Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:05 PM
mollymillions's Avatar
mollymillions
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 176
Default Skill Caps and Start Skills

I am not a C++ coder and had to do a fair amount of homework before I could start coding this.

For the db records where level = 0, the CAP value will be the start skill value for the skill and the FORMULA value will be used as the offset for the skill cap calculations (skillcap = offset + level * formula).

I need to finalise the start skills and formula offsets in these tables. I will get them inline with what was used previously and re-post in the near future.

MaxSkills.h is no longer needed, although I put the call to the new MaxSkill calc here as it required changing less lines of code. The existing Class_Skill table is no longer used.

All the new code will handle skill values > 255 but there is a check in GetMaxSkill to ensure none are returned greater then 252 as values > 252 may cause the skill succsess calcs to fail? I am pretty sure that all of the skill value = 254 or 255 checks have been removed, to allow for implementation of skill values greater than 255 in the future.

I added the following references to databse.h:

#include "../common/classes.h"
#include "../common/races.h"
#include "../common/skills.h"

to allow the use of the following global(?) constants:

PLAYER_CLASS_COUNT
HIGHEST_SKILL
LEVEL_CAP
Count_Array_Race


ToDo:
-The lists should be moved into SharedMem.
-The misc language skills are not getting handled correctly ATM.
-Free the array memeory in the Zone and World destructors?

http://members.dodo.net.au/~mollymil...lassSkills.sql
http://members.dodo.net.au/~mollymil...RaceSkills.sql



Last edited by mollymillions; 04-10-2005 at 10:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:06 PM
mollymillions's Avatar
mollymillions
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 176
Default

Code:
---------------------------------
insert \zone\net.cpp -line 200 ish
---------------------------------
	LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Status, "Loading skill caps");
	database.LoadClassSkill(false);
	database.LoadClassSkill(true);
--------------------------------
replace \zone\mob.h -line 275 ish
--------------------------------
	int8			MaxSkill(int16 skillid, int16 class_, int16 race, int16 level);
	inline int8	MaxSkill(int16 skillid) { return MaxSkill(skillid, GetClass(), GetRace(), GetLevel()); }
 
--------------------------------------
replace \zone\maxskill.h -line 2050 ish
--------------------------------------
	int8 Mob::MaxSkill(int16 skillid, int16 class_, int16 Race, int16 level) {
		return database.GetMaxSkill(skillid, class_, race, level);
	}
 
-------------------------
insert \common\Database.h
-------------------------
#include "../common/classes.h"
#include "../common/races.h"
#include "../common/skills.h"
-----------------------------------------------
insert/replace \common\Database.h -line 500 ish
-----------------------------------------------
	int16 CalcSkill(int16 classraceid, int8 skillid, int8 startlevel, int8 endlevel, int16 skillcap, int16 increment, int16 skillvalue, bool RaceMode);
	void	LoadClassSkill(bool RaceMode);
	void	DumpSkills();
	int16 GetClassSkill(int8 skillid, int8 classid, int16 level);
	int16 GetRaceSkill(int8 skillid, int16 raceid, int16 level);
	int16 GetMaxSkill(int8 skillid, int8 class_, int16 race, int16 level);
	uint16 class_skill[PLAYER_CLASS_COUNT * (HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)];
	uint16 race_skill[Count_Array_Race * (HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)]; 
	int16 GetTrainlevel(int16 eqrace, int16 eqclass, int8 skill_id); 
 
--------------------------------------------
replace \common\Database.cpp -line 5670 ish
--------------------------------------------
int16 Database::GetTrainlevel(int16 eqrace, int16 eqclass, int8 skill_id) {
 
	//is the skill trainable? 
	if(GetMaxSkill(skill_id, eqclass, eqrace, LEVEL_CAP)==0)		
		return LEVEL_CAP+1; // Untrainable
 
	//skill is trainable so get the level? 
	for (int level = 1;level<LEVEL_CAP;level++) {
		if (GetMaxSkill(skill_id, eqclass, eqrace, level)>0) 
			return level;		 
	}
 
	//catch
	return LEVEL_CAP+1; // Untrainable 
}
-----------------
Insert \common\Database.cpp -line 6020 ish
-----------------
void Database::LoadClassSkill(bool RaceMode) {	 
	char errbuf[MYSQL_ERRMSG_SIZE];
	char *query = 0;
	MYSQL_RES *result;
	MYSQL_ROW row;
	char* sql;
 
	int8 KEY_COUNT;
	int8 skill_level = 0, skill_formula = 0;		
	int8 skillid=255, newskillid=255; 
	int8 level=1, newlevel=0;
	int16 increment = 0, newincrement = 0, offset = 5;
	int16 skillvalue=0, skillcap = 0, newskillcap = 0;
	int16 classraceid=255, newclassraceid=255;
	if (RaceMode) {
		KEY_COUNT = Count_Array_Race-1;
		sql = "SELECT race, skill, level, formula, cap FROM raceskills ORDER BY race, skill, level";
	} else {
		KEY_COUNT = PLAYER_CLASS_COUNT;
		sql = "SELECT class, skill, level, formula, cap FROM classskills ORDER BY class, skill, level"; 
	}
 
