1.01 and 1.99 both become 1.

Looking at the database log it exactly matches what the vendor said he'd give you in all cases, and that is the amount sent to the AddMoneyToPP function.

Look in the debug zone log and see if you see the money being logged. The line would start with "Client::AddMoneyToPP()" and the values would show what the server believes your character has which should agree with the client unless there's something wrong when sending it.

I didn't see a # command that would list your money so it would seem like that log is the only way you'll easily be able to tell if what you actually have on the server is the same as what the client is showing you.
Here's the log from zone.exe:

Quote:
[10.13. - 16:15:17] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Nalia: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_WeaponEquip2 (0x63da) Size=8]
[10.13. - 16:15:17] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Nalia: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_WeaponEquip2 (0x63da) Size=8]
[10.13. - 16:15:17] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Nalia: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_WeaponEquip1 (0x6c5e) Size=12]
[10.13. - 16:17:36] Client::AddMoneyToPP() Nalia should have: plat:72 gold:2 silver:2 copper:2
[10.13. - 16:17:36] DeleteItemInInventory(28, 1, false)
[10.13. - 16:17:59] Client::AddMoneyToPP() Nalia should have: plat:1372 gold:1 silver:8 copper:8
[10.13. - 16:17:59] DeleteItemInInventory(28, 19, false)
[10.13. - 16:18:27] Nalia, purchase item..
[10.13. - 16:18:27] [INVENTORY__SLOTS] Nalia: Putting item Whip Pattern (16479) into slot 28
[10.13. - 16:18:45] Client::AddMoneyToPP() Nalia should have: plat:3 gold:1 silver:0 copper:0
[10.13. - 16:18:45] DeleteItemInInventory(28, 1, false)
So this agrees what it's actually sending me, but disagrees with what the merchant and database log says.

By the way, thanks for taking a look at this guys, I appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-14-2012, 02:37 AM
lerxst2112
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,743
Default

Well, the answer is that Client::AddMoneyToPP() has a bug in it. It's hard to see because it's hideously formatted and a bizarre way to split the digits up, but whatever.

Code:
Index: client.cpp
===================================================================
--- client.cpp	(revision 2230)
+++ client.cpp	(working copy)
@@ -2154,6 +2154,7 @@
 	//tmp	= tmp - (tmp2* 10);
     //if (updateclient)
 	//	SendClientMoneyUpdate(0,tmp);
+	tmp2 = tmp;
     new_val = m_pp.copper + tmp2;
     if(new_val < 0) {
         m_pp.copper = 0;
The copper value was never assigned to tmp2 (nice variables names!) so it stayed whatever the silver value was.

If I were the truly ambitious sort I'd replace that entire function with something like this:

Code:
void Client::AddMoneyToPP(uint64 copper, bool updateclient) {
	sint32 platinum = copper / 1000;
	sint32 gold = (copper / 100) % 10;
	sint32 silver = (copper / 10) % 10;
	copper %= 10;
	AddMoneyToPP( copper, silver, gold, platinum, updateclient );
}
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-14-2012, 03:02 PM
Traul
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Awesome, all fixed. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-14-2012, 05:33 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Damn..He beat me to it! Lol!
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3