Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:02 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

I've downloaded the latest Win32 release: EQEmu-0.7.0-1065

==11/29/2007
FatherNitwit: (Derision) Fix BestZ pathing cleanup code top stop hopping.
FatherNitwit: (Derision) New fix-z-on-load feature.

and tested a few zones that always drove me mad with the hopping:

fieldofbone
frontiermtns

The mobs are still hopping like mad in these zones.
I'll test out some other zones soon.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:20 AM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandig View Post
I've downloaded the latest Win32 release: EQEmu-0.7.0-1065

and tested a few zones that always drove me mad with the hopping:

fieldofbone
frontiermtns

The mobs are still hopping like mad in these zones.
I'll test out some other zones soon.
Yes, the Win32 release has been compiled with two of the three features disabled, so you will still get hopping between waypoints. You could try
the Zone.exe that Rogean posted a little earlier in this thread, or I will attempt to build a Win32 release with all 3 options enabled in the next few days.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:27 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derision View Post
Yes, the Win32 release has been compiled with two of the three features disabled, so you will still get hopping between waypoints. You could try
the Zone.exe that Rogean posted a little earlier in this thread, or I will attempt to build a Win32 release with all 3 options enabled in the next few days.
Thanks Derision,

I will give that a try.

A proper Win32 release with all the options enabled would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:16 AM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

OK, by popular demand (aka one dude who cant build), I reworked this stuff to be runtime configurable using the rules system.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:35 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
Http://www.rogean.com/Zone-BestZ.exe

Haven't tested it myself. Test it out and let me know how it works out. If it looks good I'll commit to code.
Tested various zones and it looks really good so far.
Hopping is gone.
What a sweet fix!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-01-2007, 04:05 AM
krusher
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 90
Default Pathing Fix

I have created a wiki page listing the new rules required for the pathing Z fix.

Krusher
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:13 AM
Cripp's Avatar
Cripp
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Shire
Posts: 474
Default

to make the rules work(or to even compile properly).. need to add them to the rulesys..

Code:
--- ruletypes.h	2007/11/14 06:13:36	1.11
+++ ruletypes.h	2007/12/01 18:11:14	1.12
@@ -84,6 +84,17 @@
 RULE_BOOL (NPC, UseItemBonusesForNonPets, true)
 RULE_CATEGORY_END()
 
+RULE_CATEGORY( Map )
+RULE_BOOL ( Map, FixPathingZAtWaypoints, false )
+RULE_BOOL ( Map, FixPathingZWhenMoving, false )
+RULE_BOOL ( Map, FixPathingZOnSendTo, false )
+RULE_BOOL ( Map, FixPathingZWhenLoading, false )
+RULE_REAL ( Map, FixPathingZMaxDeltaSendTo, 20.0 )
+RULE_REAL ( Map, FixPathingZMaxDeltaLoading, 20.0 )
+RULE_REAL ( Map, FixPathingZMaxDeltaMoving, 20.0 )
+RULE_REAL ( Map, FixPathingZMaxDeltaWaypoint, 20.0 )
+RULE_CATEGORY_END()
+
 #undef RULE_CATEGORY
 #undef RULE_INT
 #undef RULE_REAL
Code:
--- waypoints.cpp	2007/11/30 19:06:27	1.6
+++ waypoints.cpp	2007/12/01 18:11:14	1.7
@@ -31,6 +31,7 @@
 #include "parser.h"
 #include "StringIDs.h"
 #include "../common/MiscFunctions.h"
+#include "../common/rulesys.h"
 #include "features.h"
 
 static inline float ABS(float x) {
Edit:: im not sure if this was already added to the nightly builds or not.. but it wasnt in cvs.
__________________
Nug Blazers - ServerOP / founder
^^comming... later!

www.nugblazers.com

Last edited by Cripp; 12-01-2007 at 02:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-04-2007, 05:32 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fathernitwit View Post
OK, by popular demand (aka one dude who cant build), I reworked this stuff to be runtime configurable using the rules system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krusher View Post
I have created a wiki page listing the new rules required for the pathing Z fix.

Krusher
Thanks all.
Tested with 0.7.0-1068 and it works a treat.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:59 AM
moydock
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 286
Default

Thanks guys, really excited about this new feature.
__________________
-Croup (the rogue)
Creator of Pandemic (PvP-Racewars)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-04-2007, 12:42 PM
moydock
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 286
Default

Working great, only problem i've noticed is when a mob goes up a steep hill or maybe it's just a certain change in his z coordinate, he goes under the world. However he does pop back up after a couple seconds. Still a huge improvement.

I may have not set it up right though, not exactly sure what the 'rule system' is.
__________________
-Croup (the rogue)
Creator of Pandemic (PvP-Racewars)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:24 AM
Zandig's Avatar
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moydock View Post
I may have not set it up right though, not exactly sure what the 'rule system' is.
It has to be set up in the database.

Here is how I have mine set up (working very well):

rule_sets


rule_values


Thats all there is to it!

Last edited by Zandig; 12-06-2007 at 01:27 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:50 PM
moydock
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 286
Default

Sweet thanks, got it working, still seeing them go under when climbing steep hills. Not sure if that's fixable. I haven't upgraded to the newest build though, didn't see any fixes in the log. Btw do you know what the Map:FixPathingZatWaypoints is for?
__________________
-Croup (the rogue)
Creator of Pandemic (PvP-Racewars)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-07-2007, 10:19 AM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moydock View Post
still seeing them go under when climbing steep hills. Not sure if that's fixable.

I've seen this happen in Dreadlands where one waypoint is on one side of a large mountain
and the next waypoint is on the other side. The movement code plots a vector between the
two waypoints which goes right through the middle of the mountain (under the world).

The BestZ code as currently implemented takes the mobs current Z position and looks downward to find the ground. If the mob is already under the world, it will either do nothing, or in the worst case, e.g. Dreadlands, which for some reason has an invisible 'floor' under the world at Z=-210, it will push the mob even further down.

I just made a quick hack to the code to make the BestZ code look up instead of down, and in the
case of the particular mob I was looking at in Dreadlands which pathed over a steep hill, it seemed
to have the desired effect of stopping it going under the world, i.e. if it was under the world, it pushed
it back up to the ground level.

The next step is to have the code look up AND down and decide which direction to push the mob.

I don't have a lot of time to play with this much at the moment, but if I find something which seems
to work reliably, I'll post a further patch.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-07-2007, 02:16 PM
Derision
Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moydock View Post
still seeing them go under when climbing steep hills. Not sure if that's fixable.
If you're using the PEQ Ykesha DB could you give me some test cases of mobs that path under the world, i.e. which zone they are in, then target them and do #npcstats and #wpinfo and give me the NPCID and Grid number ?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-07-2007, 06:36 PM
moydock
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derision View Post
If you're using the PEQ Ykesha DB could you give me some test cases of mobs that path under the world, i.e. which zone they are in, then target them and do #npcstats and #wpinfo and give me the NPCID and Grid number ?
I'm actually using a custom db so no help there. But I can tell you this, there seems to be a height which they reach, and they always go through the hill at that height. It also seems to be the height they would normally 'hop' up to before the fix. I'm guessing this point is the z coord of the WP they're headed to.

So what if you forced the z coord of the waypoint a mob is headed to always be the highest point in the zone. Then they wouldn't go through hills and the z-fix already in place would keep them on the ground. Would that work?
__________________
-Croup (the rogue)
Creator of Pandemic (PvP-Racewars)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3