Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:46 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default Timer IDs ??

Where or How do you find Timer IDs to use with
quest::settimer(Timer ID,180); ???
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:51 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

you can use any integer you want. Its just used to be able to tell which timer went off within your EVENT_TIMER routine, and is local to the specific quest, so you can reuse the same timer ID everywhere.... just use 0 if you dont care.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:01 AM
knightz
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Default

Pretty sure timer id is a char, i use stuff like "mob_name_timer" and it works perfect.
__________________
~ bUri
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:28 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Well ive got it set like

sub EVENT_SPAWN {
quest::settimer(1,180);
}

trying to set a timer upon spawn , but i guess it should be

sub EVENT_TIMER {
quest::settimer(1,180);
}

???

When i use it like i have it , it crashes zone exe
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:34 AM
knightz
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Default

If you want to start a timer on spawn use:

Code:
sub EVENT_SPAWN {
   quest::settimer("timer_name", $seconds);
}

sub EVENT_TIMER {
   if($timer eq "timer_name") {
      # do stuff here
      quest::stoptimer("timer_name"); # if you dont stop it, the timer restarts
   }
}
__________________
~ bUri

Last edited by knightz; 04-14-2005 at 01:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:56 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Ok thanks , but one more question , What do I name the timer? or where would I find the name for it? sorry for being a pain and thanks for the help
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:04 AM
RangerDown
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,066
Default

Name it whatever works for you. In the EVENT_TIMER sub you must check the value of $timer, which will be set to the name of the timer that is being triggered.
__________________
<idleRPG> Rogean ate a plate of discounted, day-old sushi. This terrible calamity has slowed them 0 days, 15:13:51 from level 48.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:41 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Ok thanks alot guys , really appriciate this
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3