Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:59 PM
Irreverent
The Solo Server
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 416
Default

No, had similar issues in Windows code.
__________________
OP of Irreverent Server (The Solo Server)
Our Forums
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-11-2007, 04:22 PM
Furrygamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Talking

So what did you do to fix it? yes i know linux and window are different! might be able to translate it though. ^.^
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-2007, 04:56 PM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

It looks like one actually made it so that pets are lost before they zone to fix their problem. Not sure about anyone else.

So this is not a platform problem?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:37 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Hm, was thinking perhaps the pet isn't being freed correctly by SetPet(0) for whatever reason;

Could try adding:

Code:
	Mob *mypet = GetPet();
	if(mypet)
		mypet->Depop();
directly above:

Code:
	//let the stream factory know were done with this stream
	eqs->Close();
	eqs->ReleaseFromUse();
in Client::~Client() ln241 in client.cpp and see if it has any impact on at least the pets no longer appearing in the zones as regular npcs.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-13-2007, 12:37 AM
Irreverent
The Solo Server
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 416
Default

I would say its not dependant of what type of system you're on. Its just a general code issue.
__________________
OP of Irreverent Server (The Solo Server)
Our Forums
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-13-2007, 05:36 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

Ok just recompiled and...

No joy...

Keep in mind with presistant zones turned off, there is not a problem (but spawns reset each time the zone idles/sleeps. However turning it back on to test this out, yeah pets still have shadows =(.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-13-2007, 05:39 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

KLS what file is it that controls the spawn conditions? I'm just wondering if we can have that code do a depop on any mob named "Sum*" and "Skel_Pet" etc upon a zone becomming active again.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-13-2007, 07:16 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Wouldn't happen to be using PersistentZoneState variable when this is happening would you?

Also if not, can you please tell me any variables you do have set or anything else you think I should know about how your server is setup.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-13-2007, 09:20 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

Oh yeah presist is on when this happens. Not enabling it will mess up spawns when a zone goes idle.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-13-2007, 09:35 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Ah yeah I've been told to steer clear of it in the past cause it does not work very well atm. I looked at it briefly and it doesn't differentiate between pc pets and reg npcs when it traverses the spawn list.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:02 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

Where is it storing the spawn list? Not in the sharemem is it?

If there is some temp file and I can get ahold of the source thats creating that code I'll get to work on to see what I can do to have it not stick any pets in it =).

Actually... What source file does the save?

Last edited by Lalolyen; 09-13-2007 at 06:03 PM.. Reason: edit actaully....
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:48 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

ZoneDatabase:: DumpZoneState() in zone.cpp is what handles saving the zone state if you wanna take a look at it. Just looking at it I don't see a simple elegant solution. Might take some work.

Last edited by KLS; 09-13-2007 at 06:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-14-2007, 01:10 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

Now who said us devs are elegant? =P he he.

I've always heard something like, "If it doesn't crash, explode, whirl, or tick, do it again because you did something wrong" he he.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:13 AM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

This can be a tough one to solve I think, because of course sometimes pets can follow their owners from zone to zone.

I guess finding the way that they are somehow taking on more than one instance across zones and simply preventing more than one (similar to a spawnlimit of 1 I guess but global) would be the way out of this, because persistent pets would not be affected, but pets somehow turning into "ghost spawns" might be avoided.

I'm trying to brush up and catch up on my C++ after I finish absolutely mastering Perl (no small feat as anyone who codes in Perl knows... it's the easiest language to pick up and probably the most difficult language to master out there--a testament of it's power)... and wish I could help track down these bugs more.

I also need to continue studying the eqemu code and learning it in more detail--enough detail to know what's been done already and where everything is.

My participation on that front IS coming though. Once up to speed I'm not a bad programmer, it's just been awhile in terms of certain languages.

For now, I can only play cheerleader to those such as KLS and remind them how grateful I am that they are around.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-14-2007, 08:02 AM
jenco420
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 99
Default

Has this been fixed yet, still a problem on my server =(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3