Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-05-2012, 09:25 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

if you do not want to post your script, just PM it to me. I'll look at it later tonight sometime
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:45 PM
blackdragonsdg
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 654
Default

Well I got it to work in a controlled manner. If anyone else wants to know how here ya go:
Code:
use DBI;
my $dbh = DBI->connect("DBI:mysql:database=peq;host=localhost", "root", "password", {'RaiseError' => 1});

sub EVENT_SAY {
	if($text=~/Hail/i) {
		$AcctID = $client->AccountID();
		$query = "update account set status = 5 where id = $AcctID;";
		$dbh->do($query);
  		quest::emote("'You now have access to the Kunark Expansion.'");
	}
}
Thank you Sorvani for the suggested rewrite of the script. It help me clean up my original script.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:53 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

great that it helps.
To the OP: you will also want to think about spacing out your status per expansion in case you want to give anything else to them or something down the road. If you are sure you won't then just 0-10 or whatever would work fine.

Also in a default DB there are a lot of # commands available to the genreal public (status 0).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-06-2012, 01:31 AM
Valdis01
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Code:
my $NewStatus = $status;
my $AcctID = $client->AccountID();
my $SQLQuery = '';

sub EVENT_ITEM
{
  if(plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, <itemid> => 1, <itemid> => 1, <itemid => 1))
  {
	$NewStatus = $NewStatus + 1;
	$SQLQuery = 'update account set status = '.$NewStatus.' where id = '.$AcctID.';';
	$status = idk;
	$dbh->do($SQLQuery);
	$client->Message(315, "$NPCNAME whispers to you, 'Congratulations, you now have flags for <enter name>.'");
  }
  else
  {
	$client->Message(315,"$NPCNAME whispers to you, 'What is this carp?'");
	plugin::return_items(\%itemcount);
  }
}
is a template my coder worked out... Not sure if it's okay, or....
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-06-2012, 10:26 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

you need the use DBI and $dbh = lines at the top. also you REALLY need to take into account someone getting the items again and repeating the quest. as is, if i did this quest 250 times I would have pretty much maximum gm powers.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:40 AM
Valdis01
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 41
Default

And how do you prevent that from happening?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:46 AM
Valdis01
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 41
Default

And how would we go about doing that? Email me, sinclipse@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-06-2012, 02:59 PM
lerxst2112
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,743
Default

Query their existing status, and if it is equal or greater than the status they should have from turning in a specific item or killing a specific mob don't add any more to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3