Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::MiniLogin

Support::MiniLogin Support forum for problems with the official MiniLogin release.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2010, 08:24 PM
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 154
Default SOD client and MiniLogin "login" solution

For those of us still using MINILOGIN a modification is needed in order for the "Seeds Of Destruction" client and MiniLogin to "login" properly with the SOD client. Updated login opcodes are needed as follows:

- You must modify the contents of your 'opcodes.conf' file in your EQEmu server startup directory.

- Modify the contents of the file 'opcodes.conf'

1) Staring at around line 454 of the file 'opcodes.conf' (use the program NOTEPAD++ to get the line numbers)
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

2) [b]Replace the following lines:
Code:
#Login opcodes
OP_SessionReady=0x0001
OP_Login=0x0002
OP_ServerListRequest=0x0004
OP_PlayEverquestRequest=0x000d
OP_PlayEverquestResponse=0x0021
OP_ChatMessage=0x0016
OP_LoginAccepted=0x0017
OP_ServerListResponse=0x0018
OP_Poll=0x0029
OP_EnterChat=0x000f
OP_PollResponse=0x0011
3) With the following updated opcodes for the SOD client which will allow you to log in successfully:
Code:
#EQEmu Public Login Server OPCodes
OP_SessionReady=0x0001
OP_Login=0x0002
OP_ServerListRequest=0x0004
OP_PlayEverquestRequest=0x000d
OP_PlayEverquestResponse=0x0022
OP_ChatMessage=0x0017
OP_LoginAccepted=0x0018
OP_ServerListResponse=0x0019
OP_Poll=0x0029
OP_EnterChat=0x000f
OP_PollResponse=0x0011
and save the file.

These updated "Seeds of Destruction" client login opcodes can be found in your SVN directory in the file:
EQEmuLoginServer/login_util/login_opcodes_sod.conf

NOTES:
- Be sure to backup your original 'opcodes.conf' file in case you want to switch back to the "Titanium" or "Secrets of Faydwer" client as the login opcodes for those clients differ from those of the "Seeds of Destruction" client when using MiniLogin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2010, 12:12 AM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

This isn't working for me.

I got minilogin setup and my server is talking to it ("1 server(s), 0 client(s) connected")

I try to login with SoD client (downloaded from steam), minilogin shows a client trying to connect ("new client from 127....". and "1client(s) connected") but then the client just hangs there at "logging into server, please wait".

Pretty sure I did everything right, followed this guide http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=Windows
and made the change listed above... no dice!

I'm on Win7 with firewall disabled (behind routers).

Here's my config files...

(minilogin\Loginserver.ini)---

Code:
### --- This file tells world.exe what loginserver to connect to.
### --- Leave the account and password field BLANK.

### --- Public Login is un-supported as is LAN playing. We reccomend using the EQEmu.net Loginserver ALWAYS.

### --- NOTE: Starting 6-1-2002, you can no longer use the word "Server" in worldname.
### --- NOTE2: the word "Server" is added to each server automaticly.

# READ README.TXT

[LoginServer]
loginserver=127.0.0.1
loginserver2=newlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=walkworld
worldaddress=127.0.0.1
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=StandAlone
ServerPort=5999
--------
eqemu\eqemu_config.xml--

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
<world>

<shortname>walkworld</shortname>
<longname>walks EQ world of madness</longname>


<!-- address has to be specified for minilogin to work -->
<address>localhost</address>
<localaddress>localhost</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>1234abcd</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service -->
<http port="9080" enable="true" mimefile="mime.types"/>
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini -->
<database>

<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password> [my password here]</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>
----
and I put those opcodes in 'opcodes.conf'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2010, 12:35 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 742
Default

change StandAlone to MiniLogin
http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...3&postcount=14
__________________
The Realm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2010, 01:11 PM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

I did try that but it doesn't make any difference. The server connects to Minilogin just fine either way, and the client actually connects, it just never gets past "logging into server.. please wait".

I'lll look thru that other stuff when I get home tonight though. Some of that I'm not sure about.. like "If you have set the status field to GM status (200+) you must also have a matching entry in the gm_ips table" ???

I'm running the server and client (and Minilogin) on the same system, everything is set to localhost/127.xxx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2010, 02:09 PM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

If that's the case, then it could be something else. What's in your logs? Are you getting client connects in there?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2010, 02:19 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 742
Default

i run everthing on the same system too... but I use the actual IP. Please follow the steps in my link and tell me where it fails?
__________________
The Realm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:25 PM
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 154
Default

In the 'variables' table in your database is your "LoginType" set to the value of "MiniLogin" (without the quotes)?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:36 PM
Zandig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 154
Default

Your config files look almost identical to mine.

