Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Database/World Building

Development::Database/World Building World Building forum, dedicated to the EQEmu MySQL Database. Post partial/complete databases for spawns, items, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:55 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default Fixing bouncing mobs

Reading back over an old post said that the reason mobs bounce in some zones, but not others is from there spawn point z-axis being off. But I changed that to the same z-axis I was standing on, rezoned back into the zone and that mob still bounces. It would seem to me that the mob would bounce because of another reason, like a problem in the terrain right ? Do the mobs use the *.map file to find where to walk ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2010, 06:51 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

Yes. Don't forget that your player size is usually taller than the NPCs. You can test if the spawn Z axis is the problem by repoping the NPC while visually looking at its spawnpoint. If it spawns in the air and then drops, then that is your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:21 AM
Chanus
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 123
Default

There are some values in the database under rules_values that I think affect this. What I have currently (with no bouncing or floating issues) is:

Code:
Map:FixPathingZWHenLoading  -  true
Map:FixPathingZAtWaypoints  -  true
Map:FixPathingZWhenMoving   -  true
Map:FixPathingZOnSendTo     -  false

Map:FixPathingZMaxDeltaSendTo     -  12.0
Map:FixPathingZMaxDeltaLoading    -  12.0
Map:FixPathingZMaxDeltaMoving     -  12.0
Map:FixPathingZMaxDeltaWaypoint   -  12.0
Tweaking the numbers may help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:22 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Right, but zone into northro, not nro or maybe the new Freeport East, do you have bouncing mobs ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:57 AM
Chanus
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 123
Default

Oh, I haven't checked any of the revamped zones.

And my EqEmuLoginServer.exe has apparently decided to take a crap on itself, so I can't check it out.

Awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:50 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Are you using the precompiled version or compiling it yourself ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:07 AM
Chanus
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 123
Default

You know, I have no idea :P

I use the SVN to download the quests/code/map/database and then I download the EQEmu-Rev1741-Bots.zip from the Google Code page and source it with MySQL.

I don't know the difference (I seem to know just enough to get myself in trouble ). Would a compiled version be like AxClassic?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:11 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Try this one first, tell me what it does.

http://projecteqemu.googlecode.com/f...oginServer.rar
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2010, 01:57 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joligario View Post
Yes. Don't forget that your player size is usually taller than the NPCs. You can test if the spawn Z axis is the problem by repoping the NPC while visually looking at its spawnpoint. If it spawns in the air and then drops, then that is your problem.
Using George's tool, which is awesome by the way. I took a single spawn, and incrementing his up and down the z-axis. No matter if he was right on the ground, under the world or spawning above me, the same bouncing action. I even got the spawn into a .1 increment and he still bounced. Wonder if maybe it is not the spawns location but something else I am missing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:14 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by provocating View Post
Using George's tool, which is awesome by the way. I took a single spawn, and incrementing his up and down the z-axis. No matter if he was right on the ground, under the world or spawning above me, the same bouncing action. I even got the spawn into a .1 increment and he still bounced. Wonder if maybe it is not the spawns location but something else I am missing.
It sounds like you are missing the .map files for those zones. If you use the GM command #bestz and it says Maps disabled in this zone, then that is your problem.

If you are compiling your own source, compile azone2 (which is in the utils directory of the source tree), copy azone2.exe to your client directory, then type azone2 northro, for example. This will produce a northro.map which you can then copy into your server Maps directory.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:18 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Man you are awesome, giving that a go.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3