Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:11 AM
Maceblade
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 231
Default spell scribe limiter

Was curious as to how I would go about limiting the spell scriber to not scribe rank 2 or 3 spells... if that part isnt possible how about just restricting the scribes to lvl 70 and below?

Code:
#NPC: Spell_Scribe (Tomes and Quests NPC)

#####

sub EVENT_SAY
{

my $tomes = quest::saylink("Tomes");
my $spells = quest::saylink("Spells");
my $learn = quest::saylink("learn");
my $knowing = quest::saylink("knowing");


  if($text=~/Hail/i)
    {
      plugin::Whisper("Hi there $name, I am Galmoran, keeper of [$tomes] and [$spells]. How can I help you today?");
    }
    elsif($text=~/tomes/i)
      {
        plugin::Whisper("Yes, I know all the Tomes in the land. Just let me know if you wish to [$learn] them as well.");
      }
    elsif($text=~/spells/i)
      {
        plugin::Whisper("Spells, So many in the land. Would you be interesting in [$knowing] a few?");
      }
        elsif($text=~/learn/i)
          {
            quest::traindiscs($ulevel);
          }
        elsif($text=~/knowing/i)
          {
            quest::scribespells($ulevel);
          }
}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:19 AM
nenelan
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 116
Default

For 70 and below is easy, test $ulevel, and if it's higher than 70, only scribe to 70, or display a separate message for that. I'd go with the former, just in case they leveled too many times.

As far as Rk. II and III's, not entirely sure there would be an easy solution to bypass them on the spell scriber, but I could easily be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:58 AM
Zamthos
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 284
Default

You could use the spell_globals table to require them to have a certain flag to scribe Rank 2 and Rank 3 spells.

Example:
Code:
mysql> select * from spell_globals;
+---------+------------+--------------+-------+
| spellid | spell_name | qglobal      | value |
+---------+------------+--------------+-------+
|   24110 | Mud Shield | fskdfkdsalfa | 1     |
+---------+------------+--------------+-------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2013, 01:40 PM
Tabasco's Avatar
Tabasco
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 270
Default

In the more recent server revisions there is a rule for UseCHAScribeHack, which works quite a bit like it sounds.

Since CHA is often used as some kind of placeholder in spells, this lets you set the last effect slot in a spell to CHA with a base of 0 and be skipped by scribespells and traindiscs.
__________________
http://dungeoncrawl.us.to
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3