	//Default all caps to 0 (todo: use calloc() to initialize the array with zeros)
	int16 ubound = (KEY_COUNT * (HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1));
	for (int16 i=0; i<ubound;i++) {
		if (RaceMode)
			race_skill[i]=0;	
		else
			class_skill[i]=0; 
	}
 
	if (database.RunQuery(query, MakeAnyLenString(&query, sql), errbuf, &result)) {	 
		safe_delete_array(query);
 
		while((row = mysql_fetch_row(result))) {							
 
			newclassraceid = atoi(row[0]);
			newskillid = atoi(row[1]);
			newlevel = atoi(row[2]);
			newincrement = atoi(row[3]);
			newskillcap = atoi(row[4]);
 
			if (RaceMode) 
				newclassraceid = (int16)GetArrayRace(newclassraceid);
			if (newlevel > LEVEL_CAP+1)
				newlevel = LEVEL_CAP+1;
 
			if ((newclassraceid != classraceid) || (newskillid != skillid)){
 
				//finalise the previous classskill							 
				if ((classraceid <= KEY_COUNT) && (skillid <= HIGHEST_SKILL) && (level >0) && (skillcap > 0)){									 
					skillvalue = CalcSkill(classraceid, skillid, level,(int8)(LEVEL_CAP+1), skillcap, increment, skillvalue, RaceMode);
				}
 
				offset = 5; //default formula offset
				increment = 0;
				skillcap = 0;
				skillvalue = 0;
				level = 1;			 
			}
			if ((newclassraceid < KEY_COUNT+1) && (newskillid < HIGHEST_SKILL+1)) {			 
 
				if (newlevel == 0){				 
 
					//write the start skill and get the formula offset				 
					CalcSkill(newclassraceid, newskillid, newlevel,(int8)(1), newskillcap, 0, newskillcap, RaceMode);
					offset = newincrement; 
					level = 0;
				}
				else if(level > 0){ 
					if (skillvalue == 0)						
						skillvalue = offset;
 
					skillvalue = CalcSkill(newclassraceid, newskillid, level, newlevel, skillcap, newincrement, skillvalue, RaceMode);				 
				} 
				skillcap = newskillcap;
				increment = newincrement;
				level = newlevel;
				classraceid = newclassraceid;
				skillid = newskillid;
			}					 
		}
		mysql_free_result(result);
 
		//finalise the previous class/race skill								
		if ((classraceid <= KEY_COUNT) && (skillid <= HIGHEST_SKILL) && (level >0) && (skillcap > 0))							 
			skillvalue = CalcSkill(classraceid, skillid, level,(int8)(LEVEL_CAP+1), skillcap, increment, skillvalue, RaceMode);
	}
	else
		LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Error, "Error in LoadClassSkillCaps query %s: %s", query, errbuf);
 
	safe_delete_array(query);
}
int16 Database::CalcSkill(int16 classraceid, int8 skillid, int8 level, int8 endlevel, int16 skillcap, int16 increment, int16 skillvalue, bool RaceMode) {
 
	//All paramaters must be validated before the call 
	while(level < endlevel) { 
		skillvalue = skillvalue + increment;
		if (skillvalue > skillcap)
			skillvalue=skillcap;						
 
		if (RaceMode) 
			race_skill[(classraceid-1) * ((HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)) + skillid * (LEVEL_CAP+1) + level] = skillvalue;			 
		else
			class_skill[(classraceid-1) * ((HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)) + skillid * (LEVEL_CAP+1) + level] = skillvalue;					 
		level++;
	}
	return skillvalue;
}
int16 Database::GetClassSkill(int8 skillid, int8 classid, int16 level)
{
	if (classid > 0 && classid <= PLAYER_CLASS_COUNT && skillid >= 0 && skillid <= HIGHEST_SKILL && level >= 0 && level <= LEVEL_CAP) 
		return class_skill[(classid-1) * ((HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)) + skillid * (LEVEL_CAP+1) + level];		
	else
		return 0;
}
int16 Database::GetRaceSkill(int8 skillid, int16 raceid, int16 level)
{
	(int16)raceid = GetArrayRace(raceid);
	if (raceid > 0 && raceid < Count_Array_Race && skillid >= 0 && skillid <= HIGHEST_SKILL && level >= 0 && level <= LEVEL_CAP) 
		return race_skill[(raceid-1) * ((HIGHEST_SKILL+1) * (LEVEL_CAP+1)) + skillid * (LEVEL_CAP+1) + level];
	else
		return 0;
}
int16 Database::GetMaxSkill(int8 skillid, int8 class_, int16 race, int16 level) {
 
