Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2015, 03:07 PM
Lord of Steel
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 17
Default Make an NPC use OOC or Auction

I wanted my buffing NPC's in East Commons to use ooc and advertise like a real player. I couldn't figure out how to do that so i make the player think they are seeing OOC text. It's basically messages sent to the client in the format of a PC OOC. This is from my global.pl file

Code:
sub EVENT_ENTERZONE { 
	if($zoneid == 22 ) 
	{
		quest::settimer("syal",390);
		quest::settimer("garren",400);
		quest::settimer("sweet",410);
		quest::settimer("mezzum",420);
		#quest::settimer("avienda",270);
		
	}
}
sub EVENT_TIMER {
	if ($timer eq "syal") 
	{
		$client->Message(2, "Syal says out of character, 'Casting Shammy buffs for donation near the magus'");
	}
	if ($timer eq "garren") 
	{
		$client->Message(2, "Garren says out of character, 'Cleric for hire!  Castin Aego line buffs for donations near shady.");
	}
	if ($timer eq "sweet") 
	{
		$client->Message(2, "Sweet Leaf says out of character, 'Do you need Damage Shields?  Come by Commander Farang because I need donations.'");
	}
	if ($timer eq "mezzum") 
	{
		$client->Message(2, "Mezzum says out of character, 'Casting crack and haste in the tunnel'");
	}
	if ($timer eq "avienda") 
	{
		$client->Message(2, "Avienda says out of character, 'Selling everything on me!  I'm on the crate near banker Cogswell.  Come inspect and make an offer!'");
	}
 
 }
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2015, 03:38 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

I made a post a while back about this here. Although you can just do this:
Code:
quest::we(1, $npc->GetCleanName() . " says out of character, 'BLAH');
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2015, 12:30 AM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

I implemented a bunch of buff bots in PoK (hanging around main bank like the old days)(my old days anyways,haha), but I just used an enter_zone "ooc" style which did it just once, since the npcs are static anyways. I set up some npc "traders" in bazaar as well, but had to stock them with pricing and have them doing a serverwide "auction" message.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3