Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bug Reports

Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:39 PM
Elkay
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 184
Default

Ok will definitely be reinstalling VS 2002 then.. good thing I have MSDN via work. Not sure whether the problem launching the EXEs at this point is due to the difference in the versions, since I can now compile but when executing I now get problems. At that point I almost have to assume the problem is the version difference, at least to get it executing properly.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:54 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Hmm yeah still getting the executing problems here too, lots of ascii spam like before.

Edit: Even having the problems with the pre-compiled versions you linked LE.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:57 PM
Elkay
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killspree
Hmm yeah still getting the executing problems here too, lots of ascii spam like before.
Are you 2K2 or 2K3? 2K3 would make me feel a little better. Would love to not have to run concurrent versions if I don't have to.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:58 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Sorry, just edited my post. Meant about the pre-compiled versions too. I've been using vs 6.0 but will probably be upgrading to .net 2k3 some time soon anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:01 PM
Elkay
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killspree
Sorry, just edited my post. Meant about the pre-compiled versions too. I've been using vs 6.0 but will probably be upgrading to .net 2k3 some time soon anyway.
So the precompiled versions are giving you the same spam? That would make me feel even better hehe. /rude LE.. haha jk bro Back to my backups! =)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:02 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Ya, same spam with pre-compiles.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:47 PM
Edgar1898
Senior Member
Former EQEmu Developer
Current EQ2Emu Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,065
Default

kk, Yah I just noticed it myself. It was caused by an overloaded function called EQEMuLog::write that FNW added in with his changes. Apparently it worked fine on linux, but it caused all kinds of problems on Windows (as you can tell). I'm uploading some fixed versions now. Give me 5 minutes or so and they will be there. The specific problem was in database.cpp on line 4211. I dont have time to debug it fully, so I just took out the argument that was causing it to use his new function.
__________________
Lethal Encounter
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:08 PM
Edgar1898
Senior Member
Former EQEmu Developer
Current EQ2Emu Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,065
Default

They are uploaded, btw to save yuorself some trouble: Apparently if your faction tables arent correct, it just exits the program when it tries to read those tables. Run this query:

Quote:
ALTER TABLE `npc_faction_entries` ADD `npc_value` INT(11) UNSIGNED DEFAULT "0" NOT NULL
Dont ask me why it just exits the program (I didnt write that)
__________________
Lethal Encounter
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:24 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Hmm new error using the new perl compile:

[Error] HandlePacket() Opcode error: Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING:
opcode: 0x%04x, size: %i Error message: %s Client error: %s dbasync->Add
Work() returned false, client crash SELECT faction_id,current_value FROM fac
tion_values WHERE char_id = %i SELECT id,profile,zonename,x,y,z,guild,guildrank
FROM character_ WHERE id=%i
Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING: OpCode: 0x0355, size: 4
0: 48 1F 73 00 | H.s.

Did I miss a db change I should have sourced in?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-02-2004, 08:47 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

For some reason anything after a logfile->write() is being printed to zone.exe. For example the shielding messages are being printed there. I've been commenting out the various logfile->write() in client_packet.cpp to see if I can avoid crashing and each time I can get further along prior to crashing.

Edit: Still locking up shortly after logging in for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 11-03-2004, 03:38 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

aight, now that lethal pointed out the problem, I know whats wrong with this at least. I didnt even think about the overloaded function intercepting write calls with 2 int args... I am correcting it right now.



and actually on unix, all it did was print a bunch of the binary to the log files, rather interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-03-2004, 07:20 AM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

Not sure if this helps, but I lock up right after zoning in. I compiled with .NET both with perl and without. The output stayed the same:

Quote:
Read group ID for 'Xinan': 0
[Error] HandlePacket() Opcode error: Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING:
opcode: 0x%04x, size: %i Error message: %s Client error: %s dbasync->Add
Work() returned false, client crash SELECT faction_id,current_value FROM fac
tion_values WHERE char_id = %i SELECT id,profile,zonename,x,y,z,guild,guildrank
FROM character_ WHERE id=%i
Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING: OpCode: 0x0355, size: 4
0: 48 1F 73 00 | H.s.
[Error] HandlePacket() Opcode error: Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING:
opcode: 0x%04x, size: %i Error message: %s Client error: %s dbasync->Add
Work() returned false, client crash SELECT faction_id,current_value FROM fac
tion_values WHERE char_id = %i SELECT id,profile,zonename,x,y,z,guild,guildrank
FROM character_ WHERE id=%i SELECT status,name,lsaccount_id,gmspeed,revoked
FROM account WHERE id=%i Ghosting client: Account ID:%i Name:%s Character:%s
IP:%s GetAuth() returned false kicking client WARNING: Setting datarate for cl
ient to 5.0 expect a client lock up =( HandlePacket() OP_SetDataRate INVALID re
quest : %f <= 0 HandlePacket() OP_SetDataRate request : %f Wrong size on OP_Set
Datarate. Got: %i, Expected: %i bazaar Scribing a spell without an inst on your
cursor? Scribing spell: inst exists but item does not or spell ids do no
t match. Unexpected error: spell id out of range Wrong size on OP_MemorizeSpe
ll. Got: %i, Expected: %i o??;?à+? R+?àdQF? áAThe total trade is: %i PP, %
i GP, %i SP, %i CP %s adds some coins to the trade. Local: Summoning %s to %
i, %i, %i %s left the zone. %s logged out. Client linkdead: Client disco
nnected (cs=e): Client disconnected (cs=d): Client disconnected (cs=k):

+#;%s died. pe: Player got a % Rezz OP_GMTrainSkill: failed client: %
s t_level: Wrong Training Skill (abilities) Training language: Wrong Tra
ining Skill (languages) %i Commands not available. command_add() - too m
any aliases for command %s. Increase the value of CMDALIASES in command.h an
d rebuild. command_add() - Command '%s' is a duplicate - check command.cpp.
Not all points are set! Error adding PRange! Successfully added PRange: %i
Last modified on: %s Mon Nov 1 19:57:17 2004 Compiled on: %s
at %s Nov 3 2004 13:49:20 %s EQEM
Unexpected packet during CLIENT_CONNECTING: OpCode: 0x02e9, size: 8
0: 67 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 | g...@...
Client linkdead: Xinan
Dropping client: Process=false, ip=192.168.2.6, port=4049
[Status] Zone Shutdown: felwithea (61)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:02 PM
hypershadow66
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 335
Default

when it boots up a zone i get an error about temporary merchant templates. it says

Code:
[Status] Loading Temporary Merchant Lists...
Error in LoadTempMerchantData query 'select ml.npcid,ml.slot,ml.itemid,ml.charge
s from merchantlist_temp ml, npc_types nt, spawnentry se, spawn2 s2 where nt.id=
ml.npcid and nt.id=se.npcid and se.spawngroupid=s2.spawngroupid and s2.zone='cab
east' group by ml.npcid,slot order by npcid,slot asc' #1054: Unknown column 'ml.
npcid' in 'field list'
How do i fix it i just added a merchantlist_temp table, but dont know where to go from there. do i even need to worry about this. I have 0 merchants in any zone right now as well

Edit:: as we;; as that, the black screen erroring is gone... although now it just looks like its loading into the zone but goes back to login after a few minutes. is my DB wrong or is it still the server?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-03-2004, 02:47 PM
Elkay
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 184
Default

My compile problems were resolved tonight as of about 6PM and the emulator also runs without crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-03-2004, 04:29 PM
hypershadow66
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 335
Default

hmm, well it never worked for me but thankfully ajb20 got me a working compile and my server finally works =D. but its the 29th compile
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3