|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
|
 |
|
Archive::News Archive area for New's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days. |
 |
|
 |

06-26-2002, 06:40 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
|
|
What I did to get past this problem was create a dummy EQMessage table in the eq database.
Error in GetMessageNum query 'SELECT id FROM EQMessages WHERE recip = 'Wurmslayer
r'' #1146: Table 'eq.eqmessages' doesn't exist
This message told me of 2 fields in the EQMessages table (id and recip), my guess was once I got it working and played with the message system i'd come up with error messages telling me of more fields, but once I actually got in it appeared as if the #msg command wasen't included or enabled or whatever, so I did
n't really need to play with it anymore after I got it working.
To create such a table with those 2 fields yourself, simply open mysql.exe, and type in the following:
use eq
CREATE TABLE EQMessages (
id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
recip varchar(16) NOT NULL default '',
PRIMARY KEY (id),
) TYPE=MyISAM;
After creating this empty set in the eq database, I was able to login. I didn't play with it a whole lot longer before going to sleep last night so i'm not sure if this would cause any side effects or what not, in theory it shouldn't. Hope this helps!
-Eblan
|
 |
|
 |

06-27-2002, 01:15 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 11
|
|
Changelog
There was no changelog included ether =) gues someone was sleeping when it was released
|

06-27-2002, 01:51 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,073
|
|
there was no changes =P this is only fix for june patches (but it was never completely fixed, coders dont have the time to fix it this time).
__________________
Shawn319
Semi-Retired EQ Addict
(Retired)EQEmu Lead Tester
(Retired)EQEmu Tech Support
(Retired)Host/ServerOP - [LIVE] Official EQEmu Test Server
(Retired)Host/ServerOP - Shawn319's All-GM Dev Test Server
(Retired)ServerOP - EQEmu Beta Server
(Retired)ServerOP - GuildWars Server
(Retired)ServerOP - Raid Addicts
--------------------------
|

06-27-2002, 02:53 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
|
|
woot:(
And I quote
NOTE: There is NO Zone9x.exe included in this zip. If you are running Windows 95, 98 or ME you cannot play untill zone9x.exe is released, or untill 0.3.5 is released.
Great...So any idea on what year a fix will be released?
:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( good god what's the max limit on smileys two?
__________________
-The Chosen
|

06-27-2002, 05:23 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,073
|
|
Noone knows. depends on how fast the non-devs start coding 
__________________
Shawn319
Semi-Retired EQ Addict
(Retired)EQEmu Lead Tester
(Retired)EQEmu Tech Support
(Retired)Host/ServerOP - [LIVE] Official EQEmu Test Server
(Retired)Host/ServerOP - Shawn319's All-GM Dev Test Server
(Retired)ServerOP - EQEmu Beta Server
(Retired)ServerOP - GuildWars Server
(Retired)ServerOP - Raid Addicts
--------------------------
|

06-27-2002, 05:42 AM
|
 |
Dragon
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: GI, NE
Posts: 924
|
|
I sure wish I was done with school, starting Computer Programming in the fall, right now I only have 1 semester worth of it :( I would really love to help out, but I don't know everything yet :eek:
|

06-27-2002, 05:55 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 59
|
|
It takes more than school to make you a programmer..
Ive been programming (oh man) 17 years, and while many people think very highly of me, I still dont, I still see much room for improvement, so, believe me, there is a lot to learn.
|
 |
|
 |

06-27-2002, 07:22 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,614
|
|
You get better by doing... Most of the theory I learned in college has been fairly useless, it's the practical applications of the code that you truly learn from.
Take a 6 month long class in program design and learn very little... Take a 3 month intense application programming class and become a wiz, but like spellc* said, you never finish learning..
On that topic, I'm think we should organize a few of us that can code into an alternate beta-stage development team, one to work in tandem with the current developers, but at a different level. They can lay down the infrastructure, we can work on refining and bettering the current implementations. I'd like to see this happen for a couple of reasons
1. It takes pressure off the dev team to deliever fixed code on a release to release basis. They could concentrate on the infrastructural issues. Stablizing the network layer, expanding into new functionality. Also, we could work to fix the existing issues so they are freed up to implement bigger and better things, instead of chasing down bugs.
2. It allows an alternate way of recruiting new development folks into the pool. One of the downfalls of this project is the limited communication as to whats being done 'behind-the-scenes'. The outside dev group could be a more open channel, allowing people with suggestions/fixes to come in and lay them down without feeling a blow off. To be a fulltime developer requires a level of commitment that most of us don't have. To walk in and be able to integrate in something you fixed to a group designed for just that makes the development pool larger, and spreads the work out. Instead of 5 people each working on 20 ideas each, you could have 20 people working on 5 ideas each, making the gains faster, and with less of a commitment overhead. I don't have the time with my career and outside life to code 6 hours a day on it. But I have that much a week, as do alot of people most likely..
Downfalls to this approach.
1. As always, communication. If the groups don't adopt each others advancements, the code base splits and you end up with 2 completely seperate development teams. Then it would be a pissing contest.
If anyone's interested, I'd like to talk about the concept. There are alot of good coders that just don't have time to be FT developers, but have plenty of 'quick-hits' to offer. Im not suggesting that the eqemu fan base break off and run with the code, but I'd like to see an organization to the outside coding elements, and maybe open up the development cycle a bit, instead of it being a closed door 'Poof, a miracle occurs' process.
Let me know any ideas, I'd like to breathe some life back into the project...
|
 |
|
 |

06-27-2002, 08:49 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
|
|
Give this a try for the EQMessages table:
Code:
CREATE TABLE EQMessages (
id int(11) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
recip varchar(64) NOT NULL,
sender varchar(64) NOT NULL,
subject varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
body text NOT NULL default '',
date date NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (id)
) TYPE=MyISAM;
I think that is all the fields, and reasonable field sizes
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
|

06-27-2002, 09:06 AM
|
Sarnak
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 59
|
|
Pah, so I had the right structure just usless sizes.. Grr
|

06-27-2002, 09:43 AM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
|
|
Well I guessed on the sizes myself, bigest thing is the date field should auto fill with the actual date.  It seemed that the message stuff was in the code, anyone tried it yet?
#message help
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
|

06-27-2002, 10:25 AM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
|
|
BTW, The ZoneNT program seems to under W98se!
For the heck of it, I tried using ZoneNT under Win98se and it seems to work....
The programs were able to talk to each other and I was able to log-in.
This version is still a little unstable on my system but it does run!
Mark
|

06-27-2002, 01:52 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 21
|
|
damnit i got win98, i gotta wait for another friggin version to host a server, sux cause most people wont let you do shiznat on their servers and this zoning thing is pissing me off too, all i get to do is sit around and hope the host lets me make a mob for me to fight
|

06-27-2002, 05:45 PM
|
Fire Beetle
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
|
|
The message system seems to have been disabled, or not fully included. Once I was able to get in (with my half assed EQMessages table) it would say "You have 0 messages, type #msg list for an index.", but the result returned from using the command "msg list" was "command dosen't exist". so there isn't a whole lot to play with yet... :(
-Eblan
|

06-27-2002, 05:56 PM
|
Demi-God
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
|
|
#message not #msg
#message help for more info
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 PM.
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |