Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2008, 06:25 PM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Post Many questions about quest globals

1. Is this expression, literally typed, in valid syntax?
quest::setglobal("kingdomfaction","realm_1",7,"F" );
(i.e., if "realm_1" in reality represents a faction ID, is it valid to use a text label to represent the faction_ID, so long as that same label is used and defined in the qglobal script in player.pl?

2. If yes, and if I set the global (as above) in an NPC script (npcid.pl), then in the player.pl script should I have something like the following to define the label?

{
my $factioncheck = undef;
if ($qglobals{kingdomfaction} )
{
if ($qglobals{kingdomfaction} eq "realm_1")

3. If yes, then does the player.pl in such a case go into the quest/template folder, or n the quest/zone folder?

There is not much out there that explains how all this works in a quest global.

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2008, 11:11 AM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default And another . . .

If I have a player.pl in quest/template, what is the impact on the player.pl in quest/zone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2008, 10:20 AM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

bump . . . anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2008, 08:24 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

It says "Value" on the lexicon, but that doesn't mean that it is an integer necessarily. You could always test it..

Set up a custom script that sets that global for your character and use quest::say to tell them "Hello, your kingdomfaction is $kingdomfaction". That will let you know if it was set valid.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2008, 07:55 PM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

Can anyone point me to a real-world example of a setglobal statement and one that checks the global? Maybe I can figure this out on my own by analyzing the example. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2008, 08:48 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

I don't know much about how default.pl and player.pl work, so I didn't post earlier, but if you just want to know about how to use quest globals, it is really pretty simple. I use it a TON in my custom quests.

Here is one example that should help you understand it.

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=25556

But, I have plenty of others if you need more.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:44 PM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

Thanks, Trevius. I am going to analyze this to see why mine is not working.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:56 AM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

That one helped with some of the syntax, but it's still not working correctly. I'd love to see others if you have them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:19 AM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

I placed quest::emote checkpoints after each command line, and it seems to be failing here:

$factioncheck = $client->GetCharacterFaction(19927);

Anything apparently wrong with this statement?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:07 PM
Neiv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 238
Default

I wrote:
Quote:
I placed quest::emote checkpoints after each command line, and it seems to be failing here:

$factioncheck = $client->GetCharacterFaction(19927);

Anything apparently wrong with this statement?
I figured out the problem. The object is not . . .

$factioncheck = $client->GetCharacterFaction(19927);

The correct version is . . .

$factioncheck = $client->GetCharacterFactionLevel(19927);

As soon as I have all the details worked out, I will post the quest.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3