PDA

View Full Version : pet dies when caster becomes invisible

nilbog
06-29-2009, 01:48 PM
I want to modify pets in a variety of ways..to make them function as they originally did on live.

I am new to making custom changes, so the methods I use are probably not correct at all.

#1. Pets die when their caster becomes invisible/hidden.

What is the correct way to go about this? I tried using SetPet(0) in attack.cpp, but no change.. probably because I don't know what I'm doing :D

#2. Pets die when their owner zones

I received errors when trying to use SetPet in client.cpp

#3. When an npc dies, its pet remains and fights until death.
I wasn't entirely sure where to find this. Only thing I found was in attack.cpp.

^ Results : Same as above

Any knowledge about how to make this work will be appreciated by the npcs of norrath.

Yeormom
06-29-2009, 02:18 PM
There is obviously a million ways to do this but if you have your heart on doing it while attacks are processing...

Scenario #1
if(this->CastToMob()->HasPet() && this->CastToMob()->IsInvisible())
this->CastToMob()->GetPet()->Kill();
this->CastToMob()->SetPetID(0);
CastToMob() is optional.

nilbog
06-29-2009, 02:25 PM
Oh.. my heart is not set in one direction or the other.. :)
I tried a few times to do this on my own and figured an example would help a lot. I will be satisfied with it working at all.

Thanks Yeormom, your example helps me see how this works/what methods I can use.

Yeormom
06-29-2009, 02:31 PM
You should technically do more checking when you implement something like that as well, like making sure GetPet() actually returns a pet and isn't null before you kill it for example.

Shin Noir
08-16-2009, 07:24 AM
in client_process.cpp at line 542 Below DoStaminaUpdate();

Mob* myPet = this->GetPet();
bool amClient = IsClient();

if(this->HasPet() && IsClient())
if(myPet->IsCharmed() && invisible == true && amClient) { //Null: charm fades on Invisibility
myPet->BuffFadeByEffect(SE_Charm);