However in your 'eqemu_config.xml' you have this section:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
<world>

<shortname>walkworld</shortname>
<longname>walks EQ world of madness</longname>


<!-- address has to be specified for minilogin to work -->
<address>localhost</address>
<localaddress>localhost</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>
I have it this way:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
        <world>
                <shortname>minilogin</shortname>
                <longname>My Minilogin</longname>
                
                <!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
		<address>127.0.0.1</address>
		<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>
		
		<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
        <loginserver>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>5999</port>
		<account></account>
		<password></password>
        </loginserver>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2010, 09:02 PM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,453
Default

In my case I was running SOF and emy ver 1316 runs fine. Switching to SOD also does not work. Password rejected after the password entry in the client.

So there's more to running SOD than appears - especially if SOF works great.

...still waiting to get SOD working as well
If there's another minilogin - anyone have the compiled version?

GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2010, 09:10 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,844
Default

GeorgeS, you can always setup the Open Source Login Server from here if you wanted:

http://code.google.com/p/projecteqemu/downloads/list

It isn't too hard to set up and once you do, it works much better than MiniLogin. As far as I know, there is only 1 version of MiniLogin binaries around, so if that isn't working for you for SoD, maybe something else is wrong with it. I haven't tried the changes that Zandig suggested in this thread on for MiniLogin, because I don't use it anymore, just the open source one.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:26 PM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew80k View Post
If that's the case, then it could be something else. What's in your logs? Are you getting client connects in there?
Well there's a million log files.. what should I look for?

Yes it appears the client can connect.

Here's what I look like when I boot Minilogin and the server
(sorry for the huge pics..)


Here's with the client trying to connect (entered name & PW) it just hangs here forever... no error message or anything.

Note the "new client from" and shown in the title bar of Minilogin.. still no dice.



it doesn't matter what name/pw I try (an account I think I setup right in the db, or just total garbage) I never get anything but that screen..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:28 PM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandig View Post
Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
        <world>
                <shortname>minilogin</shortname>
                <longname>My Minilogin</longname>
                
                <!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
		<address>127.0.0.1</address>
		<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>
		
		<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
        <loginserver>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>5999</port>
		<account></account>
		<password></password>
        </loginserver>
So you have the 127... ip instead of "localhost" - I just tried that, no help.. It doesn't seem to be a problem with the connections.. I am GETTING connections, it's just that the client hangs up.

I really don't think the Steam SoD client works with Minilogin.. at least not the version I have (6.2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:55 PM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandig View Post
In the 'variables' table in your database is your "LoginType" set to the value of "MiniLogin" (without the quotes)?
I don't know.. how do I check this? I'm a total mysql noob.. I did follow the guide and set it up correctly as far as I can tell.. If you look at the screenshots Minilogin says "Server mode: Minilogin" and World.exe says something similar "[WORLD_LS] Setting World to MiniLogin Server type"...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-07-2010, 11:01 PM
walk
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
i run everthing on the same system too... but I use the actual IP. Please follow the steps in my link and tell me where it fails?
Thanks, well I have no idea where it fails, but this
6. You must have an entry in your database account table for each system on your lan
I *think* I did this. I did enter a few mysql commands following the guide..
7. The account entries must have the IP of the connecting system in the minilogin_ip field
Not sure what this is... how do I check it?

8. If you have set the status field to GM status (200+) you must also have a matching entry in the gm_ips table
NO clue what this means I did set the GM status to 250.

Again, I don't get any "bad account/password" or any other kind of error messages from the client, it just hangs up forever...

It does the same thing when I try to connect to the public Loginserver.
When I try to connect to PEQ's loginserver (which is supposed to support SoD) it kicks back immediately with "account/password not found" etc... so I know it works, at least that far.... :/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-23-2010, 10:19 AM
wuvil
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I seem to have a similar problem described here: http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...953#post188953 (Third post, first two for other files and stuff) I've tried everything i could come across but it still does not go past the login screen.. Could anyone please help me out?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


 

EQEmulator is a trademark of The EQEmulator Team.
Everquest is a registered trademark of Sony Computer Entertainment America Inc.
EQEmulator is not associated with Sony, SOE, & Affiliates, in any way.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3
All material copyright of their respective artists.
All other materials Copyrightę http://www.eqemulator.net.