Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2016, 07:51 AM
Warking
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norrath
Posts: 132
Default Task/Quest Syntax help request

This is probably a simple fix but I have been all over the Wiki and forums and I am still missing what needs to be done here.

I keep Getting the below error when a task is enabled. I created the task through the EoC and it works fine, except for this request error:

Code:
Unable to find NPC to send EVENT_TASKACCEPTD to. Report this bug.
Below is the npc.pl code

Code:
sub EVENT_TASKACCEPTED
{
quest::say("You accepted task $273");
quest::say("You accepted task $274");
}

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if ($text =~/Hail/i)
 {
quest::say ("[test]! [testE]! Listen to this [song] .");
 }
 if($text=~/test/i)
{ 
plugin::AssignTask("solo", 273); #::: This will enable task 273
plugin::MM("test " . $name . "!"); #::: This will push a client side Yellow message in the screen
} 
if($text=~/testE/i)
{ 
plugin::AssignTask("solo", 274); #::: This will assign solo Kill task 274
quest::say ("test");
plugin::MM("test"); #::: This will push a client side Yellow message in the screen
} 
#The below statement will play a song to the client. "
if($text=~/song/i){
$client->PlayMP3("compton.mp3");
}
}
#The below setion handles how a character hands in the items for the task.  This will grant a small amount of exp and give grp currency on turn in
sub EVENT_ITEM
{
if(plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 132492 => 1))
  {
  quest::say("test!");
  quest::exp(20);
  quest::summonitem(132491);
  }
}
#End of File - erudinnext test.pl NPC_Type ID:xxxxx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:09 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

You're probably going to need to show the database entries for the task and activities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2016, 02:57 PM
Warking
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norrath
Posts: 132
Default

Activities Table:
Code:
taskid	activityid	step	activitytype	text1	text2	  text3  	goalid	goalmethod	goalcount	delivertonpc	zoneid	optional
273	0	         1	  1	      test	diamond                132492	      0	         100	         24307	          24	0
Task Table:
Code:
id	duration	title	description	                          reward	rewardid	cashreward	xpreward	rewardmethod	startzone	minlevel	maxlevel	repeatable
273	0	        test3   [1,Kill guards, Bring me 100 diamonds]	testitem	132493	         0	        4000	         0	         24	          0	           0	          1
I created a new custom diamond so that is 132492
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2016, 06:42 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

What does it say in yellow just before this error? "Task Giver ID is"...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2016, 07:47 PM
Warking
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norrath
Posts: 132
Default

'Task Giver ID is 0' There must be some code or table I need to enter the npcID I guess but I cannot find where. Unless my thinking is way off?

Quest_Globals table?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2016, 07:56 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

It gets the NPC ID from the npc_types table. So, yes it does need to be entered and the NPC ID cannot be 0. The normal format starts at the zone id * 1000. So in PoK, for example, the NPC IDs usually are 202xxx. The editor will help sort in that format.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:01 PM
Warking
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norrath
Posts: 132
Default

This NPCID=24307 in NPC_Types table there are no npcs with 0. Do I need to define it in the .pl file somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:07 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

Oh, using the plugin, you must specify the NPC ID.

EDIT: plugin::AssignTask("solo", 273, $npc->GetID());
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2016, 08:53 PM
Warking
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norrath
Posts: 132
Default

Ah, Awesome! A million thanks for the help on this one!

Should probably update the wiki on the plugin use

(http://wiki.eqemulator.org/p?Perl_Pl...rence&frm=Main)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3