	//Handle GM classes 
	if (class_>19)
		class_ = class_-19;
 
	int16 ClassSkill = database.GetClassSkill(skillid,class_,level);
	int16 RaceSkill = database.GetRaceSkill(skillid,race,level);	
 
	//Get the greater of the race or class cap 
	if (RaceSkill > ClassSkill) {
		if (RaceSkill > 252)
			RaceSkill = 252;
		return RaceSkill; 
	} else {
		if (ClassSkill > 252)
			ClassSkill = 252;
		return ClassSkill;
	}
} 
----------------------------
replace \zone\doors.cpp -line 180 ish
----------------------------
			else
			{ // door is locked, either no key works for it or player doesn't have the key - try to pick it
				if(sender->MaxSkill(35, sender->GetClass(), sender->GetRace(), sender->GetLevel())>0 && GetLockpick()!=0)
				{ // client has the lock pick skill and this lock can be picked

Last edited by mollymillions; 04-10-2005 at 10:01 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2005, 09:07 PM
mollymillions's Avatar
mollymillions
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 176
Default

Code:
-----------------------------
Replace \zone\client_process.cpp -line 1275 ish
-----------------------------
else if (gmskill->skillbank == 0x00)
	{
		// normal skills go here
		if (gmskill->skill_id > HIGHEST_SKILL)
		{
			cout << "Wrong Training Skill (abilities)" << endl;
			DumpPacket(app);
			return;
		}
		int8 skilllevel = GetRawSkill(gmskill->skill_id);
		//if ( skilllevel == 255)
		//{
		//  // Client never gets this skill; check for gm status or fail
		//  return;
		//}
		//else if (skilllevel == 254)
		//{
		//  // Client training new skill for the first time set the skill to level-1
		//  int16 t_level = database.GetTrainlevel(GetClass(), gmskill->skill_id);
		//  //cout<<"t_level:"<<t_level<<endl;
		//  if (t_level == 66 || t_level == 0)
		//  {
		//	  return;
		//  }
		//  //m_pp.skills[gmskill->skill_id + 1] = t_level;
		//  SetSkill(gmskill->skill_id, t_level);
		//}
		if (skilllevel == 0) {
			int16 t_level = database.GetTrainlevel(GetRace(), GetClass(), gmskill->skill_id);		   
			if (t_level == 66 || t_level == 0)
			{
				return;
			}
			SetSkill(gmskill->skill_id, t_level);
		}
		else if (skilllevel <= 251)
		{
			// Client train a valid skill
			// FIXME If the client doesn't do the "You are more skilled than I" check we should do it here
			SetSkill(gmskill->skill_id, skilllevel + 1);
		}
		else
		{
			// Log a warning someones been hacking
			LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Error, "OP_GMTrainSkill: failed client: %s", GetName());
			return;
		}
		
-----------------
replace \zone\client_packet.cpp -line 5800 ish (redundant code)
-----------------
	////validate skills
	//for (int sk = 1; sk < MAX_PP_SKILL; sk++) {
	//  //int cap = GetSkillCap(sk-1);
	//  //int cap = MaxSkill(sk-1, GetClass(), GetLevel());
	//  int cap = MaxSkill( sk-1, GetClass(), GetRace(), GetLevel());
	//  if (cap >= 254)
	//	  m_pp.skills[sk] = cap;
	//}	 
----------------------------
insert \world\net.cpp -line 205 ish
----------------------------
	LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Status, "Loading start skills..");
	database.LoadClassSkill(false);
	database.LoadClassSkill(true);  
	
--------------
insert \world\client.h -line 70 ish
--------------
	void SetClassStartingSkills( PlayerProfile_Struct *pp ); //nolonger used
	void SetRaceStartingSkills( PlayerProfile_Struct *pp ); //nolonger used
	void SetStartingSkills( PlayerProfile_Struct *pp );
			
-------------------------------
insert \world\client.cpp -line 1300 ish
--------------------------------
void Client::SetStartingSkills( PlayerProfile_Struct *pp )
{ 
	for (int8 skill=0;skill<=HIGHEST_SKILL;skill++) {	   
		StartSkill = database.GetMaxSkill(skill,(int8)(pp->class_),(int16)(pp->race),0);	
		if (StartSkill > 0) 
				pp->skills[skill+1] = StartSkill;	   
	}
}
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3