Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 08-01-2005, 07:25 AM
Baruuk
Sarnak

Question New Guy with a Few Questions

Hey guys -

I'm an EQ vet and I've often considered starting my own EQEMU server. I enjoy customization and some coding. I've spent about an hour viewing posts here but need clarification on a few simple questions, if you don't mind. My apologies in advance if I'm repeating others' posts, and thank you in advance for your help.

I'd like to start a server. However I understand that the latest EQ patch (7/14) breaks EMU from what I'm reading. (I understand a few folks have it running on a beta version of the server). Should I start a 6.0 release (or some earlier release) server and find some way to back-patch my client from the CD install (without 7/14 patch) or do I just wait for a full release of the 6.2 DR0 server? I wasn't sure how long that usually takes. I'm able to use the basic functions of Visual Studio .NET from a compiler standpoint - but that's about it. I'd like to start a server whenever possible.

Thanks in advance.

Baruuk
Old 08-02-2005, 03:27 AM
Baruuk
Sarnak

35 views and not 1 reply? /cry
Old 08-02-2005, 04:54 AM
mwmdragon
Discordant

Default reply

Talk about back patching is kinda a no no.

However the best way to solve you server wanting questions is to wait for the next release and then back up your working eqemu files to another folder or even *Gasp* a DVD for future use. I have a DVD of a working file set for every release since 4.3 so i can mess around with any version of server I want in the future.

Looks like it a waiting game now

NeverQuest
http://neverquest.gotdns.com
Emucade
http://dragonsden.emuunlim.com
Old 08-02-2005, 05:09 AM
LeftRoad
Sarnak