Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2013, 05:07 PM
rencro
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucia Moore View Post
Is that an entire .cpp file that I can just copy/paste into my source, or do I have to plug that in somewhere?

As I said, I know some things about programming, but I don't wanna FUBAR my code unless I can figure out where I FUBAR'd it at.
Thats a diff with my changes that would modify your code, but you want it for groups so you would be better going into zone/client.cpp and making the edits there yourself...

A word of warning..Once you start modifying things, it will be a chore to keep up with the tip release, so you may need to draw a line in the sand and just work from your source exclusively and perhaps cherry pick any new releases to the code manually, if at all....

Any ways:
Code:
About line 743 of zone/client.cpp

void Client::ChannelMessageReceived(uint8 chan_num, uint8 language, uint8 lang_skill, const char* orig_message, const char* targetname) {
.
.
.
	case 2: { // GroupChat
		Raid* raid = entity_list.GetRaidByClient(this);
		if(raid) {
			raid->RaidGroupSay((const char*) message, this);
			break;
		}

		Group* group = GetGroup();
		if(group != nullptr) {
			group->GroupMessage(this,language,lang_skill,(const char*) message);
		}
		break;
	}
Not sure about the raid but could try this:
Code:
void Client::ChannelMessageReceived(uint8 chan_num, uint8 language, uint8 lang_skill, const char* orig_message, const char* targetname) {
.
.
.
	case 2: { // GroupChat
		Message(13, "Group chat disabled."); //remove group chat
			return;

                Raid* raid = entity_list.GetRaidByClient(this);
		if(raid) {
			raid->RaidGroupSay((const char*) message, this);
			break;
		}

		Group* group = GetGroup();
		if(group != nullptr) {
			group->GroupMessage(this,language,lang_skill,(const char*) message);
		}
		break;
	}
Then recompile and test. If you dont like the "Group chat is disabled message, then remove it -)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2013, 05:20 PM
Lucia Moore
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Default

I see. So, if I'm understanding this correctly, could I do something like this?

(Note that I can't actually see the code right now because I'm at work, so my exact syntax may be wrong)

Code:
{ // GroupChat
		Raid* raid = entity_list.GetRaidByClient(this);
		if(raid) {
			raid->Say(this,language,lang_skill,(const char*) message);
			break;
		}

		Group* group = GetGroup();
		if(group != nullptr) {
			group->Say(this,language,lang_skill,(const char*) message);
		}
		break;
In other words, just make it so that anything you say in /group comes out as /say instead?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2013, 05:35 PM
rencro
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 219
Default

Not as in that example as say is not a member of Raid or Group, but if you like you can repipe it through say, yes, there are actually few limits in what you can do, you just need to "do" it....

I went the lazy route by just disabling the feature and letting the players know it was disabled so they would use other methods, but re-writing it to use the current system as close as possible is also viable...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3